We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage, wonderful stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
You can just see the parking area in front of the cottage Luxury bathroom with Egyptian cotton towels
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
You can just see the parking area in front of the cottage
Luxury bathroom with Egyptian cotton towels
Lots of stone and wood and a super comfortable King size bed!
Cosy living area with lots of character
Small but perfectly formed. Plenty of room for a cosy weekend or a longer break
Another view of the kitchen/living area. Some of our guests have said it's much bigger than it appea
A great place to relax or have fun!
The Smeg oven is 'state of the art'! A pleasure to use.
Pamper yourself here
Getting an idea of the quality?
Quirky spiral staircase
We've tried to think of lots of nice little touches which make a difference
One of our many enthusiastic testimonials from couples enjopying a romantic break
Another one of our many glowing testimonials from our satisfied clients
This is the former butcher's shop, which is at the front of the same building.
This was the building at the turn of the 20th century!
The Roman Baths. It's just as beautiful in the day.
One of the reason so many people come to Bath! The unique roof top Spa - pure indulgence.
Bathampton Mill is just a few minutes walk from the Saltings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laurenash...
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, wonderful stay!”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful, well maintained, well equipped cottage. Originally the location put us off, however I'm glad we went ahead and booked here as getting to the centre of Bath couldn't have been easier, the bus stop is located right outside the courtyard and buying a day pass meant we could go in and out of town as often as we wanted. Booking this property was straightforward and the information provided for our stay in Bath was very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: underfloor heating
Liked least: The check in time of 16:00 we felt was quite late
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2015
Thanks Lauren and so pleased you found the location suited you. This tends to be what happens. Initially people want to be very close to Bath centre but subsequently find our location just as convenient. Yes, the day pass is very good value and the real time digital display on the bus stop is great too, we think. Hope to welcome you again soon. John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamitch
Bendigo, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“just what we wanted”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was exactly the english accommodation we wanted to experience, what a great little cottage right in the heart of a lovely little town. Welcomed with some food basics and a directory showing us everything else (a local map could be included). The Bathampton Mill is only about a 10 min walk and has the best meals, we ate both nights there and loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2015
Thanks Bruce. Glad you found what you were looking for, which is good for us too. We will look at preparing a local map with the salient features. Thanks for the suggestion, appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2015
Thank you very much for the review - we really appreciate it! Glad you like the location - we are lucky to have the Bathampton Mill so close - it's even better in summer, so come and see us again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2015
Thanks Natasha. It sounds like you enjoyed the Saltings to the full and we are pleased you had such a good time. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Regards, John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mattlynch...
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cosy & romantic getaway”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the saltings after a heavy period of partying over Christmas and new year, so was looking for something quiet calm and romantic to 'get way from it all'. The saltings proved to be a pretty close to perfect host.
The location was fantastic for us, perched about a half hour walk into Bath city centre you could either walk along the road or take the much more scenic route of a walk along the canal. Its close to two country pubs, the bathampton mill in particular was very nice.
The cottage itself is small but it is what it is, for two people i don't think you would want or need it to be any bigger. Deborah and John were kind enough to leave us some essentials and their 'guide book' was a great help with all sorts of info about the cottage and about bath.
We're definitely going to come back at some point and we'd recommend people to do the same.
A bit of a tip, maybe bring a small torch if you're likely to go to one of the nearby pubs at night. It's not that bad but for city folk it might get a tad dark!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Underfloor heating!
Liked least: bathroom door didn't really close properly, was almost a gap when it shuts.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2015
Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed it. (we do provide a torch, in the bedside cupboard) :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennio95
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely welcoming and peaceful stay”
Reviewed December 24, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Saltings was very welcoming with a very helpful welcome pack and lovely heated floors. It was in a beautiful location and was very clean and appliances all worked perfectly. Deborah was also very helpful! Would definitely recommend The Saltings!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 25, 2014
Thanks for the review and very pleased you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edd P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top class accommodation and care!!”
Reviewed December 18, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure of staying at The Saltings on a number of occasions, it really is a fantastic place that is finished to a high standard offering a real 'home from home' feel in a great location.

The attention to detail from John and his team are second to none. Excellent booking and joining instructions, excellent welcome pack, excellent communications during my stay and a great property.

I could not recommend this property more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of finish
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2014
Thanks Edd. Very pleased you like what we do - we certainly try to put ourselves in the guests' shoes and treat them as we would wish to be treated. We'll do our best to maintain our standards so you keep coming back :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing