We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Post Card Views”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed just one night on the way to a wedding. The views from the restaurant overlooked the river and were stunning. Rooms ok with all the facilities but a little tired. Food very good. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hammer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Dropped my mother in-law here for a one night stay with her uncle.
We arrived and the setting and location is beautiful however, the service does need improving.

A man that seemed to be the manager was dealing with another couple that were complaining about their room and wanted a room change so was in reception when we were all collecting room keys. Then the man/manager came over and snatched my mother in-laws room key from her hand and gave her another one without saying anything! Very rude and unprofessional.

I was concerned she had been down graded but the room was actually pleasant. It had a lovely balcony overlooking the water which was lovely. The rooms are on the small side, smelt a bit as it was right next to the kitchen fan but overall ok.

The next morning our uncle had 2 poached eggs for breakfast and asked for some tomato but was simply given half a tomato and the staff looked horrified when he asked for more than the half that was given!

The car park was also really small and tight!
The whole hotel really needs a revamp and updating, wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank Anna0202s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My daughter had her reception here, the staff were magnificent. Everything was done to perfection.
From the setting up of tables, wedding breakfast, evening reception and bedrooms.
The gardens, water mill, view, it was everything a wedding should be.
A Sunday lunch is a must, menu is wonderful.
The place is outstanding

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margery L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have just come back from a week in Bath with my sisters and we stayed at the Old Mill Hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

The staff are friendly, helpful and also have a sense of humour - quite rare!!!

The rooms were clean, even the bathroom!!!

The breakfast was good very good choices, they have their own restaurant at the Hotel for evening meals and every meal we had was excellent - couldn't fault it.

The location was also very good too, only a short bus ride into Bath centre. So was good if youi wanted to leave the car at the hotel.

Excellent views all around the hotel which sits on the river, I am sure that in the Summer would be idyllic.

Would definitely go again :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wonderwoman606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very nice hotel set on a river by an old toll bridge. Room was good, price was good. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Overall atmosphere excellent. Room was OK to good, I did not have a river view which I was told was well worth having. Breakfast was good quality although why it is against Health and safety rules to serve ourselves the English breakfast is beyond me. I do it all the time at other hotels. Free WiFi is always welcome!

Room Tip: Riverside is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lovely location, though the rooms themselves are a little cramped. The nearby canal walk leading into town nearby is well worth taking. The St George Inn on the canal serves great food.

The shower facilities are a little odd and we had a problem with ours in that it drained very slowly so we ended up with a minor flood in the bathroom. We told the management and they had someone look at it, but they only managed a marginal improvement.

Room Tip: Be careful with the showers. Ours drained very slowly so we ended up with a minor flood in the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johncarneyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I booked a weekend at the Old Mill Hotel on the strenght of their website. Nice pictures. It stops there. The hotel is over priced and dated. Tired decor and dirty bedroom carpets. Below average facilities. Better showers in a travelodge. The staff on the whole were friendly and helpful apart from the manager/owner? who was very rude. This was meant to have been a special weekend for my wife's 50th birthday but was spoilt by this below par establishment. Bath is a lovely city but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Strudders57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
3.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#32 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range: $61 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing