We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Nearby Hotels
Marina Apartments(Agios Gordios)(Great Value!)
$60
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sebastian's Family Taverna & Accommodation(Agios Gordios)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pink Palace(Agios Gordios)
$62
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ammos Bay(Agios Gordios)(Great Value!)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Romantic Palace Hotel(Agios Gordios)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Pelagos Apartments(Agios Gordios)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stevens on the Hill(Agios Gordios)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Lido Sofia Apartments(Agios Gordios)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rolandos Apartments(Agios Gordios)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,465)
Filter reviews
2,465 results
Traveler rating
1,160
806
358
81
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,160
806
358
81
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach bartunnel barlemon treeperla restaurantcorfu townmain restaurantla grottaplunge poolroof terracelocal villagebuffet restaurantsea viewevening entertainmentrelaxing holidaythomson repagios gordios beach hotelgolf buggies
Filter
Updating list...
1,391 - 1,396 of 2,465 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel on 10 May. For us it was a late booking only booked 2 weeks prior - half board for £270 each with Thomsons. I think for that we got value for money but Thomsons original price was £467 each and if I had paid that I would have been seriously disappointed. All in all it felt like the hotel was not ready for the guests yet the hotel was very very busy. The beach bar was still under construction and a very flimsy wooden walkway had been erected so that guests could get to the next beach as the original one had been washed away. It led to an adequate beach for sunbathing and had about 40 sunbeds on it - this will do I thought - the sunbeds were really dirty and there was a guy coming round with a brush and seawater giving them a bit of a clean. I can cope with that not a problem - this was where I was going to spend most of my days until the sea came up and washed this beach away!!!! I went down there with all my stuff and all the beds had been washed up and were all over the place and the sea grass had been washed up and was stuck to all the beds. I found one I could use fully expecting someone from the hotel to come and clear things up but they never did it was like that for 5 days and was still the same on the day we left. Real shame.
Food was good but could have been a lot hotter. The selection was good as most nights I was spoiled for choice - oh and the cakes omg unfortunately they were delicious!!!!
We never stayed for the entertainment - preferred to have an ice cold Mythos on our balcony and watch the spectacular sun go down. We got our Mythos from the supermarket in the village - 3.80 euros for 4 x 500ml cans - put them in the fridge and crack one open when you return from a hot day out - sit on your private balcony - bliss.
If the hotel had been fully functional (beach and entertainment) I think the only criticism would be that it is a bit shabby in places - nowhere near a 4 star standard in UK. With regards to all the steps and steep hills there are lots of them but a lady I spoke to was walking up the steps from the beach with a walking stick and said she had recently had a knee replacement - another elderly gentleman I saw preferred to go backwards down the steps - what I am trying to say is that it is do-able even if you are elderly and to be honest it is good exercise when you have been eating all those gorgeous cakes at dinner!! My 83 year old mother would be able to do it easily.
Clean room - nice clean towels every day - kettle with refills of coffee tea milk and sugar every day - TV and DVD (hotel had no dvd;s not been delivered yet) - air conditioning which was free - great hairdryer - beach towels (10 euros deposit) these were all nice touches and helped keep the weight of the luggage down!!
Had a trip to Corfu Town on the limited bus timetable!! Only 2 buses a day increasing to 3 later in the week - or so it was rumoured lol - it was great in Corfu Town there are loads and loads of shops (not my thing) but the architecture is Venetian and very pretty reminded me of Rome. Two fortresses to explore - 3 euros to get in one and 4 in the other. Some fab views and took loads of photos there. Got the bus at 9-15 and returned on the 2-30 bus. Cost 2.20 each way and was well worth it.
The weather during the time we were there was fabulous - had a little tiny bit of rain on one day and a great thunder and lightning storm one night - rest of time great. Loads of sunbeds and the hotel was very busy - I don't know if it was full but there were always beds available.
Would I go back - yes probably if there was a good deal on but I definitely would not pay the going price as I really feel it is over priced. Perhaps if you like to be entertained at night it is for you and of course that will be included in the price but it's not my thing - bingo every night at 8.30 erm no thanks!!
I love Corfu it is very green and luscious and the people are really friendly.but then I love all the Greek islands.
All in all it was an enjoyable holiday and as I said previously was happy with what we paid for what we got.

Room Tip: we were on 1st floor and the view was great - lots of reviews say get a room higher up - this would help only because you wouldn't keep having to get the lift - I think the views are great from all floors
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jjenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDeimezi, Director of Operations at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding among others, the cleanness of the rooms, the spectacular views and of course the taste of our desserts!!

It is true that just prior to your arrival date mentioned there were some heavy winds that made the beach area untidy but we made every effort to bring this in normal condition again, you experienced yourself that this has happened also during your stay, it is evident that nature is stronger that we think sometimes.

Regarding your star rating feedback, it is true that the star categories in each country defer, and certainly many guest have different experiences from various hotels ie different rating in UK than in Mediterranean at different rate levels. Surely we cannot compare 4* island holiday resort hotels with city hotels; Value for money as you mention is of great importance to us.

Thank you again for all your remarks, we do appreciate your feedback, as Aquis hotels & Resorts continually trying hard to achieve the highest standards of hotel services and facilities.
We hope you choose Aquis Agios Gordios or any other Aquis property during your next stay at any of our destinations. With our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just got back from Agios Gordios after a fab week of rest and recoup. The hotel is great with stunning views and sunsets. Dispite it being very early in the season, the weather was lovely all day but a little chilly in the evenings. Our room was very clean and spacios and kept to a high standard with telly, dvd player and air con. Only downside was they seemed to be having some problems with heating enough water for everyone to have a nice warm shower before dinner. We did complain and it was resolved the next day. The staff are so friendly but this was very typical of the Greeks anyway. Food was good and there was a nice choice although it got a bit samey after a few days. Pool area was stunning and a very relaxing area to be, with a nice bar and sunbed area. Unfortunatley, they had the beach destroyed by a storm over winter so we had to walk further along the beach and use other bars sun beds. They have rebuilt the beach tunnel bar and the clean up is on going it seemed, but it wasnt enough to take the shine off the holiday. The hotel is quite a way up the cliffs so people with walking difficulties could struggle to get out and about but providing you are reasonably fit, you should come back fitter.

Room Tip: Most rooms are sea view but if you like an early night, request a room not over the pool bar where music can be played till quite late.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bizzylizzy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDeimezi, Director of Operations at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate our guests’ feedback, which allows us to evaluate each experience so we may pursue every effort to exceed our guests’ expectations. We are glad to hear that you had a fabulous week in Aquis Agios Gordios!!

Following your alert during your stay, we inspected each room for water temperature and any deviation from perfect water control had been immediately rectified. Thank you for bringing this to our attention straight away, we appreciate when guests are giving us the opportunity to solve any issue during the actual stay.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in Aquis Agios Gordios Beach or any other Aquis Hotels and Resorts holiday destinations! We will keep the sun shine for you! Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel has amazing veiws and stunning setting. It was just not ready for paying guests,arrived 3 may lunchtime,lovely room, just no hot water, saturday morning hot water,great,come evening no hot water again, no flushing loo, all this was reported again,sunday still no hot water.(felt sorry for the plumber) The manager told us he would put us into the bungalows, great we thought, untill we had thesteep hill to climb. Very nice rooms,guess what, still no hot water,we boiled kettles of water, to wash and shave.This was fixed evening time, we did have however to wait for our luggage to arrive another half day wasted. No entertainment day or night for first 3 days,no roof top bar open,no beach bar open,lots of steps to get a drink.This would be a great hotel and location if it was managed properly.Luckily for us the weather was lovely,certainly not a 4star at present.

Room Tip: ask for top floor,the views are stunning.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDeimezi, Director of Operations at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your holiday and we are really happy to read that you enjoyed the view, the weather and of course your room. However, we are of course disappointed as we were not able to offer you a complete uncomplicated holiday. We would like to express our deepest apologies for the shortage of hot water in certain times during the start of your holiday; there was an issue with many guests taking at pick times hot shower and/or bath – due to the early season in greater temperatures than the usual- so we needed to resynchronize our hot water supply. This has been reported and as you witnessed has been addressed.

Regarding the different department you mention, there are all gradually starting the operation according to weather permitting factors – specially the roof relaxing bar and beach bar- , the weather as you mention was great and within 3 days all departments were in full operation.

We consider all of our guests' comments really helpful, and we always monitoring so to improve our services. We would be delighted to welcome you again in one of Aquis hotels for your next holidays. With best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked this through Thomson for £400 each, 1 week, half board (it's only All Inc now).
For the price, we couldn't really complain. It's perched on a hill so the views are great, but if you have difficulty walking, bad knees etc...then this isn't for you, unless you have no plan to leave the hotel. The rooms (we had a bungalow separated from the main hotel) which has a living room area as well as the bedroom, decor is modern, shower great, tv, dvd, air con, tea/coffee, plenty of coat hangers! Most have a sea view, as do the rooms in the hotel. Overall very good quality for the price, and the staff couldn't be more helpful. So what was old school...well the evening entertainment...bingo, tenors, songs from the movies....and the food, we usually go B&B but fancied a cheap week. I think it was more for people of a certain age, and the food - (not referring to breakfast which was great) was (probably because we were in Greece) a bit weird....chips, cheese pie, pasta, salad, soups, potato croquettes, chicken in a sauce or pork in a sauce (not the best cuts) doesn't sound weird...but because you help yourself in canteen style it was just a mixture of average food. We ate out a few nights instead....it was definitely edible and hygienic but felt very 70's. Also, when you do down the steps from the pool, through the tunnel bar onto the hotel beach.....keep walking another 5 minutes and for the price of a couple of coffees and a sandwich, you can have a nicer part of the beach under an umbrella (or coconut) and 2 beds..they are free for customers of the restaurants...also good facilities for toilets etc inside the restaurants, no seaweed either..

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking up and down a hill a few times a day (its not that bad, 5 mins each way) then try and book a bungalow room, great views, balconies to watch the sun set..feels more private.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldwide002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDeimezi, Director of Operations at Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your review, feedback for us means a lot and we mostly welcome it always. Your review’s title certainly made us reading fast, line by line your writings so to find the issue you wanted to share with Tripadvisor readers and of course us. When I reached “we usually go B&B” the issue about “bit old school..” got immediately a reply. I have been fortunate enough to discuss with guests while on holidays at an Aquis property for the different experience they have while staying at an all inclusive hotel rather than full service Bed and Breakfast and we have reached the conclusion that the experience is indeed very different. For that reason, in Aquis Hotels and Resorts, despite offering buffet meals, we all work towards creating a high quality all inclusive experience to offer guests but this again cannot be compared. We additionally offer the option of half board for guests that like to have a control but also enjoy dinning out often.

We thank you once again for your time to review Aquis Agios Gordios Beach hotel and we are happy that you found our staff helpful and you liked the view, the room decor and amenities. Should you decide for a future all inclusive holiday again, we would be very happy to welcome you at an Aquis Hotels & Resorts property! kindly accept our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went to Agios Gordios 16 years ago and vowed we would return one day after a unforgettable holiday. We have just returned from our week's holiday there and the place is just as wonderful as ever. Wonderful views from the bedroom balcony, first rate bedrooms, wonderful friendly staff who can't do enough for you. We booked through Thomsons and the Rep was very informative and helpful in advising us on what trips to take. Overall the holiday was a dream come true. Can't wait to go back again. The sea was marvellous and the beach was fantastic and you only had to wander down the beach to get to the little village of agios gordios where there are lovely tavernos and shops to suit all ages. Would recommend this hotel and location to adults without children as it is so peaceful.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is high up as the views are wonderful but the views are good from all rooms as they all face the sea and have balconies.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews