We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent position” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We went to this hotel for a 3rd time on the 13th May 2013 for 1 week the 1st time we went was 27 years ago for our Honeymoon and then again 2 years ago, i have to say it is still wonderful and would gladly go back for a 4th visit. The bar staff are very nice they have time to talk to you and were all very pleasant, the rooms were clean and the view from our balcony was wonderful, the food is good but the same some nights, so we did eat out a couple of times. We did have a problem with the air conditioning it was blowing hot air round not cold so after a few visit from the maintenance guy and then the Manager came to see what the problem was eventually she offered us a different room. We would recommend this hotel its location is fab fantastic sunsets and very peaceful not suitable for people with walking difficulties as the village is downhill and there are in total in the hotel and down to the beach 156 steps as my husband decided to count one day, the lift to pool is ok but the one to our room was not good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDD07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    700
    316
    71
    51
See reviews for
148
1,506
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a while back on an all inclusive basis.The hotel is lovely and clean and enjoys spectacular views of the mountains .beach and sea.
The hotel is adult only so its lovely and peaceful,the staff on reception are very friendly.The food was also very good maybe a little lacking in snacks but main meals were of a very good quality.Our room was very nice ,very roomy with a very comfortable huge bed and a brand new bathroom.The only problem you may have with this hotel is that it is very hilly so maybe not so good for those with mobility issues.I believe it is no longer an all inclusive and to be honest is probably better as a half board hotel as the all inclusive drinks package wasn't brilliant if like me you like your cocktails ,very few cocktails were included in it.
A stunning location,perfect for a peaceful relaxing week away.The hotel does have quite a few German guests so you can feel one of very few English but that wasn't a problem for us.
I wouldnt hesitate to return to this hotel and would definatley recommend it.Entertainment is very low key and not every evening but a lovely relaxing stay.

Room Tip: we were upgraded to a bungalow but having one does mean extra walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOLIPOP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on 10th may 2013 after a long coach journey from the airport. We began to wonder where we were going as the roads to the hotel were very steep and not very appealing. Then all of a sudden WOW, we saw the beach and the hotel and it was all worth it. Check in very smooth, only one of the two rooms we had booked were ready but that wasn't a problem as the other room was ready in around an our. Staff on reception were very helpful as was all the staff in the hotel. I am delighted to say no one booked sun beds early in the morning and we were able to sit at the pool whatever time of day we came down. Food was average. Not the best we have had but not the worst. There was always something we could eat. The best meal of the day was breakfast which was always excellent. The hotel does have a lot of stairs but it wasn't as bad as I had anticipated and kept us fit. The steps to the beach were fine as they are not too steep and we stopped halfway up and enjoyed the view. All in all we had a very enjoyable holiday and would recommend anyone to go.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is our 3rd holiday at this hotel since September 2011 (and we have booked to go again in October this year) and it has become a home from home and we can't wait to return. The staff are all so welcoming and you feel they really want you to love the place and enjoy your holiday. The village is small but has everything we need. It is only a short walk along the beach or down the quiet road from the front of the hotel. We have previously been in September until this year when we went early in the season (10th - 17th May) - the weather was not quite wall to wall sunshine as had been in September but it was still lovely and warm - just slightly cooler in the evenings. The major difference was the beach - there had been high winds and the tide was very high (splashing right up against the Tunell Bar bringing lots of sea weed with it!) - in September there was a fairly large sandy beach in front of the beach bar so we will be interested to see if this is back in October! The beach to the right had also become very narrow so we tended to sit a bit further along the beach this time. This did not spoil our holiday though and we have come home relaxed and tanned as usual. Everything else is great - I wont repeat everything from our two previous reviews but everything is as it was in those and we hope everything stays the same - please dont change a thing we love this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cherrymc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDeimezi, Director of Operations at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments!!! we are delighted that your 3rd stay with us was such a joy again. Aquis Agios Gordios Beach team work very hard to achieve their target of providing all our guests memorable holiday experiences. It gives us great pleasure to tell you that we also can’t wait to have you back!! .Until then, kindly accept our warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is the third time we have had the pleasure of staying at this lovely location over a period of 10 years. We arrived on their first day of opening this year, The staff were most welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms had been upgraded since our last stay about five years ago, new furniture fixtures fittings etc. This time we had an all inclusive deal which was well worth it. The food was typical mediterranean with plenty of variety and the drinks in the deal were all good local stuff and plenty of choice
This hotel is at a fabulous location with a beautiful view along the beach with fantastic sunsets over the sea. The place is peaceful and a wonderful place to wind down and relax. We have only ever stayed here during May or September so can't really comment on how busy it is in high summer.
The village itself is a good downhill walk but a long slog uphill so people with walking difficulties should avoid as there are also a lot of stairs at the hotel and down to the beach.
The staff are very friendly and helpful;
an all round thoroughly enjoyable and comfortable holiday, where you can relax and enjoy your stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank champs1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked last minute with Thomson flying from Birmingham. We trusted the previous reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The food was very good, the staff were pleasant and helpful, the room was clean and the balcony view was lovely. It was too noisy for us in the evenings but we coped, the entertainment was not to our taste, the daily activities were non existent. Beach was ok by the hotel, TOP TIP , beyond the black rock café the beach was deserted (May 2013). The snorkeling was good but be warned the sea was too rough on a few of the days and dead calm on the others so you need a bit of luck. I am available for questions just message me.

Room Tip: For a peaceful night stay away from the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seanpmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

After booking this hotel, I was in some trepidation having read some rather dubious reviews, but all my doubts were unfounded. We had a lovely 11 days of total relaxation. Our room was very comfortable and the view from the balcony was amazing. We spent each day walking in the morning and then relaxing in the afternoon. The Pool Bar was a wonderful spot to anticipate lunch after our walking exercise and the Beach Bar became our place of total relaxation, as the waves crashed up against the rocks below... a pure piece of heaven.
The food was EXCELLENT and there was always a great choice. As a person with a nut allergy, I was delighted that there were so many desserts from which I could safely choose (NOT my experience from previous hotels!) There was always plenty of room and we never had to wait to get a table. The staff were friendly and efficient. (Thank goodness, we did so much walking and climbing stairs; it helped to keep the weight down!)
We enjoyed our evenings either sitting out on the terrace watching the amazing sunsets, or in the Lobby bar, enjoying the entertainment.
Going so early on in the season, we were aware that not everything would be available but were pleased to enjoy some good entertainment and by the time we left, the hotel was gearing up for the full season. We didn't feel we had missed out, though, having purposely chosen very early season for our break!
The staff were always friendly and helpful but not intrusive and very approachable. We will DEFINITELY be returning to this hotel for another "chill out" in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Katka_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
6.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
8.6 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Property: Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing