We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4* Platinum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not 4* Platinum”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Corfu was fantastic with beautiful views but the hotel could have been better. Having stayed in a number of Platinum 4 * hotels before, I could not see anything about this hotel that was better than an avetage 3* hotel.
Bugalow-We stayed in a bungalow in Block 9 which was lovely but we would not recommend it. It was a long, up hill walk which was not easy in the hot sun. As suggested by a fellow reviewer we did not check the location of the bungalows with the hotel before booking as the website clearly stated 'Bungalow suites are in the hotel gardens' which you would not expect to be so far away. Also we booked a bungalow with a bath but what we got could not be called a bath more a shower seat (I'm only 5 ft but had to curl up to fit in and my husband could not use it at all).
Restaurant- The restaurant always seemed under staffed and the staff who were there seemed stressed and over worked. The restaurant was more of a canteen than a restaurant. You certainly could not have a nice relaxing meal. I know this was AI but other hotels are able to have relaxing all inclusive restaurants. Yes there was usually a good choice of food but this food was not always of good quality.
Staff- During our stay some staff were lovely, however others were rude, miserable and abrupt. On a number of occasions staff had arguments amongest themselves in the restaurant and the way the older staff spoke to the younger staff was terrible. Most staff (including reception staff) need training in customer service.
Animation team- The antimation staff were very enthusiastic and friendly. Although night-time entertainment was poor.
In responds to: "I wonder who the people are who have given negative reviews,...... They are people who think they know high standards and I wonder where and what they live in. They are probably the people who come on holiday and click their fingers to the staff." I am certainly not a person who clicks my fingers to the staff but I am a person who feels that places should be made aware of how they could improve their service and that people should be able to share their views without being abused by fellow reviewers!
Having read very positive reviews by people staying in September I wonder whether the hotel failed to cope with the number of people staying during the height of the season.
I have contacted the hotel direct with an emailed review but have not recieved a reply!
Dont get me wrong we had a lovely holiday in an ok hotel but it is not what it is sold as or what it could be.

Room Tip: Although the bunglows are lovely I would not recommend staying in one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    710
    318
    73
    53
See reviews for
151
1,547
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed 10 days in mid september, and we absolutely loved it! Obviously if you want to be fussy about any hotel, you can find negative things, so I wouldn't say it is perfect, but a very good standard! Great views, good variety food, clean rooms, fantastic beach, and WHAT A SUPERB ANIMATION TEAM!!!! The guys Mickey and Ela were so funny, friendly and helpful!! They are making sure that you are having a great time, without pushing you in case you would not want to take part in the entertainment!
Them two really made our great holiday extraordinary, filled with lough, games, long chats, sporting events etc.
Thank you guys, you are amazing, and we will be back next year because of you!! :)). Gergo&Timi

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GergoandTimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel does appear to have been receiving some unfair criticism. Although there are some improvements that are needed, the food is excellent, the views are impressive and most of the staff are friendly.

When you arrive at the hotel, you appear to come in at the rear of the hotel which means it is not particularly impressive. However as the hotel is built into a cliff, the impressive part is round the other side with amazing sea views and sunsets from almost everywhere. The rooms are not huge but were clean and reasonably well presented. Unfortunately the extra pillows in our wardrobe had not had their cases changed. However this was quickly and apologetically resolved. There is a fridge (free) LCD TV, effective aircon and a room safe, which like most other European beach hotels we have stayed in, has a daily charge. Although our towels were changed daily, the bath mat wasn't - we didn't complain and simply used a towel instead. The rooms were cleaned everyday and we didn't have any problems with hot water - the plumbing was however typically Greek.

I really can’t understand why so many people complain about the food and ate in the hotel every night. Maybe they expect restaurant style service or simply burger and chips. We have travelled to a lot of 4* European beach hotels and almost all of these provide buffet meals. The breakfast and evening meal at this hotel are as good as the best we have previously received. The food is well presented, fresh, hot and with plenty of choice. The restaurant itself is quite modern and they do well to eliminate the canteen feel that some other hotel buffet restaurants can have. The waitresses in the evening are very attentive and friendly.

As others have said some of the public areas could do with redecoration and the drinks are not very good. However at only 1.9 euros for a very large glass of wine you really can’t complain.

The resort itself is small but has plenty of restaurants and supermarkets. Being half board we aimed to eat in a different restaurant each day. Most appeared to be family run, were very friendly and (unlike our experiences of Italy and Spain) all appeared to genuinely appreciate your custom. Zefyros, Theodores and The Ark were the best. Sebastian’s, Steven’s, Sea Breeze and Sabbia were also excellent. Thallassa was good but although the chicken was a little overcooked. Alexis’s was also good but was [inexplicably] more expensive than others with an added [cheeky] charge for bread and butter.

Madisson Garden is the trendiest place in town for a drink. Although more expensive than some others, the friendly service, modern design, complimentary water and probably the smartest toilets on the island make it worth a visit or two.

Like the rest of the island, the resort is very hilly with some very steep hills meaning the hotel is built into a cliff. The payoff for this of course is that the views from anywhere in the hotel and sunsets are amazing (and you get a good cardio workout). There are a lot of wasps and mosquitos all over the resort. A good repellent sorts the mozzies out and provided you don’t accidently stand on one, leave food and drinks lying around for too long or get over excited in their presence the wasps generally move on. However it would be unfair to mark the hotel down for any of these.

Overall this is a very good hotel and does not deserve some of the bad reviews. We had a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday but would never go all inclusive. We like to enjoy the local hospitality and maybe thats what makes the difference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McJameos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Came home 4 days ago from the Aquis Agios Gordios Beach and had a lovely relaxing week in the sun. The staff were very friendly, happy and helpfull. The hotel was very clean, our room was spotless! The food was very good and the service was excellent, the staff were very efficient even at the really busy times. Yes there were wasps, but cover your drinks and they won't bother you. The beach was lovely, the sea quite warm and the snorkelling was fun. The views and sunsets are wonderful.
When you book in at reception you will be told about the safe and towels. You have to rent the safe at 3 euros a night, a porter will come to the room and set it up with you. There is a 10 euro deposit to be paid for each beach towel and you will be given a card, you take this card down to the pool bar and towels are collected from there, we had no problems with there being no towels. We arrived around 2pm and were all unpacked and relaxing by the pool by 3pm.
It is easy to get around the island using the public transport, the green bus to Corfu Town is a short walk from the hotel, info and timetable are available form reception, 4.40 euros per person will get you a return ticket. (From Corfu Town buses run to many areas around the island)
This is not the best hotel for people with mobility problems, there are stairs and slopes to be negotiated, but the majority of holiday makers during our stay did not appear to be having too many problems getting around the resort.

Room Tip: The bungelows are a walk from the resort facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was our third visit in a row to this hotel and our honeymoon that's how high our confidence in the place was, we weren't disappointed. Friendly helpful staff, the general cleanliness in all areas of the hotel, the quality and variety of the food which was excellent along with the choice of areas to spend your day pool bar, beach bar roof terrace etc
As the hotel is set into cliff side this is a very vertical hotel there are lifts inside the main buildings but be aware there are a lot of steps from the pool area to the beach these are quite shallow though and not too difficult to navigate. The only area that could be improved is the evening entertainment in the lobby bar, there are the occasional live acts but not much before or after, they need a resident DJ to cater to those who may have eaten earlier (before 9.30) and turn the lights down a little as all of them are usually left on which makes the room too bright and not very cosy! These are minor quibbles however and we will be returning next year!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Back yesterday after a week here. This is the third Aquis hotel we have tried and it rates second to the Capo Di Corfu which is a much longer transfer time - Agios Gordios is only 40 minutes - but our only difficulty with the Capo was the noisy entertainment and the children. This hotel is adults only - great! We knew the island was hilly and that this hotel was built at the top of a cliff, but those with walking difficulties need to be aware that not only are there about 90 steps down to the lovely sandy beach (with all inclusive beach bar with comfortable settees in the sun) but that there are no ramps for wheelchairs within the hotel and lots of steps making some areas virtually inaccessible - like the pool even! I struggle a bit having ruptured a cruciate ligament recently, but the steps to the beach were OK if I took my time as they were wide and shallow. The pool was freezing due to recent bad weather but the sea was lovely and warm so it was Hobson's choice really. I did hear people complaining about the distance of the bungalows to the main facilities of the hotel, but why don't they email the hotel in advance (and check it out thoroughly on Tripadvisor!) and ask for an appropriate room like we did. The access drive to the main entrance was VERY steep and I could only get up it walking backwards because of my knee. I believe I could have got a golf trolley type lift to the top of the path, but then it was a 10 minute walk to the bus stop and I couldn't have walked back, so we didn't bother and hired a car and did our non local sightseeing in one day. You could easily walk along the beach to the nearby village if you wanted to, but there wasn't much there to make it worthwhile - pleasant 30 minute stroll though - provided you accept the 90 odd steps back up to the hotel afterwards! The views are absolutely stunning from virtually anywhere in the hotel. The sunsets from the roof bar/jacuzzi terrace were gorgeous. And there was a lot of moaning about the number of wasps - and there were a hell of a lot of them (no mosquitoes while we were there and very few flies). We just ignored the wasps and they left us alone. Those that got stung were 'shriekers' and 'flappers'. Didn't see any wasps inside the hotel, but they did home in on any drinks and food if you left them lying around. The trick is to drink/eat it fairly swiftly and then bin the containers.

The food here is really good. I take on board the complaints that the all inclusive buffet style restaurant system does not deliver piping hot food, but at every meal you could have meat/fish/eggs cooked in front of you and put on a warmed plate if you didn't fancy the ready prepared dishes in the heated buffet. The range of choice was astounding and you would have to be an INCREDIBLY fussy eater to find fault. Gorgeous fresh baked breads. The vegetables were cooked beautifully and were not mushy or from a tin. The desert table was positively obscene and there was lots of fresh fruit and salad. I would have liked soup at lunchtime as well as dinner as quite often that is all I had room for! As if breakfast, lunch and dinner were not enough, cakes, ice cream and savoury snacks/sandwiches were available from the pool bar in between! There is a coffee/tea making facility in each room too. The local spirits used for drinks did leave a lot to be desired but when pointed out to the barman he just whacked a triple measure in - job done! Local beer is fine and the wine served with meals was very good too - no matter what colour you prefer. All inc drinks finish at 11pm which is a bit earlier than usual, but didn't much bother us. Be aware though if it would bother you. Bars stay open, but charge.
The rooms in the main hotel were fine - spacious and comfortable, lots of wardrobe/drawer space, flat screen TV and DVD player, firm mattress which we like, very quiet and efficient air con, and a perfectly adequate and modern bathroom. And rooms were kept very clean too.

The only problems we can report were as follows - but were enough to stop me giving it 5 stars:

The beach towels provided were a disgrace - worn out, torn, full of holes - the room towels were pretty 'tired' too, but all perfectly clean.
The public area toilets were often horrible - largely due to the 'paper in the bin rather than flush it' system. If this is the case then the hotel really must ensure that the loos are cleaned and bins emptied every hour. This is a big hotel and with all the steps people are not going back to their room to use the loo. There's a lot of people using them all the time, day and night. It doesn't take 5 minutes to throw a mop over the floor, empty the bins and swish the handbasins around every hour. The gents loo which serves the entertainment lounge in the evenings - and therefore gets a high footfall - absolutely reeked. No deodorisers used in the 'trough' as they are in the UK! I did mention these loo problems to Reception as I have seen messages here from hotel management saying that they wished they had been told at the time.
We did notice on many occasions when in the lounge by Reception that only one member of staff was on the desk most of the time even when 20-30 people were trying to check in! It took ages and people were also then asked to carry their own luggage and find their rooms. Only once did we see a porter.
The hot water in the rooms ran out at about 6.30pm - almost certainly due to the number of simultaneous pre-dinner showers as it was fine the rest of the time. So take a tip and have a shower as soon as you get off the beach rather than leave it til later!
Apart from Sunday evenings when the entertainment was a tribute group called El Divo - brilliant singers doing the popular operatic stuff we can all hum along to and other ballady stuff - the evening entertainment was pretty dull. A pianist banging out samey boring stuff on two nights out of 7, the ever popular Greek dancers (everyone else loved it!), a film night on the roof which we didn't bother with and a music quiz. Nothing for the younger people except a beach party with some head banging music far enough away not to bother anyone else. We are always 2 couples and can amuse ourselves, but because of the slope and difficulty getting out of the hotel, you are a bit like a captive audience.
This is a personal beef, but one shared by nearly everyone we spoke to - WHY do hotels think it essential to play music (usually much too loudly) around the pool, at the beach bar and where people are trying to read or sunbathe!!!! So loud around the pool sometimes that you couldn't even have a conversation. My advice to those seeking peace and quiet is to head for the roof terrace where there are a couple of jacuzzis, a nice bar, comfy settees and chairs and sun loungers!
We had to ask for help at Reception after failing to be able to sit together twice running. We asked to speak to the Restaurant Manager but were met with blank looks and told that no-one was in charge. The tables are for 2 and although easy to push together, finding 2 adjacent ones in a very busy restaurant was not often possible. It was soon sorted and a 4 seater table was reserved for us for every meal thereafter.
One last gripe - the queue for drinks in the evening was ridiculous in the lounge bar where most people were as that was where the entertainment was. There is a rule that only 2 drinks can be taken per person - even if there are 4 of you. That may be a health and safety thing but you lost the will to drink at all after waiting up to 10 minutes for just 2 bar staff to cope with the orders. They need to have more pairs of hands when the hotel is as full as it was this last week. Take a tip - chat up one of the lovely bar girls and give a bit of a tip and the drinks will keep coming to your table when you give them a wave!

The animation crew were very pleasant and not at all pushy. Too damn cold in that pool for aquacise though! All staff we encountered were polite, helpful and charming at all times - those that found them not to be so should be aware that you get back what you give out!

One last thing - the hotel shop which is just behind Reception does not take credit cards. I had to get cash from an ATM to pay for 6 cartons of cigarettes to take home for my sons (filthy habit!).

I would not have a problem going back to this hotel but would probably try some of thelr others first (working through the list!), and would certainly recommend the Aquis chain generally.

Room Tip: Main hotel rooms essential rather than bungalows unless you are super fit. We can recommend those o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChrisHersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Stopped at this hotel for a week and had a good time. Views best I have seen. Food very good, rooms very good. Location a bit hilly but you can cope.Wasps a bit of a pain but not the fault of hotel. Night life dead but maybe because its end of season, still there was some good bars. I would come back if it was busier at night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiper2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
6.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
8.6 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Property: Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing