We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
128
87
31
13
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
128
87
31
13
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus great pool two brothers plenty of sunbeds red beach great place to watch rooms were cleaned wifi is free enjoyed our stay a family run hotel risotto cash and carry kept spotless the pool area is beautiful return flight the local bus service fruits and veggies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 283 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

A group of 5 of us set out to come explore a few islands this summmer. One of our stops was Santorini and we had booked a room at The Caldera View resort. After have traveled through all our Greek destinations my friends left and I decided to come back simply due the service and hospitality I received here. Family owned and clearly treat their staff and visitors like family. For the price your paying you defitintely get your money’s worth.

They have a gorgeous relaxing pool , they also have an amazing free breakfast , and a beautiful restaurant across the resort with what I think has one of the most beautiful views and sunsets !

I highly recommend this resort to perfect your experience when in Santorini.

Best Regards ,

Melkon Kechichian

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank melkon2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minasSantorini, Διευθυντής at Caldera View Bungalow Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear Melkon

Thank you for your time and for your review.
Thank you for your nice words about our Hotel and our staff. We always try to treat our Guests as friendly as possible and make them feel comfortable here with us. Even though sometimes is not so easy haha.
We hope to see you again and thank you very much for your nice video. Will be uploaded soon.

Best Regards
Panos Sigalas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Rooms: quite okay - comfortable beds, reasonable equipped
Bathroom: old & not very clean
breakfast: poor choice, coffee of bad quality, every single day the same regular things
Swimmingpool: great, clean, nice surrounded by palm trees
Location: Bus stop in front of the ressort, the street is a bit noisy but that's the price you have to pay for a good infrastructure, restaurants, bakerys, nice beach (caldera beach) around

We stayed 7 nights in august - we don't know whether other accomodations provide better value for money in high season but WE won't come back

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sp162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minasSantorini, Διευθυντής at Caldera View Bungalow Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time and for your review.
Thank you for your nice words about our rooms, Pool and location.
About the bathroom i saw the photos you uploaded and i have 3 comments to make about them.
1st The window you are showing is for the room to have fresh air from the back side of the building and combined with the Main window to give fresh air flow to the room reducing the Humidity and the heat during the summer (one of the few Hotels that does respect its Guests in this matter on the island). After 5 months of usage you are right it needed a refreshment but while the Hotel was fully booked from May to end of September it was hard to paint it while people were sleeping at night.
2nd about the Shower. As you noticed the water on the island and in all Aegean Sea islands is salty. After 5 months of usage the little gap between the floor tiles becomes darker. IT IS NOT DIRT but same as the above during High Season we can only clean them very well but not replace them or paint them. About cleanliness we had great reviews so i guess the same lady who was doing your bed and room is not possible her leaving the bathroom dirty.
3rd Thank you for the photo of the curtain and the mirror because again because of the salty water they do need replacement often but if you had come to the Reception we would have changed them instantly as we do have plenty in storage for cases like this. And as i am writing this reply both of them are replaced by new ones.

About the breakfast for a 3 stars Hotel advertising ONLY Continental Buffet we offer way more than we should.
Yoghurt, hum, cheese, bacon, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, cereal and choco cereal, musli cereal, fruits, Greek Salad, 2 different fruit composts, juices, 3 different cakes, coffee machine (espresso!!!! Cappuccino!!!!) which i have only met in 4 + stars Hotels since i also travel.

And last about the value for money, we are one of the cheapest 3 stars hotels in the area providing more than we should and we are glad to see our Guests this year are more than happy with our facilities, which is easy to see on the reviews.


Thank you again for your time and for your review.


Best Regards

Panos Sigalas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

Great resort amazing hotel staff. Swimming pool is just lovely everyone here is very helpful. Breakfast A+
Thanks to Maria for booking a day trip which was very well priced and pick up was included too.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank PSExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minasSantorini, Διευθυντής at Caldera View Bungalow Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear Valuable Guest

Thank you for your time and for your review.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to see you again.
Maria says hi :)

Best Regards
Panos Sigalas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

I had the chance to visit the Caldera Resort this summer and it is a very nice and comfortable place to stay. The room was clean, and the AC worked perfectly!

Maria and Panos were both super kind to us the whole time. The place has a beautiful pool perfect for relaxing and get a tan :)

Also, a few meters away just across the street you get the chance to visit their restaurant that has the most beautiful view of the caldera!! Great place to watch sunsets, get some food & drinks, enjoy and relax away from the crowded Oia! Would definitely recommend it

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Karim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minasSantorini, Διευθυντής at Caldera View Bungalow Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear Karim

Thank you for your time and for your review.
Thank you for your nice words about our Hotel and Restaurant.
We hope to see you again.

From Maria and Panos our best wishes.

Best Regards
Panos Sigalas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

We got off to a great start in Caldera View.
Family of 2+2 teen girls.
We arrived close to midnight having had 2 flight delays from Italy.
Tired, hungry and a little grumpy!
With the restaurant closed Panos (one of the brothers who own the hotel and restaurant/bar) actually drove us up to the local bakery and waited for us to grab some food before driving us back again. We grabbed a few beers from the fridge at reception and our pastries and sat by the pool to chill for a while and the world was good again.

Our room was a two room configuration over two stories.
Plenty of space and two balconies.
The AC was very effective in both rooms and always got to work very fast.
The rooms were cleaned spotlessly each day with clean towels daily.
Its a 3 star hotel so must be accepted as that and expectaions should be based on that.
It is typical of Greek holiday resort rooms so don't expect deep pile carpet and soft furnishings.
Some of the chairs outside the rooms are a bit older than the pictures and the curtains were a bit ragged.
But not something we would moan about.
The rooms have safety deposit boxes.

The pool is a fine big size and as its a quiet resort there were always plenty of sun beds available with lots of shade around the pool.

Breakfast is served on site with the bar and restaurant across the road connected to the hotel.
Discounts apply to guests and we had no probalem having the discounts applied.
The bar/restaurant has stunning views and that maybe accounts for slightly higher prices than expected for an out of the way eatery.
Staff there were lovely.

The staff in the hotel itself were most helpful and pleasant.
We got plenty of local info and help about beaches and buses etc.
Reception arranged a transfer to the port for us for the ferry and it was a mini bus.

There is a bus stop right outside the door for a bus to Fira and also the other way to Akrotiri .
A 10 minute walk up the road brings you to a bus stop for the beaches.
Also at the same cross roads you will find the bakery and a few further metres is a supermarket.
The road is fine to walk in daylight.
The last bus back from Fira is early enough and a cab after that costs €25

I've noticed a few recent negative reviews of this property that seem to be quite intense.
Reviews are by nature personal and based on personal attitudes, tolerances, expectations, experience and sometimes an overall outlook on life.
Caldera View is a 3 star hotel not trying to pretend its anything more.

We are a family that travels as a passion and we'd be fussy enough but tolerant.
However if we come across dirty properties or rudeness we'll react very negaitvely.
Neither is relevant here - the property was very clean, as were the rooms and any member of staff from management onwards were nothing but friendly, helpful and courteous.
Sure there are some requests/rules about not leaving AC on (common sense) and towels.

Anyway as a family we enjoyed our stay and I'd be happy to recomemnd it to friends.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Alan-Mc1960s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minasSantorini, Διευθυντής at Caldera View Bungalow Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Dear Mr. Alan

Thank you for your time and for your review.
Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel, staff, the rooms etc. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay here with us.
Its true we are a 3 stars Hotel and we do not advertise anything more than that. We always try to resolve any issue our Guests have and we try to make their stay here on the island as easy as possible. Of course the attitude of the Guests is important. Some are not like you and like most of our Guests, kind and smiling. Some are coming in the Reception with the worse behavior demanding any kind of things even if we are not able to provide. And still we try to do our best.

Thank you again for your nice words.

We hope to see you again.

Best Regards
Panos Sigalas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews