We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Agios Gordios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We travelled as a party of 3 couples at the end of September, was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews because of wasps/food/location but we had a wonderful holiday. We booked with Olympic Hols and the transfer was great,they had a mini bus waiting,we were at hotel for lunchtime. The only problem was when we arrived even though we had specified we didnt want bungalows because of the walking difficulties of members of our party that is what reception told us we had! we refused after seeing where they were and they gave us 3 rooms in hotel,which if they had why didnt they just give us in the first place. Once rooms were sorted we had a wonderful week. The rooms were clean and a good size with everything you could need, the view of the sea and beach and sunset was wonderful. The food was varied and good, could have been bit hotter but when you help yourself it cant always be kept red hot. The drinks were good, not strong but thats not a bad thing when you are having a few!! There was a good range of cocktails and you never had to wait long to be served. The entertainment was low key, but the music quiz and the greek night were really good, and we managed to entertain ourselves.

The pool area was fine, we always got a sunbed and yes there are a lot of wasps and i am scared of them but they were that high on sugar they were very calm, you can just waft them away no problem, by the end of the week we could just accept them, didnt hear of anyone getting stung. As for mossies, i usually have a really bad reaction to them so went well prepared, but only got two bites. I did see few people with a lot of bites but just take repellant with you and its fine. The pool was cold but that was great in the afternoon as it was so hot it was nice to cool down!. The sea was warm and clear, fantastic.

The steps from hotel to the beach we thought were ok, and believe me it was a lot easier going to the village down the steps and along the boardwalk on the the beach than going from the reception along the road,now that is a hard trek!!!! Its was a pleasant walk along the beach and there are a few shops and bars in the village. We got a mini bus from the hotel to Corfu Town and it was well worth the visit.

All in all we had a wonderful time,clean hotel, friendly staff, good food and drink in a stunning location and no children, if you just want to relax this would be the hotel for you, if you like action and plenty of places to walk to then maybe not.

Room Tip: if you have walking difficulties you dont want bungalows,especially those number 9000+
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericsgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,692 - 1,698 of 2,433 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

Just had our first all-inclusive andI I guess they must vary. Either top of the range, low end or middle of the road. this one felt adaquate in terms of accomodation, food and entertainment.
Probably built in the 1970's with little scope to change other than a refurb maybe 3-4 years ago - just comfortable. The choice and quality of food could only be described as adaquate (wasps included) whether you sat inside or out. The outside dining terrace was to die for with the sunsets. Both the pool (we tried to sit next to other groups equipped with swatters) and beach bars were pleasant (wasps included) with plenty of sunbeds etc to laze away the days (wasps included) although the pool was freezing so we spent most of our time on the beach. The sea was really warm and calm ( and no wasps!!) - we spent a lot of time in the sea! 67 steps from the hotel to the beach and coming back up, by the time we'd got back to reception we had to get the buggy for the remainder of the hill climb back to our rooms. Rooms were OK, lovely terrace (wasps included) but could have been a bit cleaner. We left the same cobwebs as when we arrived. The resort itself is nice and small - typically greek and better than one or two of the larger areas we've stayed before on the island. The views and location were tremendous, the rest adaquate. Didn't see wasps on the menu once, surpisingly, and they're not as persistant as our english ones, you can gently move these along with your hands although my wife did get stung and is still feeling it a week back!
All it wanted was a Greek 'John Cleese' type character going around saying 'I've only mentioned wasps once but I think I've got away with it'

Room Tip: We had two adjoining suites up on the hillside, lovely terraces and great views- cool in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeWoodward_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a fortnight at the beginning of September 2011. We had a great time. We loved our room, which was spotless and tastefully decorated. We were staying in the main building and were glad of this because the bungalows are quite a long way, up a steep hill, from the main hotel, where all the food is provided and where the pool is found. People were bagging sunbeds at the pool from 7 a.m. onwards, but we never failed to get a bed. We may have failed on some days to get the nicer wooden ones with white cushions, but there were always some blue metal-framed beds available. I did not once see a member of staff removing towels from the beds - there a signs up warning that they will, but they don't. On the beach, as others have mentioned, it's 7 EUR a day for two sunbeds and a parasol and table. This would be my one complaint about the holiday - considering it's all inclusive, I don't understand why the hotel charges for this facility. It just seems really odd. Having said that, I was aware of it before I booked, so I can't really complain. The entertainment mostly consists of a singer in the evening and the lady who was singing when we were there was great. It is background singing in a swing style, which many people might find suitable for older people, but my partner and I really enjoyed it. There were Greek dancers performing one night a week. The people that we encountered who were complaining about the entertainment were those who'd just come off a cruise ship and therefore found the change from the all-singing-all-dancing cruise entertainment a bit much to handle. I also really enjoyed the food. Neither my partner or I had the same meal twice, but neither of us are fussy eaters. He had less choice than me because he doesn't like fish, but there were fish dishes and every type of meat available at each meal. I don't really understand what people have to complain about. There were pancakes at breakfast as well as the usual egg, bacon etc, and the salads and cheese and bread expected in Greece and Turkey. There were chips at the lunch buffet, which kept a few people happy. We really enjoyed it, including the chance to dress up for the weekly gala dinner. They are strict about men wearing trousers in the restaurant in the evening, so don't go there thinking that you'll be ok in shorts - you won't. There were wasps on the beach, but they didn't bother us much - the locals treat them like we like flies. I was glad that so many people had mentioned them on tripadvisor though because it gave me a chance to psych myself up to face them before going! The staff at the hotel were very helpful as well. We counted at least 19 cocktails on the all inclusive menu and worked our way through the list several times during our holiday. The wine is white or red, so don't go asking for cabernet or merlot etc. You are only allowed two drinks at a time from the bar to keep queues down. We had a great time at the hotel and hired a big quad bike from a shop in the village for two days so that we could get out and about. It was 40 EUR a day and well worth the money. The village itself is very quiet and seems to be suffering from a lack of visitors, but there were plenty of places to eat and drink. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a couples holiday as a place to relax and chill out.

Room Tip: The main building makes your holiday a lot easier - there are a lot of steps to the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purple_mei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had a really relaxing week at this hotel at the end of September. All the staff go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The food is very varied and as long as you aren't the type of person who loads their plate with everything each night - you can eat a different meal every day.
The hotel is spotless and nicely decorated and furnished.
The beach is lovely - and for those who complain about seaweed, there was some for the first few days but it was not the awful slimey stuff we get in the UK, it was more like little bits of confetti, so it really is not a problem.
The wasps were a bit of a nuisance (we were not stung though) but while it was almost impossible trying to eat outside during the daytime there were none in the evening so we were able to eat outside on the terrace every night.
Yes there are quite a few steps to the beach but they are not steep and it really is not a problem for any fit and healthy person (we noticed plenty of elderly guests managed to walk up and down to the beach each day).
The village is lovely, quite small and typically greek with a few shops and lots of restaurants and tavernas. It is only a very short walk along the beach or down the road - we had a lovely meal at Zefyros and cocktails at Sea Breeze and Madison Garden, Stevens on the Hill is nice too.

We dont usually return to the same hotel but The Aquis Agios Gordios Beach hotel and Agios Gordios itself ticked all our boxes and we look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: The bungalows are quite a walk from the main hotel but have lovely views. All the rooms in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherrymc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Well we did get bitten by mozzies as we always do regardless of where we go. The wasps were annoying but it wasnt just at the hotel, we also found them elsewhere on the island and we didnt get stung. The area is hilly and a lot of steps to the beach but see it as a positive - when you can climb them all without stopping to get your breath!!
The hotel was good, the staff brilliant, the food was great as my waist line will testify.
For a relaxing adult only holiday we would recommend this hotel as long as your mobility is good.

Room Tip: The bungalows are infact small blocks of apartments but beware, you will have to go up hill from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheBarrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

After a lovely week cruising down the dalamation coach, we arrived at the hotel. The hotel is modern and clean, it has been refurbished to a certain standard, according to thompson its going to be a platinum standard hotel next year, I very much doubt it is upto that standard. Food was same sorts of things all week, both for lunch and evening meal. Vegetable soup for lunch one day and evening meal, it had changed colour , I suspect that was the broccoli. Not enough waiting staff, though they were quick to take plates and everthing awayand reset the table , sometimes whilst you were getting another course. Entertainment poor, a man playing the piano very loudly at times.The main problem was the wasp, you couldnt eat outside,or have a drink with out fear of getting bombarded by wasp. We tried the pool area, the beach, the sunterrance, even the balcony to the room we were costantly pestered by them. For someone who has a fear of wasp this made for a very anxcious week. We were told they were all over the island, and nothing can be done about them. On closer inspection of the building there appear to be numerous wasp nest underneath the restaurant, when asked I was told they were house martin nests.My partner ws bitten more that 50 times by the mosquitoes despite sprays, pens, plug, ins, but after reading other comments about bed bugs, i suspect these may have been the cause. There were numerous occasions of ants in the bedroom, even though we were at the top of the building. Nothing prepares you either for the steps to the beach from the hotel there is approximatly 150 steps.This is one hotel I would not be returning to.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

this trip was one of my best i did not get bit with mozzies the food was exelent went back for secconds the hotel was nice the entertainement was not what i expected but overhaull exellent the beach was also good with joyce the sunbed lady being extreemly helpfull with the wasps this time of the year would recomend this hotel to anybody,

Room Tip: try to book one of the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayDarwenLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Gordios
4.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,474 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,454 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Romantic Palace Hotel
Romantic Palace Hotel
#4 of 13 in Agios Gordios
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort

Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Gordios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Gordios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Gordios
Price Range: $136 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself on a sandy beach, crystal waters and thriving, green mountains rising on the top. Relax to the rhythmic sounds of waves and offer yourself the holidays you deserve.This Adults only hotel located on a picture-perfect hill spot in one of Corfu’s best locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing