We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2009

My stay at the Aquis Agios Gordios Beach hotel was, as always, a gorgeous experience. I am a return guest and happy to see the hotel and its amenities are not just a dream I had, its wonderful reality. Our Bungalow suite was roomy and quiet with a beautiful patio and view. The staff was always kind and curteous. Some of the peole who work there have been there many years and they treat me like a welcomed relative when I arrive/special thanks to Sandra-Fiona-Johna-Tassos-Goshia/Missed you all already. This year there is a General Manager new to the property.... Anastasios. He was extremely helpful to my friend and I-simply excellent. We felt like we were given the V.I.P. treatment everytime we needed something. The beach and the restaurant by the Pool are fantastic. This is a dream vacation spot.....a recurring dream! I am lucky to have traveled Greece many times and this hotel is always my favorie place. You must go!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collmelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,049 - 2,055 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2009

Not a lot to say that has already been said (Thats why we went there, based on these reviews!). This must be one of the best places we have been to in ages in terms of location, class, service and food. However if you are a party animal then its probably not the place foy you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeryBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Wow!! This is a great hotel, and a peaceful place to spend a relaxing week away from the bustle and bustle of everyday life.
Unfortunately we arrived almost a day late thanks to Viking airways that decided to delay our flight by several hours!!! Okay almost 23hours in all. The plane decided to detour half way around the world and then up to Manchester to pick up another 50 passengers. Sadly the plane was delayed again, then broke down and we were stuck there for 3.5 hours before all the passengers moaned themselves to sleep complaining about the whole airline business in compete turmoil.. Jolly ho. Yup we’ll remember that flight for sure. Return flight fab by the way, although passengers still moaning from the flight out there.
Anyway, back to the hotel, cos that’s what we are here for:
You could eat of the floor it was so clean. The staff where wonderful and should be congratulated. The cleaning staff I would say where the best. As I am half Greek I guess that counts for something? Food fantastic. Entertainment caters for most people and was good. The beach was great, and the native’s friendly…now we get to the Germans, OH DEAR!!!!!! They seem to lie in wait around the pool area guarding their little strip of paradise completely oblivious to the other users of the sun beds? Yeh…you guessed it. The beach towel syndrome!! You can almost hear the drums beating. Will they staple their towels to the bed from the year before or take there chances and sit up all night hiding in the bushes. When the sun beds are placed out by the staff in the morning the Germans leap from the bushes like an elite task force with greater prowess than the invading wasps upstairs, and commandeer there rightful place like the true professionals that they are. I don’t know what was worse the wasps or them?. Okay, the wasps I can put up with :o) Hmmm.
Anyway, all in all for £500 for a weeks holiday fully inclusive was pretty good.
I’ll be back!
Ps…Is their any chance someone can stick a towel on a sun bed for me for when I return again next year :o)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memeandmeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for the last week in July, having booked an all incl package through Qwerty travel (a broker) who used You Travel to book our accommodation. We nearly didn't get there as You Travel tried to transfer us to a different hotel 2 days before departure due to an 'operation issue' (presumably overbooking) - offering us a week at Corfu's biggest family resort instead of the adults-only hotel we'd specifically chosen (citing that their Ts & Cs allowed this!!). We protested a lot and our persistence paid off with Qwerty calling to reinstate us to the Aquis Agios 4 hours before we checked in. Quite a stressful start to the holiday and needless to say we would not use You Travel again - but thank you Qwerty for sorting it out in the end.
When we arrived at the hotel we were delighted with the setting and quality of everything, including the views over the sea. Even though we arrived several hours early we were able to have lunch and use all of the facilities before our room was ready at 2pm. We hired a car for the week but we didn't need to as it's not that far from the airport.
Clearly a lot of money has been spent refurbishing the hotel. Everything is new and beautifully designed. The communal areas were always spotless, service was very good (apart from grumpy bar men in the lobby bar - were we supposed to tip?) and the facilities were excellent. We particularly liked the terrace in the restaurant, the pool area and the beach bar. Drinks at all of these were included and drinking cocktails on the beach in the afternoons was great.
Our room was just as expected with a sea view and balcony. I think all of the rooms have a sea view so you shouldn't need to pay extra for this.
We were pleased with the quality and variety of food on offer in the main restaurant. Most options were labeled and there was some traditional Greek food, especially desserts, One thing that my partner wished we'd been advised of about the hotel is that men are expected to wear trousers to dinner and you we be turned away if you turn up at the dining room in shorts. Unfortunately he'd only packed one pair of trousers for traveling as the weather was so hot when we were there (sometimes 40+). Our meal at the a la carte restaurant was also very good and ordering the AI drinks in there was no problem.
There was a lot of seaweed on the beach when we were there, however don't be put of by this. The beach was quiet and beautiful and the sea very warm.
I have to agree with previous reviewers about the wasp problem - there were lots but maybe it's just the time of year.
All in all we enjoyed a very relaxing week of doing little other than swimming, reading and drinking cocktails. We thought the hotel offered excellent value and quality, and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Sprouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I stayed at this gorgeous hotel for one week with my best friend and we had a fantastic holiday. The hotel is really lovely - well decorated etc. It does seem to attract an older clientele due to the adults only policy but we found this great as there were no kids running around screaming and we could really chill out. If you are looking for mad nightlife - do not go here as it is not that kind of place! We had a great time - we are both single girls who have recently turned 30 and wanted a relaxing week in the sun. This is what we got. I think everyone thought we were a bit young to be staying at this hotel but it was great! The weather was fantastic and the location is absolutely stunning - gorgeous sea views and lovely sunsets. We enjoyed the relaxing, the sunbathing and the stunning views so much that we hardly left the hotel for the full week! When we did walk down to the small town on a couple of evenings we found it mainly deserted - apparently since the hotel has gone All inclusive, most guests from the hotel have stopped going into town on an evening and this is really doing alot of damage to local trade as the hotel is the largest in the area. This is a real shame. The hotel entertainment was a bit up in the air the week we were there but we just made our own fun and we seemed to be the entertainment on one or two nights! The staff were all extremely polite and helpful. Rooms were very clean and nicely decorated with a flat screen tv,fridge, safe, etc. We had a room in the main part of the hotel with a balcony and stunning sea view. Gorgeous. The beach bar was not part of the All inclusive package when we were there which was a bit of a shame but since returning from our holiday we've since learned that it has been included in the All inclusive which is really good. The whole hotel is All inclusive - we spoke to a couple of people who had actually only paid for half board but then got there to find that everyone is all inclusive so they got this extra! We found the food plentiful and always something we could enjoy although as with any self service canteen style restaurant there is always room for improvement. It was lovely to be able to sit outside and enjoy a leisurely meal. The A la Carte meal (1 free per week) which was included as part of a stay was disappointing but it was nice to be waited on instead of self-service for that evening. I do not think many people would go back and pay for a 2nd meal at the A la carte restaurant though. The sushi restaurant was empty for the whole week we were there and this seemed a real shame - every day the staff were there setting the tables and every evening there were no diners - all because it is not included in the All inclusive package and seemed quite expensive. This is something that should be looked at. A discount was offered to eat in the restaurant but only a small percentage. We thought it would've been better if you could have had a meal in the sushi restaurant for an extra supplement - maybe 20 euros or so? Maybe this is something the management could address. We organised our own transfers - we got a taxi from outside the airport when we arrived which cost us 35 euros. On our return we booked through the hotel - they do much cheaper taxis at 25 euros - so we would advise that if you do not get transfers included in your hotel - contact the hotel directly before you go and organise a return taxi through them. We only found the jacuzzi towards the end of the week - its upstairs in the gym - but is definately worth a visit and you can sit and admire the sea view from here! The pool area was lovely and we didn't have any problems with getting sunbeds. Mattresses and towels are provided for the sunbeds free of charge. The music by the pool was a bit of a strange mix tho - one minute "Lady in Red" / "love is in the air"...the next traditional greek.....the next big band style music....then chilled out style ibiza tracks! we found it quite endearing though by the end of the week - it all seemed to have been on repeat so may have been a bit much if we'd've been there for two weeks! We met some really lovely people on our holiday and will definately go back in the future. Sandra and the other reception staff were extremely helpful with any queries / problems and all the bar staff were great - especially michaelis & Danny Devito in the lobby bar and all the pleasant bar staff on the pool bar, especially Grzegorz who was so lovely, polite and friendly every time he came round collecting glasses......please let me know if anyone has a photo of him which they could email me!!! All in all a wonderful holiday which we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaygirl022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We've just returned from a week at the Aquis Agios Gordios Beach Hotel and although we had a great holiday, the last day put a bit of a dampner on the week. As our accomodation was a ten minute walk from the main hotel, we decided to check out early and spend our last day by the pool. We checked out at about 10 am and handed our key cards back, then I went to get drink from the downstairs pool bar and was refused and told I would have to pay for it as our all inclusive stops as soon as you check out. I've never heard of this in any of the other ai hotels I've been to before and was franky disgusted by it. Our taxi was not picking us up until 11.30 pm so we had 13 and a half hours of being in the hotel with no food or drinks available (unless we wanted to pay rip off prices).

Up until this happened we had had a great week, its set in a stunning location and the staff there are great and can not do enough for you. There was an underlying feeling that the hotel managment were trying to make money out of you at every possible oppurtunity and what happened on the last day confirmed this. Drinks are free until 11pm and after that it is 4.50 euro's for a pint of draught beer so not cheap. Also the safe in the room was 3 euro's a day, not alot but usually this is included in all inclusive packages. My advice is if you want to have a drink after 11 pm then stock pile a few on your table from about 10 pm onwards, also don't pay there extorcanate prices for drinks after you have checked out, take a walk to the shop outside the hotel and get your drinks from there, thats what we did. If you want to hire a jeep it is 195 euros for 3 days from the hotel or 100 euros for 3 days from the rental place in th village.

So all in all a lovely holiday which was not ruined by the managers greed but something I think any one with a late flight should be aware of.

We met a local at the airport and got chatting to him and he said that as the hotel is now all inclusive it is crippling the shops and bars in the village so try and get down there for a meal or a drink and support them as it is a beautiful little place and it would be a real shame if closed down permanatly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben26-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a relaxing break in July and we were not disappointed. We booked a junior bungalow suite which comprised of a sitting room, bedroom, bathroom and large balcony overlooking the beach and sea. The views from the room were absolutely amazing.

The food on offer was excellent, offering a great variety of dishes and we particularly enjoyed the huge variety of desserts! The restaurant staff were very efficient and the food was always plentiful.

The spa is also a must. As well as the standard steam room and jacuzzi, the massages on offer are an excellent way to relax!

I could go on and on about how great this hotel is but there are one or two things that do need to be addressed. The first is that there is a serious wasp issue at this hotel. They seem to be everywhere and my wife was stung by one when relaxing by the pool! At first we thought it was to do with the climate but when we visited other parts of Corfu, the wasps were no longer an issue.

The second issue was the sun beds by the pool. There are signs everywhere stating that beds should not be reserved using beach towels but the rule is not enforced. If you arrive at the pool after 9 am you have a very slim chance of getting a sun bed. We saw people reserve beds as early as 8 am and not come back to use them until 11 am!

Once these issues are resolved this already excellent hotel could be even better!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,476 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,456 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Romantic Palace Hotel
Romantic Palace Hotel
#4 of 13 in Agios Gordios
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range: $145 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing