We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would we recommend this hotel - yes! Break from 25 - 29 March”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel as a Wedding Anniversary present to each other. The staff we came into contact with were courteous and nothing seemed too much trouble for them
Having booked late our room was situated on the ground floor level of the Old Mill Lodge, the room was small space wise, but cosy and clean, double shower area was spotless and most of all as we visited at such cold time, albeit 'Spring' the room was lovely and warm and the radiator could be adjusted from warm to scorching!

We left our car parked on the first day and did not use it for the whole stay, having been advised not to drive into Bath and parking costs, we walked into Bath along the canal right into the centre of Bath! an enjoyable easy walk on the flat 45 mins for a fast walker and an hour for those not so fast! and caught a bus back the number 13 most times but 2 other buses would take you to a stop almost opp the hotel, as does the number 13

The English breakfast was always piping hot, with a good selection of cereals, grapefruit, yogurt and dried fruits, if you wanted something not on the breakfast menu, if at all possible, it would be there the next day. The serving staff were efficient and polite at all times.
Well done The Old Mill, our kind service and accommodation!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Booked this through bookings.com at £100 per night for b and b over Easter - wish I,d read all the reviews first! To be fair the location is stunning with amazing views. I'm glad to say we didn't get a lodge room - see other reviews - but have to agree the 'lodge' is a double height portocabin style building so wouldn't recommend it. Nice little garden with a lovely old willow tree spoilt by a pile of condemned furniture in onecorner. Our room was supposed to be a superior double - I'm told the thing that makes it superior is the presence of a very small bath so wouldn't say worth booking a superior if that's the only difference - mattress ancient and could feel the springs - both had sore backs this morning- so avoid room 116 ! and room generally 'tired' and needs upgrading - sidelights have scorched shades and only one worked. I did ask the manager to swop our room yesterday when we arrived as had asked for river view online but request hadnt gone through, but he said none available , although I noticed a guest who complained about his bed got a room change 10 mins later. Communal areas are shabby and none too clean - I,m a nurse so possibly have high standards but there were bits all over the capet at breakfast, someone pill under a chair, a chair in the bar area has gaffer tapped arm rests, brass rail / radiators not clean etc etc. partner found shower cold this am - breakfast not of a high standard , cheap ingredients and hot stuff supplied at a rate of 1 bit of bacon, 1 sausage etc . All in all not worth the money and way below standard - massively overdue a smarten up - wouldn't recommend it .

Room Tip: Don't chose this hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband just wanted to book a short Easter break, spending one night in Bath, and he booked this hotel via the internet. We arrived too early to check in so went to spend the day in the city. When we returned to book in (we had 2 rooms one for us one for our sons) their room was in the main part of the hotel and at first glance seemed ok. I was shocked and disappointed to discover we were in the "lodge" part. The room was very small and cramped, which was not great for my husband who is over 6ft, and the view was of the car park. The wardrobe was tiny and didn't fit our bags, and we could not get the TV to work. Luckily we were actually spending the evening with friends so literally only needed to sleep there. When we got back just after 11 the car park was quite full.
The next morning we couldn't regulate the shower to a decent temperature, so it was just cold.
We went to get our sons and they had not managed to have a bath or shower either as only the cold water was running and that room had a a spa bath that didn't work. Breakfast was not included in the price and it was £7.50 for a continental ( for my son that was basically a bowl of cereal) and £10 for the full English , but you couldn't serve yourself. When my husband went to pay, they couldn't quite understand the concept that he wanted to pay for both rooms breakfast (when they kept asking what room number) I personally did not have any interaction with any of the staff but my husband was not impressed with their lack of customer care.
Very disappointing for a hotel stay and would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the lodge if possible, as they are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mala L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
respondance, Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

We take reviews very seriously. This guest booked a superior twin bedded room and a lodge double room.Our superior rooms are all in the main hotel and are all large rooms, whilst the lodge rooms are in a seperate building and smaller, the guest booked these rooms on a room only basis and the comment of £7.50 for a bowl of cereals, how about the yoghurts, fruit, fruit juices, cereals, dried fruit, toast tea and coffee, the english breakfast is served from a buffet and if a guest wants more than one rasher of bacon they only have to ask. A full cooked breakfast would normally consist of, bacon.local sausage, mushrooms, hash brown fresh tomato, egg and baked beans.
Again if the guest was having problems with any of our services we offer a 24 hour service and there is always someone on call 24/7.
Finally if the guest was that concerned about any of te matters they have outlined why did they not ask to see me when they checked out.
We care about our customer satisfaction and thats why we get a lot of repeat bookingsbut some guests just don't give you a chance to make sure everything is ok.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

1 - Very cold weather in UK - but then a hotel needs to up its heating, which the Old Mill did not do. We were in the 'Lodge' which is a badly insulated outside 2-storey structure. Our room was on the upper floor at one end, so it was exposed on the roof and on 3 of its 4 walls. There was one radiator, never hot and also switched off except in the evening and morning. So the max temp in our room was 2C (35F) and the min was -6C during our 3-day stay. The bathroom was completely unheated, and its extractor fan was on all the time the light was on - so a shower was cold and draughty. Complaints were shrugged off with empty promises.
2 - the 'security safe' was a joke. No instructions in the room; when obtained from Reception the instructions were on a full A4 sheet but in incomprehensible English. The owner/manager criticised me for pointing this out, rather than explaining why the hotel did not provide understandable instructions. Staff then came twice to try to help, but with keys - and failed to open the safe. We then had to leave our valuables in the Reception safe, after making a list of the contents of the envelope before sealing it. Loss of privacy, time-consuming and inconvenient!
3 - no free WiFi and expensive charges, surprising in 2013!
4 - mid-evening I rang the bell at Reception to get our room key, and then rang it again after a long wait. Owner/manager 'Fawlty' then shouted at me with annoyance - he was doubling as a waiter in the restaurant, and thought we should wait while he twice made the long walk to the kitchen hatch to get plates of food and deliver them back to the table. Duty staff then arrived.
5 - breakfast was good, and the location would be nice in warmer weather.

Room Tip: Avoid the Lodge rooms! Probably hot in hot weather, and definitely cold in cold weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dorset38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
respondance, Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

This guest arrived and straight away he wasn't happy, he had booked a room in our lodge, the cheapest way to stay here, the room that he occupied was 230 which is one of the larger rooms,His comment about his safe the instructions of how to operate the safes are those that are supplied by the manufacturer and are given in several different languages. The extractor fans in the bathrooms are programmed to come on when the bathroom light goes on and go off a few moments after the light is turned off, there is however a switch just above the bathroom door that will turn the extractor fan off completely, I do not think that the guests bedroom reached -6 degrees C as if it did the surely this is below freezing point and all the pipes would of burst but he said nothing about this whilst he was here and although our central heating was on 24/7 we also have back up electric fan heaters should any particular guest feel cold but all the central heating radiators are individually controlled.
When this guest returned in the evening to collect his key he he banged twice on the reception bell, I myself called to him from the restaurant where I was serving and explained to the guest that I would be with him in one moment at which point the receptionist returned.
This guest said nothing when he left the hotel and said nothing whilst he was here how can we make sure that a guest is comfortable if he doesn.t let us know of any problems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband booked this hotel as a late birthday present for us to have a weekend away. The waitresses in the restaurant were very polite and helpful.

The manager is too full of himself and the woys of health and safety and has not resolved what I can gather is outstanding issues.

We booked a deluxe room but unfortunately on the first night we both woke up in the early hours as we were freezing (end March 2013). Next morning the radiator was not working and we had no hot water to wash with - eventually boiled the kettle.

That evening we went to our room around 9:30pm and again the radiator was not working.

The next morning was very much the same as the first.

Having booked a DELUXE room did we get a discount - yes they knocked our £20 bar bill off!!!

Room Tip: Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

March 2013

The hotel is situated outside of the main town. We were given very good advice prior to our visit and that was to not drive into the centre nor try and park. There aren't a lot of parking facilities and when you have to pay £1.50 for every half an hour there, the costs just tally up. We parked up at the hotel (around 11am) but could not check in until 3pm. Taxi to the main town centre from the hotel is £10 for 2 people which we didn't mind.

The hotel itself is quiet and situated in by a lake. Our room was tidy and clean. The food was average and nothing special. I am pretty sure my meal was not freshly prepared.

Our main issue was the shower. Absolutely no hot water at all. We stayed at this hotel during the coldest weekend of the year so you would expect visitors to want a hot shower/bath after walking around a very cold town for many hours. We spoke to reception twice that evening but was advised that the boiler had been restarted. The morning after, still no hot water. When checking out, we advised the gentleman at the reception again but we were just thanked for the comment. Another guest also had the same issue (and kicked off much more of a fuss than we did)

Looking back, we should have argued for a discount. We had booked one of the premium rooms for the night and came away from the trip feeling very let down by the hotel (and a lot of shampoo remaining in my hair!)

I hope the hotel looks into the 'customer service' element more for future visitors.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel for a one night stop over. My room was comfy and spacious (must have been one of the better rooms!) Loved the large walk in shower tho the turn as far as it will go to get hot water seemed a little ancient for the 21st century! I booked a single night stay for a lone traveller and was well looked after. Dodgy turn from main road and entrance not clear in the dark tho the toll staff are friendly and will direct you!
Breakfast was good and was served quickly although I did notice some guests had to wait to be served from the hot counter.
Dont stay here if you frequent hilton hotels or premier inns (service here is not up to their standard) but its a good alternative to Travelodge

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimbxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
191 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
3.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range: $78 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing