We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious and beautiful, clean and very comfortable”
other travelers have booked this property
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
The kitchen has lots of oak and some nice Farrow and Ball paintwork, plus all the appliances and equ Another shot of the light and airy kitchen and dining space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
The kitchen has lots of oak and some nice Farrow and Ball paintwork, plus all the appliances and equ
Another shot of the light and airy kitchen and dining space
Here's another shot of the kitchen
There are two lovely leather Chesterfields you can relax in and lots of light.
The kitchen area. Hopefully you can see the quality!
The ensuite bedroom at the rear of the property
This is the shower room when both bedrooms are in use. There is also the ensuite off the rear bedroo
The super king size bed is 6' 6 long. The biggest you will find in any holiday rental
The bedrooms are on the ground floor. Underfloor heating feels luxurious under your feet!
Light streams in to the living/dining area in our holiday cottage
The 'front' bedroom, made up with two single beds. You can have it as a super king as well - it's yo
The drive way down to the Old Workshop which is the 2nd on the right, behind the oak tree
Difficult to take a meaningful picture of a shower, but hopefully you get the idea!
Our first testimonial for the Old Workshop holiday cottage
Flowers are still blooming in the courtyard
The view from the living/dining area of the 2 bed holiday cottage over the Bathampton meadows
Another view of the lounge in the cottage
The lounge area of our 2 bed holiday cottage in Bath
Another picture of the lounge in our holiday cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Joseantmo...
Valencia, Spain
1 review
“Spacious and beautiful, clean and very comfortable”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The whole house is very clean and maintained.
The equipment is in perfect condition and modern.
Best of all are the beds, they are the most comfortable that I have never slept.
Finally, the welcome pack is very good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beds and cleaning
Liked least: The upstairs room was a bit high
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2013
Hi, Thanks for writing. We are very proud of our beds and like many of our guests we are glad you found them to be rather special :-). Best regards, John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findhorn
Reviewed July 6, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - easy commute to centre of Bath.
Liked least: I had a bit of a fly problem in shower room.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found us so convenient. It's hard to convey that sometimes when you are just looking on line, but like you, all of our guests love the location.

We hope you have been putting your new cookery skills to good use! Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KarlChris...
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Calm,comfortable,very well equipped,beautiful view,bus stop for Bath near by - great!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Very cosy cottage (two levels) with great a view over river Avon and vale, very calm.
Very well equipped (air co, dish washer, washing machine, micro wave, freezer...) and a safe car park in the court.

Bus for Bath starts directly in front of the court, BP 4.20 for a day ticket and a 20 minutes drive into town centre. Very relaxing and much cheaper than parking the car in town centre.
Or alternatively take the boat from Bathampton mill (5 minutes walk).

We will come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2013
Hi,

Thanks very much for the review. We know how important the car park was for you and it even comes equipped with its own handyman, in case of car troubles! Hope we will see you here again sometime.

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewed May 21, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, style of accommodation
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your compliments - we really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RHGW29
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MADE OUR WEEKEND”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The Old Workshop was booked for my parent's surprise 60th birthday. They were picked up in the morning on the Northern Ireland coast not having a clue where they were going. A few hours later they arrived at The Old Workshop with a surprise from friends and family. The Old Workshop was just perfect. Loving living and dining area with beautiful views over the countryside. The bedrooms are spaceous and everywhere is spotlessly clean. John & Jane were very accomodating and also gave us a great recommendation for a nearby restaurant and takeaway. I would recommend booking with stayinbath.com to absolutely anyone. I've been sounding like a 'Visit Bath' advert since we got back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quality of the property
Liked least: having to come home!!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2013
We are so pleased you had such a great time and it's nice to hear we have someone actively promoting us!Hopefully we will see you or one of your friends again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicka679
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb accomodation in great location for Bath”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The Old Workshop has been renovated and furnished to an extremely high standard and proved to be one of the best self catering accomodation we had booked in some time. Approximately 10 mins drive time out of Bath, the regular bus service from the convenient bust stop outside was ideal and avoided costly city centre parking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the most comfortable large beds we have ever had
Liked least: living accomodation on 1st floor may be difficult for older people / those with disabilities or very young children
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2013
Hi,

So glad you enjoyed it and thanks for taking the trouble to post a review. It is really appreciated.

Regards

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great House in perfect location”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely house to stay in for a weekend in Bath. The house is a beautiful conversion of an old workshop and done reallly well. Loved the quirkiness of an upside down house, with the open plan living room and kitchen/diner upstairs.

The house was spotless, and there was a welcome pack with provisions waiting for us on arrival.

The only (very small) niggle was that it took us a little time to work out how to locate and switch on the main power for the showers. Detailed instructions would be really useful. Other than that it was brilliant. Short bus or taxi ride from Bath Centre, views over countyside and really comfortable.

Would go again and recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and open country feel of the house
Liked least: Bedroom 2 is quite cosy if setup as 2 singles
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2013
Thanks very much for posting your review, we appreciate it. We've added an extra line in our welcome booklet about switching on the showers, so thanks for pointing that out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$140
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing