We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My stepson & his wife had their wedding reception at the hotel, they also spent their wedding night at the hotel. We also spent the night at the hotel. We couldn't of asked for anything better. The manager made it such a special day for the happy couple, nothing was too much trouble. The food at both the reception & the evening party was superb. Our room waas spotlessly clean with beautiful views over the river. All the staff were friendly & polite. The breakfast was lovely with a good selection. We would definitely stay there again & wouldn't hesitate in recommending it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSizF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    287
    238
    183
    217
See reviews for
197
608
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Londoner
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The room we had was overpriced, tiny, with no facilities - not even a hair dryer. The curtains had holes in them, there was no TV reception, the whole place is tired, dated, cheap and nasty. Yes its a nice location pity its a tired old place that needs a total makeoever.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
respondance, Manager at Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
I think this review if of prior to our refurbishment as all frooms now have hair dryers and all with new curtain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batheaston hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My partner and I booked a room here for a two night stay in Bath. We had read all the reviews about the lodge part being a bit average, so we paid a bit more for a room in the main hotel. It was a good size, nice and clean, very modern bathroom.
I would say that the nearby function room was quite busy both nights we were there, however it quietened down by around midnight and a bit of noise wasn't a bother for us at all. If it's the sort of thing that worries you, it may be better to take a room in the lodge further away. The staff were lovely and professional, the breakfasts were yummy and the scenery around the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaraandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed for 1 night in the lodge , it was newly refurbished clean and smart. However it is a rather small room ok for one night but if staying more i would recommend the main hotel. The veiws are fantastic and the boat trip to Bath is a must. The food in the restaurant is good and there is a pub across the road if you want to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lofty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

To start with I don't generally stay in 3* but due to the time of year it was cost effective. There werent enough knowledgeable staff in our opinion and standards were really lacking in facilities. Yes lovely bathroom but no in room mini bar, no topped up tea or coffee, no DVD player.
Service in the restaurant was awful for dinner, no children's menu either and smaller portions still charged at normal rate. The highchairs were terrible the first one we were given was actually broken.
Quite sad to say I wouldn't stay there again as the outlook from our room window was stunning. However with our 1 year walking about we felt unsafe even in our room as the French door didn't shut properly.
Overall if you just want a bed... (And to mention our bed dipped in the middle so we ended up rather uncomfy both nights, to the point were my husband slept on the floor in favour of this!) the bedroom view from our side was scenic however all else was lacking

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Just stayed at this hotel for two nights over the weekend whilst attending an event in the city.

Booked by my friend for himself, his wife and two and half year old son, and me, my wife and 7 month old daughter we naturally enquired about cots for the children which we were told we have one but you'll need to provide the other, no problem as it's not a massive hotel and wouldn't expect them to have a abundance of cots.

Upon arrival we checked in and were told that we were in the lodge, and also given the directions on how to use the shower before we "came screaming back to reception to say they didn't work!" Strange instruction but ok.

Opened the room to find the room just about big enough to fit a bed and wondered where the travel cot was going to fit, after jigging a few things around we managed to get the cot in but it was clearly a fire hazard but made do, my friends room however was on the end of the lodge and was clearly bigger as the cot was already there albeit not much bigger, my wife did mention that our room was unsuitable to house a cot to reception more for info than to be moved and the receptionist at the time was very helpful and understanding.

During the Friday night the hotel was hosting a wedding, which was fine however the small car park was full, the music was loud but I certainly would hold this against the hotel, however the decision to empty all of the evenings bottles into the bin at 1:30 was ridiculous!

Although stated on the website that all rooms had iron and ironing board ours did not, and the rooms in the lodge are that small that after showers the room felt extremely damp all night.

I feel that the lodge is not in keeping with the main hotel and the more negative reviews will be based on this lodge, I kept half expecting to see Paul McShane and Sue Pollard to appear out of one of the rooms!

Pros - Good location
Cons - Lodge and price of lodge rooms! (£80 per night room only) and apparently a discounted rate!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooter2878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Had a room with a fantastic view of the river, went for riverside walks, a relaxing ending to my business trip. Cooked breakfast was very good and also the meal I had in the evening. On the last day had to leave very early and night porter was very happy to make me sandwiches and nice strong coffee to start the day. Will go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plato1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
3.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Property: Old Mill Hotel
Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing