We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel overall - but a few issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
Cannock
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel overall - but a few issues.”
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Our party of 5 stayed for 1 week in mid October. The hotel is not the finest designed hotel we've stayed in but is in a stunning location on the hillside at Agios Gordios. We arrived late at night and were supplied with a free drink and sandwiches.
We had made several special room requests (top floor of bungalow with sea view, close to hotel etc.) which were fulfilled and we got an upgrade to bungalow suites, which were very spacious (thanks Erika) . E-mail communication with the hotel was fast and efficient and the staff at the hotel were all very welcoming.
Considering that the hotel had near full occupancy at the end of the season I felt that it coped very well. Plenty of tables at meal times and no queueing for food - but maybe more toasters are required at breakfast..
There was also a good variety of food at all times with champagne (cava) offered at breakfast for your bucks fizz. The hotel had reacted to previous negative comments about cold plates by installing an extra mobile plate warmer with cover (super hot at times).
Because of the rainy weather the pool and roof bars were not open most nights, so there was great pressure on the main lounge bar, resulting in lack of seating. However, the hotel did establish an additional bar in the lounge to minimise any queues for drinks if you chose to get them yourself and not relay on the waiter service.
Drinks choice was ok with international brands for the main spirits. Champagne (Cava) is offered by the glass on the A I menu, but the cocktail choice is a little limited. As reported by others, the hotel only offers filter coffee. If you want a cappachino or espresso you have to pay - not really acceptable on all-inclusive.
The downside of the beautiful sunset was that, by facing west, the sun at this time of year did not appear on the pool terrace until well after midday. If you want the sun earlier you need to go down to the beach. (where beds are chargeable). The beach bar (Tunnel Bar) is open if the weather is good and is also free to hotel guests
In my opinion, most of the wooden poolside beds need a major refurbishment and all the fabric covered mattresses should be destroyed as they were stained and very smelly. We used the plastic sun loungers instead.
Wasps were a continuing problem which I have not experience at this level in any other country. I cannot comment if this is normal on Corfu as this was our first visit, but it did detract from our enjoyment. One guest reported that there was not a wasp problem at the hotel in May - so visit early if you hate wasps.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is able bodied, doesn't mind steps and climbing hills and wants relaxing holiday (evening entertainment is decidedly low key). Also, visit the pretty village of Agios Gordios a few hundred yards walk away - the shops and bars really need your custom and are very welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stugil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    710
    318
    73
    53
See reviews for
151
1,548
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
woking surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

we went for ten days to this hotel it was our 40th anniversary the hotel is out of the way on a very step hill there is only a few shops in the village and one bus that goes to Corfu town the hotel looks very sad on the outside we had a room in the main hotel but should have been in one of the bungalows, told we were upgraded dont think so but we were pleased in the end as it did nothing but rain and it is up a step hill to get to them and no cover. There was all so a very bad wasps problem they were every where the pool area was very smelly and sun bed covers are in a bad way and they also smelt i no it was the end of the season but that should not mater.
We also found the beds very hard on the plus side the food was good but im afraid i would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureenhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquis, Marketing Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Thank you for your straight remarks regarding your recent stay with us and we are honesty very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We really appreciate when guests share their experience, whether good or bad, with us. In Aquis Hotels and Resorts we need to continuously work on the improvement of our services and for this need to rely on the comments and suggestions of our guests. Thank you for the positive comments that you made about the food and we will make sure to share this compliment with our team.

We are sorry to hear that you weren’t informed prior to booking about the location of our property. As stated on our website it is certainly not appropriate for people with walking difficulties. What is worth mentioning is that the hotel is situated amphitheatrically on a hill offering wonderful views and it is not recommended for people with walking difficulties although upon arrival guests with walking difficulties are always given best allocation close to the lifts if possible. The room allocation you mention was a complimentary upgrade for your own convenience into a Deluxe Double Sea View room in main building but this did not seemed to satisfied you entirely, may I confirm that was a room upgrade.

We regret to read about the pressure put on you from the wasps. Unfortunately the wasp situation does exist in Corfu during certain periods and we do everything in our power to eliminate this phenomenon.

We can entirely understand that rain while being in a beach holiday resort can make you feel disappointed however occasionally this period there might be some ruining days as well and we are doing everything in order our guests to have memorable experiences even those rainy days.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future in any Aquis property in Corfu, Crete, Kos and Rhodes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

great hotel great food clean ,friendly staff a bit of a trek to beach but full of swingers

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We have jst got back from the Aquis Agios Gordios hotel and overall we found it to be a really nice hotel. We originally booked to be down the coast at another hotel but due to unforseen circumstances we were moved here at the last minute and i can say we had no complaints. The staff were fantastic they couldn't do enough for you (some did struggle with the language barrier but that is to be expected). The rooms were very clean and were cleaned everyday by housekeeping. The food was amazing it catered for everybody and the kitchen staff were always replacing it with fresh.
There are a couple of points i would say that i think people should be aware of, firstly there is a lot of wasps about which is very annoying at time (but the climate could have something to do with that), secondly and possibly most importantly it wasn't until we got there and noticed how freindly certain couples were been to each other taht we realised it was a swingers hotel, i know it says adults only but if you are like us and think that meant no children, it does but it means other things as well.
However overall the hotel was lovely, staff were brilliant and it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liiam86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquis, Marketing Manager at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We always read each and every review in all Aquis properties since its a perfect source of knowing our guest’s comments. I honestly like to thank you for your all your feedvack and kind words, we are doing our best to offer pure hospitality, that is the industry we are into and our aim is to offer memorable holiday experiences. This property is an adult’s only resort meaning that it offers a child free environment.

Having multiple properties in our portfolio of hotels in Crete, Kos, Rhodes and Corfu ranging mainly from purely family resorts we offer as well hotels where children under a certain age are not allowed for those who are looking for relaxing environment since there is a great portion of holiday makers that looks for a relaxing Mediterranean all inclusive hotel without families around. We are very happy that you so much enjoyed your stay and it will be our pleasure to welcome you again soon in any of our resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed at Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel for a week in October 2010. Following a 1½-hour delay with our flight, we arrived at the hotel at mid-night. We had a very friendly welcome. After a quick check-in we were offered drinks and sandwiches before we made our way to our rooms. We got to our rooms at about 1am. We had been allocated a deluxe room in the main block (room no. 4107), which overlooked the pool and had a lovely sea view. It was a very nice and well equipped. However, we had booked a ‘bungalow’ and, when we realized that we had not been given a ‘bungalow’ we felt it was too late to complain that night, so we just went straight to sleep. In the morning after breakfast, we went to reception and after making a (polite) complaint, our belongings were moved to a ‘bungalow’ – room 6029. Again, this room was very nice and well equipped and was in a three-storey block away from the main hotel block. It was nice and quiet (which is what we had wanted). It had a good-sized balcony with table and 2 chairs and we had a sea view, visible through the leafy trees and shrubs of the hotel grounds. Balconies have a small washing line, so take some ‘travel wash’ with you to wash out your swimwear etc each day. From the ‘bungalow’ rooms, there was a bit of a walk each day to the pools, bars and restaurants in the main block and we had an uphill walk back to our rooms each day but we were happy with this. Our room was clean and comfortable however, the previous occupant had obviously been a heavy smoker and there was a lingering smell of stale tobacco for most of our week’s stay. The room had a large TV, DVD player, free Wi-Fi availability, mini-fridge, telephone and air conditioning. There was also a room safe but there was a charge of €3 per day for the use of this (which I thought was a bit steep). The bathroom had a shower over the bath, a telephone and a hairdryer. It was a reasonable size but there was not much room to put your bits and pieces down. A hook on the back of the door would have been useful too for dressing gowns. Sadly, the towels were not very large or thick and did not dry quickly after being used. However, towels are changed every day if you wish. There were no complimentary toiletries, just a dispenser of liquid soap by the washbasin and a dispenser of shampoo by the shower. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are taken in the main restaurant, which is rather large and sometimes a bit noisy. However, there was a nice veranda where you could sit and eat ‘al fresco’. There was also a smaller indoor area to one side of the main restaurant where we tended to sit (if not sitting outside). For breakfast, lunch and dinner I found that the food on offer was very nice with plenty of choice of hot or cold food to suit anyone’s taste and all looked fresh and appetising. Everything was buffet-style so you could have as little or as much as you wanted. The house wine was not brilliant but quite drinkable. My only objection was that you had to help yourself to water from a dispenser with flimsy plastic glasses. These plastic glasses were also used for your juice at breakfast but at least then you could find glass glasses if you looked around. We did not have ‘tea’ during our stay, so can’t comment on this. However, one day when we spent the whole afternoon by the pool, we were offered ice creams and a glass of sangria. At lunch and dinner men were expected to wear long trousers. Shorts or swimwear were not allowed. However, this is a 4-star hotel because of its facilities and it is not at all ‘posh’. No one dresses up for dinner - just smart-casual dress. I am afraid that when sitting outdoors we were still bothered by loads of wasps. Luckily I didn’t hear of anyone getting stung during our stay, but the wasps were a real nuisance. Luckily, they did not trouble us on our balcony. They were just a nuisance on the restaurant veranda or while sunbathing. The hotel is also bothered by mozzis, so don’t forget the mozzi repellent and do take care if you sit outside during the evening, but they aren’t as bad as in some countries. If you don’t pack any mozzi repellent or citronella candles, there is a plentiful supply in the hotel shop.
Our bungalow had a mozzi screen, which was really nice. Whenever we were in the room we kept the glass patio doors open with just the mozzi screen across so that we could listen to the birds singing outside and the sound of the waves breaking onto the beach. I don’t think any of the rooms are brilliantly insulated and, because of the marble floors, you often heard people on the floor above scraping their chairs across the floor and you could hear girls in high heels walking across the room. So, if you can, try to ask for a room on the top floor (if you are in the main building) or the third floor (if you are in a bungalow). The information folder in your room, which lists the facilities on offer in the hotel, stated that a packed lunch could be ordered the evening before, if you wanted to go out for the day. However, when we asked for one we were told that they no longer provide this facility. Don’t quite know why they hadn’t removed this entry from their folders then! The hotel has a nice pool with a bar, which, because it is an adult-only hotel, is nice and quiet. However, as others have already reported, the loungers are crammed rather close together. If you wanted to sunbathe but were not bothered about the pool, there was a nice sun deck at the Panorama Bar. This was smaller and less crowded than the main pool area. If you wanted the beach, the hotel had it’s own beach area with loungers and a bar. While we were there the beach was very clean and the water clear. No problems with seaweed. The water was nice for swimming in with a slow shelving beach where you could walk out quite far before it became deep. Being on the west coast of the Corfu, you had the most beautiful sunsets from the hotel. The hotel does arrange tours but we didn’t go on any. We opted to hire a car for 4 days instead, which we arranged through Stefan of Olympus Car Rental (based in the hotel). He was a really nice guy and very helpful. We hired a small Matiz, which was a great, nippy little run-around to explore the island and perfect for their steep, windy roads. Stefan gives you a ‘special deal’ for cash, which suited us fine. Don’t get a big car. Some of the roads on the island are very, very narrow. We did not have a pre-arranged transfer back to the airport at the end of our stay so Stefan offered to take us to the airport fort a few Euros cheaper than the local taxis. On landing on Corfu we took a taxi from the airports main taxi rank at a cost of €35 which took 35 minutes. Stefan charged us €33 for the return journey. We did not try the spa during our stay. The prices of treatments were not particularly cheap. However, we did use the gym, which was small but nearly always empty (except for the day that we had some rain). It officially closed at 7pm but you could stay on later as no one came to lock up for ages. The hotel laid on plenty of entertainment in the evenings but we didn’t go to anything (not our scene really) so I can’t report on what it was like. During our stay, each guest was allowed to take one night’s dinner in the Olive Tree A La Carte Restaurant (next to the pool), which we did and really enjoyed. The food here was really nice and well presented. The meal is free but you do have to pay for any wine, if you don’t have the house wine.
The hotel had a very useful little shop, which sold everything you could need. They also sold stamps and the hotel reception would take any postcards off you for posting if you wished. Amazingly, postcards did get to the UK before our return.
We found that all the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and wanted to make you stay as enjoyable as possible. I would certainly recommend this hotel and felt we had a really good deal

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The hotel is set in a beautuful location, very picturesque with a glorious view of the sunset and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean but basic which was not a problem. There were a lot of older people staying at the hotel and lots of them had said they found it a bit of a struggle because of the location, there were several very steep steps to the beach. There was another route to the village and beach but some of the older people struggled with that also as the two hills were extremely steep, in fact the locals had named one of them "Cardiac Hill"!
The eating and drinking aspect was a different matter. When making the booking with Thomsons Gold, the brochure stated "beers, wines, spirits and cocktails all inclusive, not just local ones but international ones too". I ordered a caipirinha but was told that this was not one of the free cocktails. (Funny that, it was not mentioned in the brochure when we booked in the UK). The only drinks you could get were red, white or rose wine (yuk), they were bad, beer, great if you like it warm and flat, or the cheapest vodka, gin, brandy etc. The mixers were horrendous. Tonic water, lemonade, orange (juice!?!!), it was insulting to be served with them and it takes a lot for us to complain. There are not many places where you have to smuggle your own mixers into! The dining experience was reminiscent of Butlins, I don't know how people can eat and drink continously from breakfast time until midnight, but hey-ho.
After the once a week visit to the "a-la-carte" we did not eat in the hotel again but enjoyed the Greek delight of the local tavernas.
Best liked: beautiful location of hotel and lovely staff.
Least liked: Hi-de-Hi culture of entertainment, eating and drinking.
The first and last time we will go all-inclusive so a valuable lesson learned.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrskayeprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2010

A really lovely hotel. Refurbished rooms, very comfortable, lovely views from the room across the bay. Food absolutely excellent, amazing choice, breakfast dinner and lunch. Waiting and reception staff a credit to the Hotel. We had a hire car and saw several of the other Aquis hotels, all looked superb. Would definately recommend this hotel, and chain. Yes, we were troubled (and stung) by wasp's, a minor irritant in what was a lovely, relaxing holiday. If you go to the Shell museum, tell Napoleon you have seen him on TV, he's a real character and will love you for it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebRomsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
6.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
8.6 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Property: Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing