We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pure relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pure relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a fantastic week of pure relaxation in this lovely hotel.The rooms are very clean and serviced every day, The staff are very friendly and helpful as was our rep Tom. The food was very good and was catered for all requirements. We were going to venture out for a meal at nearby 'Stevens' restaurant on the tuesday as we wanted to try more traditional Greek food but discovered it was Greek night at the hotel so decided to eat in, we were so pleased we did as the food was amazing! Moussaka, Stefaddo etc was fab! It was an added bonus to have such good food. One thing we wish we had done was go all inclusive, we certainly will next time. We normally like to go on the beach but I found it a bit seaweedy for me! we did take a trip out to Pelakas beach for a change but taxi's are quite expensive 25 euros each way! we also wanted to venture out to another beach but that would have been 45 euros each way so left that one. And although we don't normally do pool holidays I must say it was lovely and relaxing lying on one of the many sunbeds looking out to sea and having dips in the pool to cool off and sipping cold beer. And we love children... but it was lovely to stay at an adults only hotel. One thing we found is the location is isolated so I think if you want to venture out you need to hire a car. we will certainly make a return journey to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was 2401 which was perfect as not over looking the terrace bar, more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxine47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    700
    316
    71
    51
See reviews for
148
1,506
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Aquis Aghios Gordios Beach was our first experience of booking a half board holiday. We were looking for a hassle free week away in the sun where we had options of exploring or just chilling out.

The room was adequate, although not particularly well thought out in design (for example, placement of the wardrobe obstructed the door fully opening), but cleaned to a good standard, and the balcony was definitely a plus. The communal areas were done to a higher standard and our first impression of the reception/bar/balcony area was very positive. We visited in May so the hotel was busy but not hectic, and the Tunnel Bar was just getting ready to open. There was a little shop near Reception were you can stock up on random items and stacks. The buffet was a mixed experience. It seemed to be well stocked on the whole, but as a vegetarian I found vegetarian mains to be missing approx half the time during the evenings. Generally this wasn't a significant problem due to the plentiful salads and desserts, and when they did the mains they were very good. Overall the food was good to quite good. The staff were generally quite pleasant, although I had the impression some were new as they had to defer to senior colleagues a couple of times. The beach area was more stone than sand if I remember correctly, but we tended to end up on the terrace where there were a number of deck chairs. Despite their being signs asking residents not to leave towels etc there when not using them it tended to happen, which was a little frustrating but as it was low season, and there were other nooks and crannies we could plop ourselves down in, it wasn't a significant problem.

As you can see on the photos, the hotel is set on a few levels, with the street entrance being at the top. Therefore the street walk into town is somewhat steep, and we often walked along the beach instead. There are a number of tavernas and cafes along the beach and in the town. It isn't a huge town, but I should imagine when all are open during the summer there is enough to mix up your eating/drinking options should you wish to. There is also a public bus that goes across the island to Corfu Town.

Areas for improvement could be the training of some staff (although we also experienced some great staff, especially the ladies in the restaurant), availability of the spa (it was advertised as being open but we couldn't find anybody on the few occasions we popped in), as well as additional vegetarian options. As well as Greek options - the one night they did Greek food it was delicious and it was a shame we didn't see more of it. However we weren't expecting the type of 'Greek experience' we've had when staying in smaller Greek hotels/B&Bs. The kettle in our room was faulty, but we never raised this as a problem so we couldn't comment on whether this was a once off or not.

Overall we were quite happy with our experience and thought what we paid was value for money; it does what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taniwha_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

just returned from here.this place is amazing dont listen to anyones bad reviews because this place is so good and cant wait to go back. food is really good the views are amazing the staff are really helpful. would recommend this hotel everytime,theres pool entertainment every day which is a great laugh

Room Tip: room 5308 is really quiet and has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

My mouth dropped as I looked outside the balcony of my room (1202 main part of hotel) to see a dramatic cliff side drop and stunning blue sea surrounding me. This is the moment i fell in love with this place-If only I could have taken this view home with me :0(

Hotel is decorated nicely and the rooms are equally lovely. If i had to pick at something i would say the bathroom was a bit dark and could have been a tiny bit bigger but really nothing to worry about.
I am glad we did not upgrade to a bungalow as the they are quite far from the hotel.

The hotel has many bars, my favourite was the tunnel bar which was chilled and where you can sit and watch the sea bashing against the rocks underneath you.

Food was varied and nice. I am quite a fussy eater and there was always plenty for me to choose from and the quality was good. They had everything...kebabs, pizza,pasta, mousaka..and an amazing salad bar. We thought we would venture out one evening to see the town and so asked our rep for suggestions. We were suggested a place called Sebastians and lets just say that the hotel food was a million times better. We were actually put off from going into the town for food as it is quite touristy (think restaurants with pictures of the food outside- personal hate of mine). We did infact try out a place on the beach called Thalasa on our last day which was lovely! If you stay in the hotel you will not be bored of the food though.

Entertainment was interesting. The animation team were a little unorganised with the daytime activities.We did have fun though and joined in on kareoke night which was a laugh. Really enjoyed opera night and also joined in with the dancing on greek night.

All in all I would definately recommend this place for a chilled week of sun and if i ever went back to Agios Gordios I would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gabstar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is in the most wonderful setting. All rooms seem to have sea views and the sunsets are stunning. Buffet dinner is plentiful and different every night. Breakfasts too are excellent with everything you could want. Ther is an outside area to the restaurant adn we often ate dinner watching the sun setting, it was lovely.

The hotel management seem to genuinely want you to have the best time. A couple of days in, we had a call to the room from staff asking if there was anything they could do to make our stay better - there wasn't. It really is lovely.

The steps down to the beach bar are wide and flat so easy to negotiate. The beach bar has waves almost lapping at your feet, which I loved. Walk through the bar and you are on the beach, The beach is small but very sweet. Walk along the beach on the boardwalk and you will find taverna after taverna if you do want to eat outside of the hotel. Two minutes later, you find yourself in the village of Agios Gordios with more tavernas, bars and shops.

There is entertainment in the hotel every night and obviously how much you like it depends on your taste. Frankly, I thought the Greek night was dreadful - no disrespect, but audience participation is not my thing. The Tenors on Sunday were stunning and received a standing ovation. Piano man was also really good.

Bar staff were lovely and you can sit on the terrace from the lobby bar and just wonder at the view. There is also a Rooftop bar which during the day has sunbeds and at night beautiful candlelit tables to sit with a cocktail.

On the subject of sunbeds, there were happily no bunfights or people creeping out at dawn to reserve a sunbed. We didn't go seeking beds until @ 11am and always found something somewhere. There are beds round the pool, on the beach or on the rooftop and we always found a space somewhere.

There are plenty of trips you can do if you want to. We did the Blue Lagoon all day boat trip, which was excellent. Theo makes himself known personally and is fun and a real character! We sailed to mainlaind Greece and had a stroll round the village of Sivota after a BBQ lunch on board the boat and it was a beautiful day.

We went half board - I wouldn't really recommend upgrading to all inclusive, as the drinks at the hotel are very reasonable. E1.50 for a beer, E1.50 for a glass of white and E1.80 for a glass of red wine. I think the bottles of wine were only @ E6.50. All of the cocktails I sampled were E4.50 and you could certainly taste the alcohol ;-)

All in all, we had a lovely, relaxing week in a setting to die for. I really didn't want to leave it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonTripsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just returned from a week at agios gordios beach hotel. Had a great time. Lovely hotel in a great location. Sure there are steps down to the beach but these are not too difficult and well worth the effort. Besides it is good exercise after the fantastic food served in the hotel. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heavensvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

When we first arrived at the hotel the staff were very friendly although abit hard to understand. Our room was clean but had stains on the sheets which I complained about an they changed them straight away. The hotel, bars, pool are and beach were gorgeous, although we were quite disappointed the beach in front of the beach bar is no longer there, though the beach to the right of the beach bar is fab. The drink measures as in vodka to coke are mad! 3/4 vodka to 1/4 coke!! The pool was lovely although it was freezing!! And the sun loungers, although it says you are not allowed to reserve them, people do, so if you aren't down by the pool by 11ish you don't get anywhere to sit. I suggest you take a walk down to the little town just down the hill from the hotel as it had lots of places for gifts to take home. We spent most of our days on the beach snorkelling which was amazing! There wasn't much to do during the day, except beach or pool or spa, so if your looking for somewhere to go which offers lots of trips this isn't the place for you, although for a relaxing holiday of doing nothing it's perfect. We had a full body massage in the hotel spa which was lovely! As we were all inclusive we got a free meal in one of their restaurants, but the food was vile, so I wish we would have just ate the buffet that night as usual. The buffet food was brill! Everything you could want for breakfast lunch and tea, I am a fussy eater and was worried I wouldn't like anything but there was always something I liked. We didn't see any of the entertainment in the evening in the lobby as we spent all of our nights having drinks on the roof top bar! It was so nice and was our favourite place, the bar man Fotis who bar tends that bar was fab! We really took to him, he was very funny, remembered what we drank, let us make up our own cocktails and was very chatty he was brilliant! All in all for our first holiday away as a couple this was a lovely place to go! We would stay here again if we were to go to Corfu. I loved my time there and was sad to come home! 9/10!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbiejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
7.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
8.6 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Property: Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing