We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the tourist masses and close to culinary heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Away from the tourist masses and close to culinary heaven”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Reading the sometimes very critical reviews, my wife and I first hesitated with the booking. But in retrospect, we are really glad we chose this property. We stayed in an Olympian Villa with a private pool and it was exactly as shown in the Internet pictures. Actually, even better, since our terrace was directly adjacent to a vineyard, only separated by a wall low enough to allow the wine folks to hand us a bunch of grapes fresh from the vines.

Was it perfect? No. But you're on a Greek island, after all. Having lived on an island ourselves for many years, we appreciate when things are fine, but don't go ballistic when they don't. Taking this in consideration, they do a fantastic job at Vedema. Staff is very friendly and you sense the owner's constant presence makes a difference.

This place really shines when it comes to food. If you're not into Greek food, don't go to Greece. But if you want to enjoy healthy cuisine, chef Melina shows you the way. Both for lunch in Pergola and for dinner in Vinsanto restaurant. Trying to enjoy as many items of their menus as we could, we did not manage to venture to any other restaurant for the whole 7 days of our stay. Don't forget to ask for their vegetarian dinner menu - it has some amazing dishes, too.

Whether it is their grilled octopus, an appetizer as simple as grilled zucchini with tzatziki or as "sophisticated" as grilled Santorini white eggplant with fresh tomato, feta cheese, Kalamata olives and parsley (see photo), their food is a marriage of local products, enhanced by olive oil, herbs and minimal use of spices. You just taste nature and wish you could have this back home.

We appreciated the complimentary transportation from and to the airport and the convenience to take off to an island tour right from the property’s own heli pad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visit0r_from_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVedema, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Visitor_from_florida,
Thank you so much for all your positive feedback about our premises and facilities. I am very pleased that you managed to try almost all our departments and services including our helicopter tour above the island of Santorini and most of our culinary suggestions.
Our awarded Chef Melina Chomata cooks with love and passion for all our guests and uses only local – Greek ingredients in all dishes. It is the local culture and tradition that we want to promote through all of our venues.
Therefore, it counts a lot to us that you understood and appreciated our whole philosophy and concept.
I would really love to welcome you back to Vedema Resort on your next visit to Santorini and offer you another memorable stay.
Best Regards,
Antonis Eliopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    105
    49
    27
    22
See reviews for
125
251
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Santorini is everything the pictures lead you to believe and the Vedema is in a lovely little village. The staff are helpful and friendly. The property is lovely, but can be difficult to walk around due to the "cobblestone" type walking paths. If you have any trouble going up and down stairs, you might have some real problems here. Our room was terrific and all in all we were very pleased. The staff at reception are truly exceptional in helping with whatever you may need.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bboop617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVedema, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear bboop617,
Thank you for all your wonderful feedback regarding our premises and our staff.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our people helped you that much to discover the unique island of Santorini.
Looking forward to welcome you back again!
Best Regards,
Antonis Eliopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is good but not excellent it is not a 5 star hotel. Greeting process too lengthy -rooms where not ready. Owners walking around as they should : owning the place like peacocks. Then the power went out in Satorini and owners disappeared ; the hotel had no back up generator and in August! it was bad... Then they sell you their " private beach" take it from me skip the beach...or stay in Oia while in Santorini...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ManhattanTower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVedema, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Manhattan Tower,

Thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback with us.

Regarding the greeting process, I would like to clarify that we always follow Starwood’s welcoming and check in procedures which indicate that no check in process exceeds 5 minutes. The fact that you had to wait for your room to be ready doesn’t have to do with the greeting or the check in procedure as the official check in time in our hotel is at 15:00. We wish we could had provided you an early check in, but as you may understand this is not possible when running on high occupancies. In case of early arrivals though, we always advise our guests to unwind by our pool enjoying their lunch in our Pergola restaurant or using our complimentary shuttle to the black sand beach where our private beach facilities are located (sun beds, umbrellas and a nice bar-restaurant) that they can use for free.

Referring also to the days of the black out on the island, I would like to mention that Vedema Resort was one of the few hotels in Santorini that had a generator. It is true that this generator couldn’t cover all the resort needs, but at least we managed to have power that could facilitate our reception area, our restaurants, fridges and emergency lights for your safety and hygiene. Last but not least, as you mentioned I am everyday in the resort, walking around and making sure that my guests are having a nice time and of course similarly I was also present the days of the blackout on the island (how can I be absent on a crisis situation). I believe that we did our best given the unprecedented circumstances that we faced and the fact that most hotels in Santorini didn’t even had water, something that was not the case for us.

I’m really looking forward to welcome you back in Vedema Resort under better circumstances and offer the best we can for you.

Kind Regards,

Antonis Eliopoulos
GM and Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is Beautiful in the middle of a small village with nice little shops around and close to the hotel Vedema . Its more for families but can be as nice for couples , and the food is as good as any . The staff are great and very helpful , rooms clean and spacious . Best rooms are the ones away from the main road and on the top floors, and the best are the villas with a private pool .
We were supposed to go to Oia but ended up at Vedema which was worth every minute . There are three restaurants outside the hotel steps away , the best serves Italian with a greek twist , i thing is the better one for dinner and Raki good for a greek breakfast just don't expect great service . The high light of Vedema was the MD / owner Antonis Eliopoulous , a true gentleman
and a hands on professional . The hotel has its own hilo pad and helicopter to take you for a trip around the Island .... great hotel . A note , pass by Feggera a wine bar / resturant , good food
great owner ask for him, Giannis , pronunced "yanis" .... enjoy

Room Tip: High rooms are better away from main road . Private villas with pool are the best .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khalid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVedema, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
My dear friend Khalid,
Thank you very much for all your positive feedback.
It was a pleasure having you and your family at Vedema Resort on your holidays.
I would be very excited to welcome you back next summer to Vedema and offer you another memorable stay!
Best Regards,
Antonis Eliopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent a lot of time looking for the perfect hotel, with nice rooms and service. Rooms have nothing to do with Internet pictures on their website. At arrival we got a room that was completely unacceptable in terms of privacy, as well as dirty and dusty. When asked if we could change they offered us another room with more privacy but still dirty. A repetitive theme? And finally we were offered 3 solutions, stay in the room we are, or take another room whit a helipad for helicopters next to it! Or change to a sister hotel that I'd half the price per night than what we prepaid. And please make your choice in 5 minutes. Waiters in the restaurant don't even know they should clean a table before sitting people down. Then wait for 20min for any service, while 5 waiters
doing nothing and stare at you. Plus as we complained about the cleanliness of the room we got nice wake up noise at 7am from the cleaners making sure that they made as much noise as possible. It is really one of the worst hotel stays in years. This hotel has no standing to be part of the SPG group, service is at best 3 star but you pay for a 5 star. Management should stay in a Four Seasons to see how it is properly done. Do yourself a favour avoid waiting money, and have a nice time by avoiding this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank joedelvaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVedema, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Delvaux,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us.
From the conversations that occurred between your self and the Rooms Division Manager of our hotel, while trying to offer the best possible solution to your complaint, you admitted that your main issue was the location of the hotel and its view.
As you clearly explained to us from the beginning, you were expecting a caldera sea view hotel, something that Vedema Resort does not provide or advertise. In our hotel’s website, as well as in all our partners’ websites it clearly states that we are in the middle of a traditional Santorini village and that our rooms offer village, garden or pool view. I am not sure why your expectations of your stay with us included caldera view but I am afraid that this is not for us to find out.
We tried though to please you in the best possible way by offering you alternative upgraded rooms within our hotel or in another property, which is located at the caldera of Oia and offers exactly what you were requesting. We even offered free massage treatments to you, so you can relax. You chose NOT to accept any of the several solutions we provided you.
We are really sorry for your experience and we understand your frustration. However we do believe we tried our best at the time in offering alternative solutions. We also believe that posting a review is always very useful for both future guests and hotel management, as long as this is not based on malicious intentions but on solid assumptions. We also believe that a better research of the location of your accommodation next time will save you from all negative feelings that overwhelm you and do not allow you to enjoy your holidays at the most.

Best Regards,
Antonis Eliopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in Vedema from Aug 11, 2013 till Aug 16, 2013.
As others mentioned it's located in the quiet village of Megalohori. It's just a perfect setting if you would like to spend some quality time with your loved one. Santorini is very touristy in the summer so you will quickly learn to appreciate the tranquillity of Vedema. On the second day of our stay a fire at the power station cut off the electricity to the whole island. I could feel how difficult it was for the staff to handle various complaints and endless demands of the guests but they did great. Everyone was working hard to the best of their ability. We heard that many hotels did not have water as it required an electrical pump so the shower and the toilet were not working. It was not the case in Vedema. We still had water, cold beer and hot coffee. Given the circumstances, the only minor inconvenience was a non-working air-conditioner.

It was not really a problem but we did not like breakfast in Vedema very much which we had on the first morning of our stay. It's not that it was bad but rather inadequate. American breakfast was 35 euro per person. This is the price you pay for a dinner without wine in a good restaurant on Santorini so if you are charging 35 euro for a breakfast it gotta be good. Unfortunately, all I can say is that it was OK. Nothing special. For the breakfast we were going to the bakery located on the main road within 10 minute walk from the hotel.
There are several restaurants 2 minutes by foot from the hotel which serve great food. We especially liked Marmita restaurant.
To be fair, Vedema seems to have nice dining options as well but we did not have a chance to explore them all to full extent. We just had a few drinks in the open-air bar and at the spectacular Vinsanto restaurant and we were quite impressed by the service - very friendly and efficient.

All in all, Vedema is a very nice boutique hotel in traditional Greek style.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVedema, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Timur B,
I would like to thank you for all your positive feedback regarding our facilities and our staff.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Vedema Resort and that you appreciated all our efforts during the force majeure situation with the black out on the island.
I understand that you were not satisfied enough with our breakfast but it would help us more if you could tell us exactly what was not up to your preferences or standards in order to improve it. We always take into serious consideration all our guests feedback in order to make our services even better and offer memorable experiences.
It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Vedema Resort on your next visit to Santorini!
Best Regards,
Antonis Eliopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Vedema in Santorini. We stayed at the property as part of a week-long stay on the island (split between Vedema and Mystique – the other Starwood property on Santorini).

The combination of the two properties was ideal – a tranquil village of Megalochori with the more touristy (and pricy town of Oia). We were not the only ones spitting our vacation, so others have caught onto this plan.

We simply loved Vedema. After being picked up at the Santorini airport and driven to the property, our room was upgraded to a huge three room suite with a dramatic balcony and outdoor spa. We were welcomed with champagne and fruit and our bed was covered in rose petals (we let the property know in advance that it was our anniversary).

We enjoyed our daily breakfast (though did not do dinner on property as the village had three wonderful restaurants that we really enjoyed.

The best feature in our opinion was the access to Vedema’s private beach club. This is not to be missed (we wished that we had even more time to enjoy the beach). Exclusive, private, great food, great bar. The perfect beach and facilities for a wonderful day – with frequent transportation to and from the resort.

We loved the property and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drosen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVedema, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Drosen85,
It means a lot to me that Vedema Resort has a 5 star review from such an experienced member of Trip Advisor. I see that you have visited a lot of hotels and the comparison of all your experiences is inevitable.
Therefore, I am very glad that you enjoyed a lot your stay at Vedema Resort and that you appreciated all our efforts to contribute in your special occasion: your wedding anniversary!
Thank you also for making a positive reference in our sister property Mystique hotel in Oia where you spend some days as well.
I will be more than happy to welcome you back to our premises on your next visit to the island and offer you another memorable stay.
Best regards,
Antonis Eliopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Megalochori
6.5 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
6.7 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
1.2 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
2.6 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
428 reviews
2.9 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini

Property: Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Address: Megalohori, Megalochori 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away within the medieval village of Megalohori, the enchanting Vedema, A Luxury Collection Resort, has evolved from a 400-year-old wine cellar into an authentic, Cycladic-styled property. Vedema houses 46 spacious suites and villas, all with their own terraces and some with Jacuzzis or private pools. Dedicated to the needs of seasoned travellers, this family friendly resort encourages a sophisticated and relaxed philosophy for its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedema Hotel Megalochori
Vedema Resort Santorini
Vedema Hotel Santorini
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing