We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow just Wow”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Winery Estate

Pool and pool terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and pool terrace
Main terrace with seating Pool with loungers and pergola bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Pool and pool terrace
Main terrace with seating
Pool with loungers and pergola bed
Main house
The pool
Dining table for 12 on Main terrace
Pool taken from seating under pergola
Begonia suite terrace
Seating area on Roof terrace
Roof terrace with dining area, loungers, seating area and hammock
Sunrise from the terrace
Sea view from the house
Living room with dining area
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Bath in master bedroom
Bedroom 2 with 2 single beds (can also be made as a double)
En-suite bathroom
Bedroom 3 with king size bed
Main bathroom
Bedroom 4, private, enclosed mezzanine with 2 single beds and 1 double
Bergonia suite with kitchenette, en-suite and jacuzzi
Bergonia suite with king size bed
Jacuzzi in Bergonia suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Megalochori, Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jez A
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wow just Wow”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What can I say that hasn't been said already!

The owners have obviously spent a great deal of care and attention ensuring the winery has been restored to amazing detail and ensuring that everything is there to make your holiday the best it can be.

We were a family of 9 and not once were we treading each other's toes, there are lots of areas you can escape to if you need, however for us the amazing pool was the centre of fun you want on a holiday.

There is so much to do and see at Santorini, for us the highlights were an amazing catamaran trip which the villa manager Iro sorted for us. This was a half day trip all food and proper beer and wine included and the boat to ourselves.

I would also recommend the walk from Fira to Oia, make sure you wear sensible shoes, go early in the day, take water and a camera the views are absolutely stunning.

In terms of eating the best taverna we went to which is walking distance from the Winery was Marmita, the service was amazing with free Raki and most importantly the food was the best we had certainly I would recommend the moussaka.

Lastly I have to say the local bakery is to die for, we walked there every morning for Croissant and pain au chocolate and then ice cream in the afternoon, what a life!

I very rarely give 5 stars but if I could I would award 6

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The whole Villa
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savagen01
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury villa at good value price, one of the best kept secrets in Santorini”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Winery Estate is a unique luxury experience at great value for Santorini. It has been thoughtfully and sympathetically restored to one of the best larger premises you can rent on the island. The attention to detail, yet overall effortless beauty of the villa is a real credit to the vision of the restorers and demonstrate a labour of love that the owners Sarah and Eddy are undoubtedly and justifiably proud of. Unless you have very deep pockets, if you're travelling in a big group you really can't do better than this. The accommodation offers the right amount of space for everyone to join in or do their own thing without ever feeling cramped. This is a big property, bigger than the pictures hint at.

Located in Megalochori it is remote, peaceful and authentically rural, yet just a 10-15 minute drive from anything you need. The village itself is lovely a hidden gem and offers a true example of Cycladic living, without the swarms of tourists. The restaurants in and around the square are very high quality.

We travelled as a large family group for a 5 night stay that included our wedding. Sarah offered support and great comms throughout the whole experience. The villa manager Iro was very friendly and helpful, including arranging airport transfers and for a private chef to prepare a meal ready for the whole family upon our return from the ceremony. Even the pool guy was ready to offer tips and advice on how to get the best out of the island.

One word sums up the experience: Phenomenal. A once in a lifetime experience, go for it!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The large living space
Liked least: Needs a bit more shade outside
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missdp82
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Villa”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned from a weeks stay at The Winery Estate and were wowed from the moment we arrived. The restoration of the property is incredible and as previous reviewers have stated the pictures do not do it justice.
It is fully equipped with any and everything you could possibly need and Iro the manager was very friendly and available to help with any queries.
The villa is incredibly spacious with a sunny or cool spot available at all times of day. The outdoor areas are particularly impressive with great views too! The pool is a good size and there is plenty of room for everyone to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet.

The location in Megalochori is great, away from the hustle and bustle but with the village, bakery and mini market in walking distance and access to all areas of the island just a short drive away.
Our entire party are still talking about it now and we cannot wait to visit again one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna G
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous estate in a great location! ”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at the Winery Estate for our summer family vacation and it could not have been more perfect!! The pictures do not do the property justice... It truly is stunning. So much space both inside and outside. The pool is gorgeous and is a perfect place to unwind in the afternoon.
The property manager , Iro, was lovely! She took care of everything for us from arranging a private chef to prepare dinner for us at the villa, scheduling a babysitter for us at the last minute and arranging a boat tour and transfers.... Really making our stay so enjoyable.

The location is easy walking distance into the town and a short drive to Fira and some great beaches.

I highly recommend staying at Winery Estates, you surely won't be disappointed. We certainly will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexO7671...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were in Santorini for a wedding and were looking for a spacious villa to accommodate 9 adults and a young baby. The Winery was ideal, with stunning large rooms and a separate annex for the couple with the baby. We loved the fact that the house incorporated many of the original features from the Winery. In addition, the pool and various terraces were fantastic as it meant you could always escape for some quiet time if required.

The house is ideally located in the centre of the island, which meant everywhere was easily accessible, however, we would recommend getting a car/quad bikes to explore the Island.

The owner, Sarah was incredibly helpful in organising the holiday, transfers and car rental and the villa manager, Iro made sure we well looked after during our stay and attended to all our needs.

It was an excellent holiday and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if we go back to Santorini.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina E
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing comfort in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Travelled with 9 other friends/colleagues for a work/leisure break. We were stunned when we saw the property that sleeps 12 (a separate apartment housed our only male colleague!) It is beautiful, spacious, very comfortable and well supplied with immediate necessities. Kimberley, the local manager, was lovely and on hand to arrange taxi's, sort out internet and anything else. Local tavernas in the small town were excellent and easy walking distance. A local bakery was great for morning bread/croissants and other delights! All in all an excellent choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort spaciousness
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa and wonderful assistance”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the villa for a week, there were four adults and 6 children between the ages of 1-6 so we were very anxious about going to santorini with such young children but this villa was very child friendly and it made our stay a lot less stressful. The villa is beautiful and spacious and the pool was perfect for the children to play safely in an enclosed area. A huge thank you to Kimberly the villa manager not only did she organise our cars & childrens car seats, she set up the cots in the bedrooms, organised hair dressing appointments, organising mini buses and transfers and even did babysitting on two occasions for us. We are very grateful for all the organising that Kimberly did for us and made the holiday easier for us. Would highly recommend this villa to family's and people looking for a luxury villa with lots of space.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing