We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2008

I stayed in Vedema Resort for my honeymoon.
We had a fantastic and romantic stay there.
The rooms were all newly renovated and were very spacious.
The service in the Resort was truly five star and any wish that we had was fulfilled.
I really recommend Vedema Resort to anybody who wants to visit Santorini and stay in a truly five star resort. They made our honeymoon very special and we will never forget it.

Stayed: August 2008
3  Thank steini83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 530 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2008

Wonderful stay; far preferable to the places in Thira and Oia built into the cliff where you have to walk hundreds of steps any time you want to do anything. The staff at VEdema is perfect; food wonderful; surroundings beautiful; room comfortable; not over the top luxury but perfectly blended into vineyards with sea view in the distance. Two lovely pools, beautiful wine cave complete with wine tastings of local vineyard. couldn't be better.

Stayed: May 2008
6  Thank PenalopeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

We just returned from a wonderful 4-night stay at the Vedema Resort. We loved it! It is in a small village away from the beach but they have a shuttle to the beach (and beach bar) available. We stayed in a Dorian apartment and had a lot of space and a very large bathroom.
The pool is delightful and very relaxing.
The concierge staff was very helpful and also made wonderful suggestions for things to do around the island.
We also ate at a few of the local tavernas (in the village, walking distance from the hotel at night) that were delightful!
We were lucky to have breakfast included with our room and the breakfast was delicious. The staff was very friendly and attentative.
Our only complaints were the very expensive pool drinks and restaurants on sight. We enjoyed the cocktails but stayed away from the restaurants because the prices were so steep.
We would recommend the Vedema to anyone (especially couples) looking for a relaxing vacation.
NOT the place for families with small children or those looking for late-night nightlife.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank loca4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

The resort was beautiful and our room was gorgeous. It had just been renovated over the winter, and everything seemed clean and new. Despite what I have read in other reports, the service was over the top. We were picked from at the airport and greeted with champagne upon arrival. We were relatively complicated guests with numerous requests and special requirements, but the staff handled everything in stride. The concierge was even able to help book plane tickets for us at a cheaper rate than was advertised on the website. The beach was beautiful and so were the pools.

There are a lot of stairs in the resort. However, that tends to be the story throughout the island. If you have significant difficulty with steps, I don't recommend going to Santorini and heading to another island instead.

We didn't find taking the shuttle bus too much of a problem. The times didn't meet our ideal schedule, but it was just a matter of being a little flexible. The staff was able to help change our reservations around. There are also a few very good, very cute restaurants just outside of the resort if you don't want to eat at the hotel or take the shuttle to Fira. All the other guests were very friendly, and we actually got to know several of them as we traveled the "starwood route" around Greece.

I definitely recommend this resort. The only downside is the location - its definitely not a place for nightlife lovers or the wild at heart. However, for three single girls who just wanted to get away, be in the sun and eat good food...we loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank leftyhsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

I booked this hotel for my honeymoon and canceled it by calling the resort. The resort claims they never received my cancellation and will not refund my American Express. I've been fighting this with Starwood since September - dont stay here. The Katikies is better!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Service
9  Thank mrscoggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2007

We spent three nights at the Vedema Resort. Saw all the mixed reviews on tripadvisor and was tentative but decided to book the hotel anyway. The hotel is situated in a traditional Megalohori village (there were walking tours that were gawking at the property from the outside). It is about a 15 - 20 minute drive from the airport (hotel has free shuttle service) and regardless of where you stay in Santorini - you are better of renting a car since that will free you up to zip around Santorini (Vedema has free parking available; and you can pick up and return your car right there as well).

The property itself is expansive and beautiful - very clean, simple layout and gives a spa-like ambiance. We stayed in the Ionian apartment; big room; separate living room; dressing area; huge bathroom; deck (with jacuzzi) that overlooks the village and a lovely sunset.

Everything in the room is very comfortable and well maintained. The deck definitely needs some upkeeping but overall it was alright. The bath products were from Korres which I thought was a really nice touch.

The hotel pool is small and the hot tub is in a separate area but it still managed to afford privacy to the guests and did not feel overcrowded.

The hotel also has a private black sand beach - it is basically a strip of black sand beach that has been blocked off by different hotels. Vedema has a full service cafe there and the food is pretty good. There is a free shuttle that takes you to and from the beach (there is a set schedule - the times are pretty convenient).

Did not get a chance to eat at the hotel or experience the spa but from what I heard from other guests - they were superb.

The concierge and front desk was very helpful in arranging activities and suggestions but I would not say they would go out of the way to help or make suggestions if you did not ask specific questions.

Overall, I am glad that I stayed there in spite of my reservations. It was a great experience and a quaint location. Almost everyone stays at Fira or Oia but after visiting those places I think it's good to retreat back to the Vedema after spending the day around Santorini.

Tip: There is a little mini supermarket just 2 doors down from the Vedema - a good place to get (cheaper) drinks, ice-cream, sunscreen etc.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank TravelerLXG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

I was horrified to read other's reviews of the Vedema right before we left (and partially paid) for our vacation. Much to our surprise after reading these reviews -- the Vedema was fabulous! Reports of a mediocre concierge and staff were completely unfounded. The concierge was terrific, happily meeting our (and all other guests') multiple requests for taxis, cars, restaurants, etc. This man worked round the clock and always had a smile!

The 3 bedroom, 3-bathroom apartment, that we stayed in was spacious, clean and a wonderful place to get out of the very hot sun. The food at the hotel was good, breakfast (which was included) was a delicious and plentiful buffet and the property was quite funky, sitting on a very old winery. My daughter had a 75-minute massage, which she thoroughly enjoyed. The pool was a great respite from the heat and the staff could not have been more pleasant and accomodating. The only small complaint was that the bathrooms were tiny -- thankfully we had three of them and we are not big people, but if we were - we could have had a problem fitting!

The only negative other about the Vedema, which I echo from others' reviews is that it is in a very remote village, making a rental car a necessity. We did rent a car and loved the flexibility that it provided. For those with a family, looking for a wonderful resort with apartment/villa options for families and couples -- this is first rate choice. I highly recommend it.

Wendy

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank nywendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Megalochori
6.5 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
1.4 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#8 of 81 in Fira
785 reviews
6.7 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.6 mi away
Calderas Dolphin Suites
Calderas Dolphin Suites
#2 of 7 in Megalochori
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini

Address: Megalohori, Megalochori 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Price Range: $350 - $831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away within the medieval village of Megalohori, the enchanting Vedema, A Luxury Collection Resort, has evolved from a 400-year-old wine cellar into an authentic, Cycladic-styled property. Vedema houses 46 spacious suites and villas, all with their own terraces and some with Jacuzzis or private pools. Dedicated to the needs of seasoned travellers, this family friendly resort encourages a sophisticated and relaxed philosophy for its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedema Hotel Megalochori
Vedema Resort Santorini
Vedema Hotel Santorini
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing