We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Most Fantastic Memorable Holiday we have ever been on”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Most Fantastic Memorable Holiday we have ever been on”
Reviewed September 10, 2009

I read the reviews before we left and I had high expectations and I certainly was not disappointed. This hotel has to be the most beautifully positioned in Corfu. The sunsets every night will stay with me forever and they were even more poignant as we were the 1st ever couple to renew our Wedding Vows at this hotel on Friday 4th September up on the rooftop terrace. I emailed ahead to the Manager, Anastasios Mexas, to ask if they could do this and he said he would be delighted and leave it all to him. I have to say, Tassos and his animation staff, Mickey and Suzy, did us extremely proud. The night has to be the most memorable in my life to date and it went like a dream. They couldnt do enough for us and treated us like celebs. The memories of that night will stay with us forever and also will the kindness of Tassos, who will be our friend for life. The hotel is well situated for a remote hideaway romantic holiday with a beautiful beach adjacent to the hotel. The perfect place to unwind and fall in love again. The rooms are all new and very tastefully furnished and cleanliness is exceptional. The food was delicious and well varied and Fiona and her staff were always welcoming. The Pool Bar was lovely, seating area very comfortable and stylish and the sunbeds were plentiful and comfortable with plenty of umbrellas too for that much needed shade. I cannot fault this hotel and staff but the people who made it memorable for us will be Tassos, Hotel Manager, Fiona, Restaurant Manager, Aneeta on Reception, Dimitri and Sophia at the Tunnel Bar, the guy in the Sushi Restaurant (sorry cant remember his name) but his Sushi expertise was superb, of course Mickey and Suzy, the Animation duo and our witnesses, the head waiter of The Olive Tree who did a wonderful meal for our enjoyment after the renewal of vows and all the other staff that I never caught their names, they really looked after us and are all a credit to Tassos. A perfect holiday in every way and I would highly recommend it to everyone. So much so, we are booking for next year now. A2B transfers were great too, very efficient and easy. To sum up, the best holiday we have ever been on!!!!! Thank you everyone xx

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    710
    318
    73
    53
See reviews for
151
1,548
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We were at this hotel from 25th Aug to 1st Sept. First time we have done AI and were very impressed with the whole experience. If you read the other reviews, you'll get a pretty accurate impression of the place.

On the plus side:
. excellent friendly staff, hotel runs like a well olied machine;
. good quality refurbishment; location is superb;
. AI food is very varied (although has to follow the buffet pattern);
. spacious -- although the hotel was full, it didn't feel crowded;
. Olive Tree a la carte restaurant very good;
.
Minus points:
. wasps! Our rep said they are all over the island, the manager said it was because of the gardens and nearby woods but if you go into the village or along the beach, there are none about. Whatever the cause, they were annoying until we had a storm which seemed to wash most of them away;
. arrangements if you have flights at an odd times (getting into your room and having a base when you've checked out);
. smoking policy -- inside the hotel, it is no smoking but outside, there are no designated no smoking areas. Sounds picky but we found that sitting at any of the outside bars, the smoke was a real nuisance.

All in all, very enjoyable and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Brilliant location, clean comfortable accomodation, excellent food,very friendly staff.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karengallavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Let me start by saying that if you are going to stay here you are going to have a wonderful time and I am already jealous!! We stayed from Aug 28th - Sept 4th and had a great time, we went with Olympic holidays and were surprisingly picked up by a taxi from the airport, nice start.
Lets start with the good - Rooms, we had a junior suite with sea view, quite small but lovely bathroom, nice tv ( rubbish channels ), dvd, air con and a balcony with a view to die for!
Hotel - the reception staff are good, with one exception, Sandra was absolutely amazing, after day 1 she knew us by name and excelled in customer service, I should know as I deal with customer services and she could work with me anytime. She put herself out for us, and helped with my wifes 40th birthday surprise.
Food - Very nice, the olive tree restaurant was great, and the buffet was also of a very high standard. The sushi bar should be given as a choice on the all inclusive, you are allowed 1 a la carte per week and this is not included as an option, waste.
I dont want to sound like a moaner but there are things that could make this hotel out of this world, and remember you will love this place but...............
Pool/beach - The pool is lovely but is too small and people will always insist on leaving towels on beds to reserve, you are then forced to go to the beach, which is lovely but costs you 7 euros a day. We went to the beach 6 times costing us 42 euros, quite an add on when on all inclusive. The beach belongs to the hotel and I find it amazing that they charge you for using it!!
Bars - The bars are all good, but why stop all inclusive on beach at 1800, what a waste, its empty on an evening and full everywhere else. Why use plastic cups on the rooftop? Dont health and safety me, this is Greece!! The all inclusive choice of drinks should span the whole drinks menu, not just a chosen few drinks, all incusive should mean ALL inclusive.
Arrival - We arrived at 0600 in morning and having been at work all day had a night flight, hasten to add we were tired out, yet we had to find our room and carry our own cases, someone should have been there to do this.
Towels - not available till 10.00, when on a trip you have to keep previous days, not great.
Anyway do not be put off by my moans, this is really aimed at the management so they can make this amazing place the best about.
P.S go to Corfu town, beatiful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DibsterLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thessaloniki
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We had our holiday at the begining of July,for a week long.At our arrival,two excellent receptionists,Anneta and Irene wellcomed and got us to the room.

Our appartment was the best in the whole hotel(number:8204),with the most wonderful view to the sea and St.Gordius.The appartment was very big,incredibly clean and it had every comfort,which fits to an "Aquis Hotel".

The stuff of the hotel was lovely,helpful,always smiling and ready to help us every time we needed their help.

Specially the manager of the hotel,mr.Anastasion Mexas,is the best hotel manager I've ever met,both in Greece and abroad.I was mute,because of his action of holding suitcases of customers and helping them to carry them to the room.None manager in the world would have made this action!

The food had a great variety,exceptional quality,in contrast to other all-inclusive hotels,and different kinds every day.

The soul of the a-la-carte restaurant is Tonia,who has a wonderful smile.The pool-bar is one of the best places in the hotel,with two barmen,Spiros and Michalis,who were spreading joy everywhere.

The view of sunset from the hotel was the most wonderful in Corfu!

The only disadvantage was that there were a lot of seaweeds in the sea,but the hotel is not responsible for that.

I wonder WHY THIS HOTEL IS NOT A 5-STARS-HOTEL.

All from the above advantages are thanks to mr.Mexas,who is very friendly with the stuff of the hotel and respectful.We will surelly come again to "Aquis Hotel" on our holidays!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damosThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel (21st-28th August) for our 1st Anniversary break and had a fabulous week in the sun (aprox 33-36 degrees everyday). The hotel is exactly as depicted on the website, modern and newly renovated with a lovely pool area and a great stretch of beach.

The location of the hotel is stunning with every room having a seaview, and as many other reviewers have stated there is very little to complain about... personally we loved the hotel. Our room was on the highest floor in the main building overlooking the Panorama Bar and had spectacular views and a king size double. (if you like to be quietly in bed before 11pm then it may be worth emailing ahead to ask to be away from the Panorama bar as the music etc occasionally went on until midnight: this wasn't a problem for us but had taken others by suprise) The bathroom was small but functional and had a bath with shower combined, it also had a hairdryer and toiletries.

The staff are wonderful (they reserved a table for us on the terrace on our anniversary night as i'd emailed ahead to let them know, and left a bottle of bubbly and a fruit platter in our room too) they show such attention to detail, always smiling, always happy to help... and more than anything, they love a good chat!

The one thing that stood out for my husband and I above anything else, is the warm and friendly atmosphere of the hotel. It is a very easy place to make new frends! My husband and I go on holiday for a complete break from reality and can be pretty antisocial as we like to spend the little time we have off work in each others company. Early nights, cosy dinners, that kind of thing! This hotel offers that kind of experience up in spades if you want it, however, we found ourselves chatting away to almost everyone. The pool area is very sociable and Suzi and Mikey (animation) do a great job offering up aqua aerobics, volleyball, darts, table tennis etc which you can choose to join in with if you wish. We found that even though the hotel was fully booked we never struggled to get beds around the pool, with the last ones going at around 10am.

On evenings, it gets even more sociable (again... i hasten to add... only if you want it to be). There a choice of three bars, each offering something different. The pool bar offers a serene evening with relaxing music and soft chairs. The lobby bar is the only place outside of the restaurant where you will be served with actual glasses (plastic glasses at other bars for health and safety reasons!) and this offers live entertainment a few times a week, the guitar player is excellent and the view is to die for. Upstairs is the outdoor Panorama Bar where they do a nightly pub quiz and is where the main entertainment' takes place. I use the term 'entertainment' loosley, if you are expecting five star acts you'll be disappointed as the cabaret act is like something you would expect from Hi De Hi. It is all a little bit 1979... having said that, it is great fun and this is where we spent most of our time and we made many friends over stifled laughter up there on the roof. It's all down to personal taste and as long as you don't take yourself too seriously or expect too much (ie. there is a Kareoke night and a Mr Agios Gordios Hotel competition) then you'll love it, if not, the lobby and pool bars will suit you fine... the hotel offers something for everyone and that's what makes it such a special place.

Food wise... i put on 10lbs in 7 days so that says quite a lot in itself! Always plenty of choice, salads, pasta, meat dishes, fish etc which are buffet service in the main restaurant. If i was staying for two weeks i dare say the food would get repetitive, especially if you do as we did and pile a bit of everything on your plate... probably better to go for one main option per night (instead of 8!). The Olive Restaurant was also lovely.
A handy tip is to fill up a Karafe of wine in the restaurant and take it with you once you leave for one of the other bars.. this way you can keep it topped up and avoid the bar queue as 11pm approaches and the AI drinks run out.

We only ventured into the village once on an evening and that was after the 11pm shut off for AI drinks. A group of us headed down to Robyn's Nest where you will find a hilarious fancy dress corner and is well worth a visit.

All in all, this was one of the best holidays we've had. We had a wonderful time and would recommend it to our friends and families in a heart beat, and i dare say we'll be back too!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chickie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cluj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed to this hotel in august 2009, and we had a great vacation.
The hotel is nice and clean .
AMAZING location with beautiful wiews.
The room is small, but clean,also the bathroom.*(our room 4208)
Great food
The beach...not great...2 sunbeds and 1 umbrella 7 euro-day,and a lots of wasps
The pool is to small for this hotel
Safe box in room 3 euro/day
Free internet but not high speed.*(only at 6-8 am)
Animation team....not great.
Our conclusion, this hotel is beautiful,great location,good food but not UAll formula
ex.in the fridge in room we have one single b.water in 7 days,and 1 espresso=2.50 euro
If you want an exellent UALL,go to the Lara Beach in Turkey.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronaCluj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
6.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
8.6 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Property: Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing