We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star location, not 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed for a week late fall, travelled with family. I am 22 and would def. not recommend this location to youngsters. You will be bored. But i was prepared for it and was looking for a totally relaxing break.

This hotel have 4 stars based on its location. There is no question about it, the location is very good. The steps and the bees I am gettin tired of hearing about. Its not that big of a problem. The surroundings are beautiful and its a good place for hiking. You can find a few good restaurants in "town", which is a little cosy street. But thats all you get. Beach, a few restaurants, nature.

Even though I wanted a relaxing holiday, this was unfortunately not enough for me. When you have a all in hotel in a four star hotel, you kinda have some expectations. I am not really that fuzzy about food, but this was more like fast food with some quality. Im sorry, but I am not traveling to greece to eat egg, bacon, fries, pancakes or baked beans. They offer some local dishes, but they were not up to standard. I would recommend half board and eat dinner out.

I have traveled quite a lot and unfortunately this place and hotel is on the bottom of my list. Even though I had a good holiday and put on a good attitude, I knew going home that i would never go back or recommend it to others. Corfu in itself is amazing, but i would stay at the other side of the island. You can get a relaxing time there as well, but also have the option of experiencing more culture and local buzz.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AneJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,204 - 1,210 of 2,433 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel for a fortnight in June this year. The blazing hot weather, beautiful beach view and the grand hotel with great entertainment, local shops and friendly staff made the trip all the better. The only negative was the amount of walking to get down to the beach or down to the village where all the bars and shops are or bus stops, as you are situated on the hillside, you have a lot of steep walking to to, and of course 35+ degree sunshine, that's not the most ideal of situations! However, don't let this put you off as the views over the ocean at sunset are stunning and the views over the village are pretty nice too. I'd definitely visit again. The spa facilities are fab as well, we had the mojito spa experience which included a sugar and mint full body massage as well as hot stones treatment ... Well worth the extra money! We were very disappointed with the a la carte restaurant however, the food quality and for the amount of time waiting was ridiculous, we were given several free drinks by the staff to make up for it, but we were sure to just go to the buffet restaurant for the other days we were there!

Room Tip: Seaview wins as always!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank halobabeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Went to the hotel for a last minute relaxing week in the sun, the hotel is stunning and staff especially in the restaurant was very friendly, it was my birthday and the hotel brought champagne,cake and fruit it made it special, The spa facilities was good , had a relaxing aromatherapy message. The only bad point was the wasps , it really needs sorting, I could count the nests above the restaurant ,I had to cover my drinks all the time, I was stung while lounging next to the pool, it really needs sorting!!

Room Tip: Had sea view, lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Holiday was booked by my parents and my sister and I piggey-backed onto it! Hotel setting is beautiful but warning, it is VERY steep. Between booking and travel (more than 6 months), my Dad's health deteriorated and the road to and from the hotel as well as the route to the beach was a big challenge. They had a room in the hotel which was pretty standard, nothing special. We opted for a bungalow suite as a friend was to join us later during our stay. Ironically ours cost more and yet the basic room was far nicer. It had much more character and soul. The hotel omit to tell you that the suites are not in the main building and that they may involve steep walks up and down the hill. It seems that they are add on's as they just don't "fit" somehow.

Our bathroom was tiny, rusty fittings, no toiletries, just one dispenser in the shower with one liquid intended to be used as shampoo, conditioner and shower gel, worn/threadbare and faded towels, no tissues, the layout meant climbing out of the shower over the toilet and the shower leaked resulting in a risk of slipping. When reception were advised, they told us this was the same in every room! The toilet seat was loose and the whole thing was just downright shoddy frankly.

The living room was sparsely furnished and cold, without any atmosphere at all. My parents' room in the hotel was far nicer than ours! At least it felt like it was part of a hotel and not an "add on" or "afterthought" that the hotel had decided on some time after the main building had been erected! The bedroom was tiny, there was barely any storage space, lighting was awful. We were also disturbed by passing traffic. We really expected a lot better for the supposedly best rooms in the house, especially after the front desk manager assured us how much the hotel valued cleanliness and high standards!!! Sadly they do not deliver.

Beware, even in October, mosquitoes were a big problem. We got bitten and were directed to the on-site gift shop to buy ludicrously expensive mosquito repellent! There were no screens on the windows to prevent insects from coming in so if you left one open, you could be guaranteed that you'd be their dinner later!

Onto the food. One word, poor. It was basic and essentially caters for a market that expects nothing authentically Greek (despite this being a Greek island) and has little expectation. Food was repeated and there was little originality. It was very bland and badly done, with limited variety and standards were low. We had actually expected a lot better given the hotel's star rating. However, it seems that the majority German clientele do not. On the plus side, the salad bar was good and basically kept us going during our week. Vegetarians beware, food is very meat-focused and labeling is off. We found meat in all manner of items labeled to be vegetarian. They even managed to make a hash out of something as simple as pasta with pesto! The restaurant staff were excellent and friendly though.

Staff in the rest of the hotel, especially the front desk, were mixed though. We sometimes found them to be sullen and/or disinterested. On arrival in the early hours we were advised that sandwiches were awaiting us! However, they contained meat. As non-meat eaters, we requested vegetarian ones but were advised to just take the meat out!!!!

We were surprised at charges such as for the hire of beach towels and room safes. Not something we have ever had to pay for on holiday before, so it seemed very cheap on this hotel's part!

Entertainment was awful, bad music, absolutely shockingly poor dancers and tasteless acts without any semblance of talent. We kept away after seeing the calibre!

Avoid the spa, massage was awful, completely not worth it. Save your money and get a massage when you return home. You will need it!

The beach was nice enough but there was no one to help erect umbrellas or move sun loungers around which was a shame as it was hard to do on your own. Lovely sea and the hotel's setting was lovely, seen from the water. In fact, location is this hotel's best selling point, it has wonderful views across the water and clings to the cliff in a very attractive manner.

All in all, we made our own fun and had a good time, but the hotel, facilities and our room/reception staff, let the accommodation down overall. This is nowhere near 4* standard. At best, it' a 3* given what they offer and the facilities/services/offerings available. If you like luxury and expect high standards, this place is not for you. If you want overcooked veg and chips with every meal, this place is right up your street. I would not recommend this to any of my friends or family though!

Room Tip: Not sure there are any! We paid for a bungalow suite but the rooms inside the hotel were both nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nadine1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We visited Agios Gordios about 25 years ago where we stayed in a small apartment looking up to this hotel and promised ourselves that one day we would be able to stay there. That happened last October and unfortunately did'nt live up to our expectations. Our room was on the basement level next to a sewage outlet which at times was not pleasant. The reception staff were very helpful in getting us moved to one of the bungalows further up the hill and did not charge us. The food in the restaurant was slightly disappointing with only one tasteless soup and somewhat repetitive menu but in fairness you needn't go hungry. The staff in all areas were very friendly and helpful. The views and location were excellent as long as you are reasonably fit as there are many stairs and steps. Overall a reasonable holiday but probably we will not return.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kashad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were one of the last 50 guests to stay here before the hotel closed for winter. The village had also closed up too with a few bars and shops open. we knew this hotel would be isolated but it had all the facilities you could ask for. The rooms were great complete with tea and coffee, dvd player and free wifi and the sea view was amazing. The sun didn't hit the hotel until 12 so be prepared for this wait if you are a sun worshipper. The breakfast was everything you could want with delicious bread. The lunch was ok as was dinner personally because it was the end of the season they were running the stock of food down but we never struggled to get something to eat. During the day you could have crepes from the bar and after lunch there were sandwiches and cakes between 3.00pm-5.00pm. We didn't have any treatments in the spa as we felt they were a bit pricey. The gym, the sauna and jacuzzi were all kept to a high standard and free to guests. The hotel is situated on a hill so isn't suitable for people with walking disabilities although its easier to walk into the town from the beach. We would return to this hotel as we did enjoy the peace and quiet and the greek people are lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleyforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I am not sure where I can go to find out the answer but if you are a regular at this hotel, you will know the people in the bars along the beach. We have been back a few times and stayed at the hotel and am told by a friend that the place has been done up and is lovely.

My question is, does anyone know of the guy Ali who has a bar on the beach, the first bar you came to from the hotel? I am told that he died and am trying to find out what happened.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,474 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,454 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Romantic Palace Hotel
Romantic Palace Hotel
#4 of 13 in Agios Gordios
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range: $136 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TravelUp and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing