We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Reading Reviews First!”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed in the Lodge, which is a motel style box in the car park. I was prepared for basic, but what we received on the whole was even less than that.

Pillowcases with holes either burnt or knawed out if them, suspect brown stain on the sheet. Bed that was only just softer than the car park Tarmac.

Staff are rude, and care or know very little. How any of the reception staff have jobs, I don't know. Even the complaints procedure was suspect!

The shower, we were advised, would take over 5mins to warm up, as it is a new boiler... I think they've been Mis-sold that!

Location was lovely, just by the river, but the condition of the hotel spoils it a bit. Breakfast was very good, but all in all it was an experience to forget.

Should have booked a Travelodge!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikey_j_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Tiny purpose built pod type rooms, reminiscent of those in ferries cross the Channel. Shorter than average double beds. Just about room to open door and slip into room, suitcases had to be put beside bed as no room anywhere for cases. You can hear the coat hangers being moved in the wardrobes in next roomas well as conversations of other guests. Many decades since i have been so ripped off booking a hotel room. Didn't check reviews beforehand.
Breakfast was usual greasy bacon eggs etc, but they ran out of plates, bowls, grapefruit, etc and breakfast was finished at 9.30 ! Be warned. An £85 rip off.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dingdongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

What a disappointing place. Despite the stunning location this hotel is a real letdown. The decor looks cheap and tired, reminiscent of a 70s motel. The room was awful and most definitely not worth the £120 per night price.

More like a portacabin, the room was just as bad from the outside as in. Although perfectly clean it was very small with what seemed chipboard walls through which we could hear the conversation of the couple next door as well as the movements of those above us. The mattress was uncomfortably hard with a faded old counterpane and a woollen blanket as covering. Best of all the toilet had not been flushed after the previous occupants.

There is an hourly charge for wifi but there is free parking available. Although not necessarily a negative point, all the staff were Eastern European. The breakfast waitresses were too busy to clear or wait tables and we had to seat ourselves, get our own cutlery, find one of the waitresses after waiting for ages in order to ask for tea and toast, and then had to get back up to get our own cups. The hot breakfast items ran out after 45 minutes and there was a 10 minute wait until they were topped up, even then it was not worth the wait. However, it was very amusing to overhear the 2 tables next to us complain about the breakfast and hotel. Their experience was clearly similar to ours. Back in the reception a group of 4 or 5 young staff were all sat listening to a tinny radio playing foreign music, not the most welcoming or professional approach to front of house. To top it all off the fire alarm was set off at 0800 on the Sunday morning which the staff were unable to switch off for 25 minutes.

I do not recommend this hotel and would not return. They either need to charge a lot less or to refurbish the whole place and improve the service in order to justify the cost.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabananafanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldmillhotel, Duty Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We thank you for staying with us and am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here. We value any constructive criticism and, as the duty manager, have addressed the issues you have put forward to ensure these things do not happen again. The fire alarm was a very unfortunate occurrence and as we had a problem with the alarm sensor and unfortunately the alarm main system could not be switched off until a full investigation was done, we do sincerely apologise. The safety of our guests is a priority to us. As for the decor of the Hotel, at the moment, we are a bit indecisive of what to do as we have so many guests asking us not to change too much but we have, as of this week, opened our new refurbished restaurant downstairs so am trying to offer "the best of both worlds" so to speak. As mentioned before in my previous responses we are in the process of making some new and very exciting changes to the Hotel as we are striving to offer a happy and comfortable stay with us at The Old Mill Hotel to all our guests. We would like you to know that we have taken your comments on board. With the kindest of regards, Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Spent 2 days here last weekend on our way to Bournemouth , to be honest some of the reviews worried me ! However we needent have been as we had a great stay here.

We arrived around 11 a.m. on the SundAY and went in to the bar for a coffe and a nosey around when they came to get us and told us our room was ready , we had a superior room in the hotel and it was Lovely with a nice comfy bed and huge double shower.

We had Sunday lunch here which was very nice , all the staff were honestly excellent especially Oli on the front desk who couldnt do enough for us even checking the local bus timetable up on his phone for us.

We also had Dinner there that evening which was delicious also , the Breakfasts was a buffet and was good.

The Old Mill has a truly beautiful setting right on the river with the old mill wheel still intact , the view from our room and the restaurant was superb and this was extrapolated due to the Beautiful weather this week. It was lovely watching the wildlife on the river the Geese and the Swans plus seeing the Boat that comes upriver from Bath Moor just accross the way.

there is a 1/2 hourly bus service that you can get in to bath from the main road around 1/4 mile away which cost £2.50 each , a taxi Back cost us £8 and the boat ride one way cost £4 each , so plenty of options to get you in to the City plus the good old walk which cost us nothing and took around 1/2 hour or so .

there is also a very quaint pub restaurant accross the way from the old mill called the Bathampton.

Wold not hesitate to stay here again it was a great start to our 6 days away break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ew6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldmillhotel, Duty Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear of such a good review and will continue to strive to do our best for all our guests. With the kindest of regards, Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Amazing little hotel on the outskirts of beautiful Bath. If you visit Bath then I recommend staying here. Beautiful rooms and we had a lovely view of the river. Very tranquil and fantastic grounds. Warm friendly staff who were extremely helpful.
Brilliant - loved it.

Room Tip: Book a superior double on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldmillhotel, Duty Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear of such a good review and will continue to strive to do our best for all our guests. With the kindest of regards, Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

PLEASE THINK TWICE BEFORE BOOKING A ROOM AT THIS HOTEL - I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THAT YOU DO!!!!......6 weeks ago we stayed at this hotel, If you want a comfy bed - then DONT STAY HERE, - clearly mattress had seen better days, both of us collapsed into the middle of the bed - no support, back began to ache, staff later claimed to be a NEW mattress!!??.....If you want to be able to control the temperature of your room - then DONT STAY HERE, unable to adjust the temperature of the room, it was SO hot in the room, if you want fully working TV and lights in the room - then DONT STAY HERE......unable to turn of the bathroom light and the TV remote didnt work having to go to the TV to adjust the channel etc. If you want to breath fresh air - then DONT STAY HERE - could smell exhaust fumes constantly from outside when vehicles came onto the car park.
By midnight of over heating and unable to sleep because of the mattress (had an early start the next day) complained to reception, after wondering around the hotel eventually for 20 mins to find a suitable replacement room, eventually got into bed at 1am!! Had to be up at 6 for important meeting. Mattress not much better but wanted to get to sleep!
Completed a Complaints form after breakfast, told manager would contact later in the day - 3 days later had to chase up complaint.....to find form lost!! Had to then email complaint, had initial response, advised that manager would resolve matter and arrange refund. Week later Offered £7.50!!! regarded this as embarassing offer of compensation, further 5 weeks of numerous daily phone calls, and emails - manager NOT had the courtsey to respond.
Breakfast was ok BUT NOT VERY GOOD QUALITY
I WOULDNT RECOMMEND YOU STAY AT THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: Dont stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 25Jessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldmillhotel, Duty Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

With the hotel under new management we are trying to take heed of the complaints and do our best to better things. We received your complaints and replied to most of them, we did however get to a point were we did realise that we could not help much more than we had. Once we received your first complaint about the room at 1am we did move you to another room immediately, to which you informed us you were much happier with that room. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. At the time we had not had the new mattresses delivered so we do apologise for you being misinformed by one of our staff members. The hotel is still undergoing some changes and value constructive criticism. We realise there is still a lot to be done and working harder to ensure our guests have a happy and comfortable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our accommodation was out in the car park.
When lying in bed you were a yard away from the exausts of other vistors cars and vans.
This ment we were woken up each morning from 6-30 onwards as workmen (quests) left in there vans to their place of work.
The evening food was very good but the breakfasts tasted as though it had been standing for a long time.
We would not go back to this hotel unless the proposed upgrade is good.

Room Tip: Ask for the best room in the hotel lts self, not one of the lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldmillhotel, Duty Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We are sorry to hear of the early morning disruption while at your stay here with us. We are happy to enounce that we are in the process of making some new and very exciting changes to the Hotel as we are striving to offer a happy and comfortable stay for all our guests. We do value all our customers comments and take them all on board. With the kindest of regards, Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
191 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
3.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range: $78 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing