We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb trip & Winderful Villa”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Winery Estate

Pool and pool terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and pool terrace
Main terrace with seating Pool with loungers and pergola bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Pool and pool terrace
Main terrace with seating
Pool with loungers and pergola bed
Main house
The pool
Dining table for 12 on Main terrace
Pool taken from seating under pergola
Begonia suite terrace
Seating area on Roof terrace
Roof terrace with dining area, loungers, seating area and hammock
Sunrise from the terrace
Sea view from the house
Living room with dining area
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Bath in master bedroom
Bedroom 2 with 2 single beds (can also be made as a double)
En-suite bathroom
Bedroom 3 with king size bed
Main bathroom
Bedroom 4, private, enclosed mezzanine with 2 single beds and 1 double
Bergonia suite with kitchenette, en-suite and jacuzzi
Bergonia suite with king size bed
Jacuzzi in Bergonia suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Megalochori, Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma-Loui...
1 review
“Superb trip & Winderful Villa”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A wonderful trip & a superb, interesting & individual villa. The villa offered spectacular views, was in easy walking distance (little more than a few mins) to a local village offering shops, restaurants, & bakery (which i still miss!) The villa itself offers a wealth of space both for 'entertaining' but also gives everyone their own personal private space. (we were 8 adults, so one of the bedrooms wasn't even used.) We could spend as much time together or indeed apart as we wished! On a final note, the villa Manager Panos, was a god-send & superbly helpful, friendly & full of useful advice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil M
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great time had by all”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed at this place late last summer, we were a group of 12 friends. We had the best time, so relaxing, weather was great, villa manager was brilliant, house had plenty of room and was lovely and clean. Pool was perfect. Couldn't ask for more, just brilliant.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l0u66
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

we spent a week at this amazing villa. when we arrived we could not believe how impressive it was, its more like a castle. inside was well decorated, clean, spacious and fully equipped with everything you could possibly need.

outside, there was just so much space, the different terraces offered our group of 12 enough space to really enjoy our holiday without feeling like we were on top of each other. the pool was a highlight. we loved the location, how peaceful it was, you really do get to unwind here and the views are stunning. the village of megalahori is very beautiful and has some very good restaurants, we loved feggera.

the villa manager was great and knew just about everything about the island, she gave us some great recommendations and also booked us a catamaran trip to the volcano and hot springs where we had a bbq on board, and later in the week, horse riding for us girls. the cleaner came every other day and even babysat for us one night.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleSam...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dream villa”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Wow! This villa is stunning!

This old winery has been lovingly converted and has such character and charm. It's spotless and has everything you need. We loved the little touches like the light shades out of old wine barrels - very clever!

The village of Megalochori has managed to retain it's traditional Greek village feel. We loved taking our morning walk through the winding little streets to the bakery (and walking a little more crooked on the way home from one of the tavernas in the lovely little square). Exploring was such fun as there are some incredible buildings with such history - plus you always saw a donkey, can you get more Greek than that? It really was a taste of authentic Greek village life. A perfect escape with stunning views.

The island is small, so the hustle and bustle towns were only a short drive away. In fact the whole holiday there was amazing. Topped off by fantastic hosts who couldn't do more for you. We came back from our stay here feeling refreshed and energised. Can't ask for more from a holiday really. Top notch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepsi p
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I don't usually write reviews but i thought this one was worth it.”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

I don't usually write reviews but i thought this one was worth it.
Its a very big property and rather impressive, the photos do not do it justice. Inside it is a very comfortable temperature and nice and clean, you do not even need the air con on. Outside there is plenty of space for everyone, and the pool is the ideal place to cool off after exploring the island in the day time. Villa manager and owners were always on hand to advise and answer our questions. The village the villa is in is very quaint and well located to visit other parts of the island. The island itself is magical and has been on our bucket list for many year. We were not disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
543trista
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Unique villa in a remote location”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

When we first arrived we were very impressed. The villa is big (spacious enough for our 10) and very cool. But, it's very remote. We ended up renting a car just to get places. We felt like we were isolated in the country, there were even farm animals all around.
There was a problem with the water and/or sewer and after a few days the whole place started to smell. It just felt very unclean. There was even a mouse that ran through the living room one day.
Overall it's a neat, unique place to stay. But it might just need some extra cleaning and certainly looking into the sewer issue.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2017
Thank you for your review
I am deeply sorry that you did not realise the villa is in a rural location.
There was a problem with the dish washer which was causing the smell and it was replaced when you left, it would have been dealt with during you stay, had it been brought to our attention.
Best regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrismawt...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW what a villa”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is superb well finished villa that is ideally set up for a large grown up family or group of friends, with space for seclusion if needed and great communal areas. A good pool with some nice touches.
When booking the villa we expected it to be in a winery with little round it, there are some neighbours but the villa is not surrounded. Santorini is a busy island and this villa is about a quiet as you are going to get, this suited us as we like quiet. If you want the hustle and bustle of people this is not for you.
We had a good week on Santorini and the villa was one of the stars and is well recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing