We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem”
other travelers have booked this property
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
You can just see the parking area in front of the cottage Luxury bathroom with Egyptian cotton towels
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
You can just see the parking area in front of the cottage
Luxury bathroom with Egyptian cotton towels
Lots of stone and wood and a super comfortable King size bed!
Cosy living area with lots of character
Small but perfectly formed. Plenty of room for a cosy weekend or a longer break
Another view of the kitchen/living area. Some of our guests have said it's much bigger than it appea
A great place to relax or have fun!
The Smeg oven is 'state of the art'! A pleasure to use.
Pamper yourself here
Getting an idea of the quality?
Quirky spiral staircase
We've tried to think of lots of nice little touches which make a difference
One of our many enthusiastic testimonials from couples enjopying a romantic break
Another one of our many glowing testimonials from our satisfied clients
This is the former butcher's shop, which is at the front of the same building.
This was the building at the turn of the 20th century!
The Roman Baths. It's just as beautiful in the day.
One of the reason so many people come to Bath! The unique roof top Spa - pure indulgence.
Bathampton Mill is just a few minutes walk from the Saltings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeff H
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

From the start.
Directions to the cottage were very accurate. Dedicated parking spot right outside the door.
The owners had supplied lovely scones plus a bottle of wine, and all the tea,coffee and sugar caddies were full topped off with fresh milk in the fridge so if you Travel far, at least a cuppa and scone or something stronger to start your holiday exactly right!
Inside- immaculate. Okay it's a 'one up one down' but what a smashing cottage for two people, with everything thought out and there -all appliances necessary.
You will need to be relatively fit as it's a spiral staircase, but how many times do you actually need to go up and down?
Very comfortable furnishings and bed-very!
The cottage is well within walking distance of Bath 25-30 minutes-downhill all the way, plus there's a bus stop right outside and regular services direct to central Bath.
Car parking in Bath is quite expensive but almost all quite central and easily found. But it does get congested at busy times!
Although we are probably making re-booking more difficult our honest opinion is that this is such a lovely little gem of a place, we shouldn't tell anyone else...but we have!
Pat&Jeff

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2014
Well, we are flushed with pride at your lovely compliments, thank you so much. The scones are a relatively new 'experiment'. You were some of the first to have them but it sounds like we will carry on with them. One of our lady cleaners makes them herself and we thought they were delicious, so it's nice our guests think so too. We would love to have you back again and we will keep trying to find ways to make it even better :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The under floor heating
Liked least: The oven
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the trouble to write, we really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MandyKev6...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Saltings - a beautiful place to stay :)”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just had 3 fantastic night stay at the Saltings . It is a fantastic cottage, just perfect for 2. From the start it was 5 stars...a great welcome pack and bottle of wine greeted us. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you could need. The use of a parking space directly outside was also a brilliant touch.
We spent a fantastic day exploring Bath and particularly enjoyed the Roman Baths - a must for anyone sightseeing. Eating out was a pleasure as there were many lovely places to eat and drink.
Bath and the surrounding areas have some outstanding places to visit, both Bradford on Avon and Lacock are a must.
Thank you for opening up your beautiful cottage for others to use and we will definately be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom was beautiful
Liked least: Nothing - everything was perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2013
Hi,

Lovely to read your warm review and to hear you will make a return visit. Thanks for writing and see you soon!

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janiedevo
lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful property”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Just got back from are wonderful week in Bath, had the most amazing time and the cottage just made it more special. The welcome pack was a lovely surprise eggs, milk, the nicest butter I've ever tasted, soft brown bread and the bottle of red, very much appreciated. The cottage itself has everything you need, bedding and towels all of excellent quality. Decorated beautifully although I felt a little cramped on the sofa and would of loved an armchair near the reading light. Bedroom was heavenly and the king size bed made for the best nights sleep we've had in ages. Shower was excellent and huge with copious amounts of hot water. Parking space outside was a god send as we used the bus which stops right outside the property to get into bath, purchasing a return ticket saved us money as parking in bath is limited and expensive. We also visited Wells and Bristol which are a small drive away. We went to Bathampton Mill twice for tea and the Crown both severed lovely food. In Bath we ate at Jamies, Browns and a little coffee shop in Milsom street all were very good. The people we met on are travels were all so friendly and so very helpful. All in all a brilliant week

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2013
We really appreciate you writing and are so pleased you had such a lovely time. As you saw, the Saltings is quite small, but we try to make it as perfect as possible. Not sure there would be room to squeeze in an armchair, but we will think about it. :-)Hopefully, we will see you in Bath again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBAH82
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“The consummate getaway”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I brought my partner here as part of a surprise trip for her birthday in mid-July and could not have had a better stay. We utterly fell in love with Bath itself: so wonderfully welcoming and stunning was it, with as much to do for the resident as the tourist, that we are now making plans to re-locate there within the next two years.

However, our trip would not have been complete without the icing on the cake that was The Saltings, of course. After a hard day at the Thermae Bath Spa, it was very nice to arrive to a crisp bottle of white wine to relax with. The other fresh food products that were also provided came very much in handy too.

The property itself was as charming and delightful as the photographs show, if not more so. My girlfriend was so blown away by it when we arrived (I had previously hinted that we might be camping), that she sat, gobsmacked, for a full fifteen minutes - I cannot remember when she was last quiet for that long without an argument preceding it! The fixtures were of an excellent quality and we did not want for any utensils that were not provided. The bed and sofa were both very comfortable, I even managed my first night of sleep into double figures of duration since my teens, and the shower was of ample power to wake oneself up in the morning, with thick cotton towels to dry off that did not go unnoticed.

Batheaston is a very cute village and the riverside stroll to Bathampton Mill well worth doing. The walk into Bath is also straightforward for anyone of reasonable mobility and we used this method on every occasion bar one, when the bus from right outside the property provided welcome relief for Rachel's high heels.

The surrounding villages are also very beautiful, my only regret was that we were unable to find the nearby farm shop on the day we left so I had to head back to Cambridgeshire sans proper cheddar and cider.

Our trip was beyond perfect and The Saltings really did complete the package. I would advise that potential guests do pack their belongings into suitable luggage for transporting up a spiral staircase, while enjoying the additional appeal that this feature offers. My only possible moan would be that the wifi was very patchy and often not working at all, but when you're somewhere like this, who wants to spend their whole time messing about on the internet?

When it comes to answering the question of would I recommend it to a friend, I can already answer that I have recommended it to everyone who I have discussed the break with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience.
Liked least: The lack of wifi connectivity.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2013
We are all tingly, just reading your review. We can't imagine how anyone could be more complimentary and we are sure your eloquence has added an extra dimension to our testimonials.

We can understand why Bath had such an impact on you as it is a very special place, both to live in and visit. And it's very exciting to think we may play a small part in one of your future life decisions! John is very active and knowledgeable of the Bath property market, so when the time comes, he would be very pleased to help you in any way he can.

The next time you come, you will hopefully find the WiFi a little more reliable, as we have ordered a booster which should make the signal's penetration of the thick stone walls in the Saltings somewhat easier.

Please keep in touch with us.

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jim2750
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely location, lovely cottage.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This property had all you could want for a peaceful break. The welcome pack was great and really enjoyed the wine! The property had all you require for a nice relaxing break. This area's attraction's are very varied and enjoyed the walks into Bath along the canal. The trips to Wells and Stonehenge were great and enjoyed trip's to Clifton(Bristol) and Oxford. If you are in the area you must visit The American Museum outside Bath a very under rated museum with great exhibitions and very excellent staff. Bathampton Mill great for food and drink's and only 10 mins. walk away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Maybe another small chair in lounge area / wi-fi access improved
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. We are glad you took in so many sights whilst you were here - it's amazing how much there is. We are still finding new places after being here for decades! Hope to see you back again to continue your exploration!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkiS198...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Honeymoon”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed here for our suprise honeymoon paid for by our bestman and maid of honor back in June 2012. It was a lovely, relaxing time and the accomodation was clean and very welcoming. The owner met us upon arrival and was incredibly inviting and helpful. We didn't use the car once after we arrived until the day we left, everything was only a bus ride or cab journey away. We had such a lovely time on our surprise honeymoon, we even had a honeymoon baby!! We would highly recommend the saltings for a break away and time to relax.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and tidy accomdation
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2013
Nice to hear from you - our star guests! We are so pleased the Saltings provided the right environment for you and we hope you will come and see us again as a family in one of our other properties. All the best for the future. John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing