We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The highlight of our honeymoon in Greece” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The highlight of our honeymoon in Greece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

From weeks before we even arrived through the end of our stay with them in Vedema, the staff was truly exceptional. My wife and I have stayed at other Starwood Luxury Collection properties around the world and Vedema stands out as unique and special. The service, intimacy and location within a traditional village in Santorini were all reasons why.
This began three weeks before we arrived, when the concierge reached out to welcome us, learn more about our arrival and departures so that they can arrange for transfers and see if there was anything else we needed.
Upon arrival we were greeted pleasantly and because of my frequent traveler status and our honeymoon we were upgraded to a beautiful suite. We were then guided through the small resort and taken to our room. This set the tone for us and we continued to be positively impressed through the trip. Though we regretfully only stayed 4 nights, my wife and I will always remember our time in Santorini, in large part because we stayed at Vedema.
The hotel also offers complimentary shuttles to/from Fira and the 'Black Sand Beach'; both of which are about 10 minute drives. The food at both the pool and the restaurant Vinsanto are very good. Vinsanto in also unique in that it resides in what was many centuries ago a wine cellar and most of the light are candles.
We'd recommend Vedema to anyone looking to experience Santorini in a relaxed yet elegant and intimate setting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicente r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVedema, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Vicente r,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am more than happy that you enjoyed your stay at Vedema Resort and all our services before and during your stay.
It means a lot to us that we contributed in your excellent memories from the island of Santorini, especially when it comes for a special occasion for you: your honeymoon!
I really look forward to welcoming you back to our premises and offer you another impeccable stay especially if you choose us for your wedding anniversary!
Best Regards,
Antonis Eliopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    99
    41
    27
    22
See reviews for
104
236
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Traveling Greece with 2 children ages 11 and 14, it is hard to find a hotel to accomodate everyone. The suite at the Vedema had more than enough room for our family including a private patio and rooftop sun area. The hotel was so quaint and immaculately kept. The staff was friendly and attentive to all of our needs. The food was great and eating out by the pool in the morning was so calming. They provide shuttles to Fira, the main town and to the beach. You can walk to several restaurants that were not as touristy as the ones in Fira. We have stayed at several hotels in different parts of Greece and this was by far one of the best!l

Room Tip: We have two children ages 11 and 14 and the two bedroom suites had more than enough room to spread o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nolagreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVedema, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Nolagreek,
I would like to thank you for your positive review about your stay at Vedema Resort. I am more than happy that you and all the members of your family enjoyed your stay in our premises.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back to Vedema Resort on your next visit to Santorini island.
Best Regards,
Antonis Eliopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel is not on a par with others within the Starwood Luxury Collection. Rooms vary in quality - the first room to which we were shown, lacked a normal shower or even a hook from which to hang the handheld "shower"; a second room addressed this issue. Staff in the restaurants seemed inadequately trained and meals were very lengthy as a result. There was no recognition of a birthday, although the reception staff were accommodating more broadly. During the crisis of an electricity blackout on the whole island, the impression was one of struggling without clear leadership.

Overall, not good value for money despite the intrinsic beauty of the island.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma, calif
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have had the great fortune to stay in many of the Starwood Luxury Collection properties around the world. Each one offers its own nuance. The Vedema was a perfect property to unplug, unwind and relax. Our suite was great with great morning and afternoon light. Our own patios and spa. The staff was great and extremely helpful in all facets from restaurant recommendations to the local sites to see. Fira was close by and a quick drive. Oia was a bit farther but we preferred staying a bit away in return for quiet. I loved hearing the bells ring on the hour. It really made you feel like you were away.

The property was beautiful and intimate which I feel afforded better service. The pool and morning breakfast were great. Very good food and the staff was extremely attentive. I thought it was a great location and a short drive to most anywhere we wanted to go - including the local wineries. Of all the properties we have enjoyed on this three week trip to turkey and Greece, the Vedema was the most relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1boomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVedema, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear 1boomer1,
Thank you very much for this wonderful review.
I am more than happy that Vedema Resort met your expectations and you chose it as your favorite one among other properties you visited in Greece and Turkey.
I am really looking forward to welcoming you back to our premises on your next visit to the island of Santorini.
Best Regards,
Antonis Eliopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our stay at the Vendema was outstanding. I had never been to Greece before and my family and I stayed here as part of a tour. What a wonderful surprise! It is difficult to describe the beauty and the historical appeal of this resort. Our place was more like a town-house design with 3 floors that opened up to a spectacular roof view which we enjoyed every night. The hotel staff was outstanding. They were gracious and very helpful. We went to other places in Greece during our tour but Santorini and the Vendema was the highlight. We were able to walk into the immediate town, and the restaurant we ate at next to the Vendema was the best meal I had in 2 weeks in Greece. We are planning our return. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVedema, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Carlos I,
Thank you very much for all your positive feedback about our staff and our services.
I am more than happy that Santorini and Vedema Resort were the highlights on your first trip to Greece.
I wish you return back to Santorini soon and choose again Vedema Resort for your stay. I would be more than grateful to welcome you back personally and make sure you have another memorable stay.
Best Regards,
Antonis Eliopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Off the beaten path, perfect for wine lovers wanting to relax. Quick access to the best vineyards with every comfort of a Starwood luxury resort. Great for travelers with preferred guest status- we got upgraded to a suite the size of my apartment with an outdoor hot tub. Not the best views in Santorini but definitely worth a portion of your trip to unwind and relax.

One negative, room numbering system confusing, we had charges from another guest loaded onto our room. Mostly resolved, some extra tip charges that I just left on there. The front desk was fairly quick to resolve.

Room Tip: Dorian suites look small, at least in relation to the upgrades! Well worth getting the bigger rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iseult M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVedema, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Iseult M,
Thank you for taking time to share with us your valuable feedback. I truly appreciate that as a Starwood Preferred Guest you honored us with your choice and you enjoyed a lot the upgrade that you got and our services.
I am glad also that our front desk dealt successfully with the occurred inconvenience.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back to Vedema Resort on your next visit to Santorini.
Best Regards,
Antonis Eliopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Santorini is a busy island in the summer and Vedema is an oasis away from it all. It is in a traditional Greek village, with a beautiful church, trattorias, winding little streets barely big enough for a small car. No hustle and bustle. If you rent a car you can head up to Oia and have a day filled with tourists. The town is beautiful but you must plan the time you go. Check out Segalase winery in Oia. They have lovely wines and make a typical greek lunch. They were rolling the grape leaves when we arrived.
Vedema has beautiful updated suite rooms with large marble bathrooms, ample closet space, comfortable beds, separate sitting area with table and couch. What I loved most about my room was opening the shutters every morning and having sunlight flood the room with the cool Mediterranean breeze. The islands beaches are located on the south end and only a 5 minute car ride from the resort. You can choose the shuttle and go to the private beach for Vedema (10 minutes) which is nice but we wanted more seclusion and went to Ero beach. Renting a car is helpful.
The staff is very attentive and helpful. All you need to do is ask. They all seem to be concierges-Constantine, Maria, and the other 2 ladies are the front desk are terrific. This is not the type of place with brochures telling you where to go. The island has a pamphlet on all the vineyards and I recommend getting one of these. There is a particularly charming tiny winery up the hill from Megalahori next to the bakery. You can walk there from the resort, sample some wine, and have a baklava. As you walk up the hill stop at the leather shop. He makes nice sandals, and tiny purses perfect for using on Santorini.
The restaurant has the best breakfast. We stayed with the traditional greek breakfast, at the suggestion of the Vaso. She seems to know the best wines, how to navigate the menu and put together a true greek experience. Santorini cherry tomatoes and cucumbers sprinkled with oregano and salt, olives, soft cheese with honey.
Top it off with island tea. If you stay with the greek food the restaurant is very good.
End your stay with a massage.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an updated room. Upper floor rooms are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drsarah56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMVedema, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Drsarah56,
I would like to thank you for all your positive feedback about our rooms, our services and our staff which contributed in your memorable experience from Santorini island.
Let me invite you again to Vedema Resort on your next visit to the island and reassure you for another impeccable experience!
Best Regards,
Antonis Eliopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Megalochori
6.5 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
6.6 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
2.8 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
3.8 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#16 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini

Property: Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Address: Megalohori, Megalochori 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedema Resort may be an exclusive hideway resort, but it will feel like your private paradise..!A major renovation has been completed in the guest rooms in order to reflect a totally new and fresh look. All different types of accommodations have been renovated by adding marble floors, white island-style furniture and decoration, but most important by including spacious marble bathrooms including both rain showers and bathtubs. Furthermore, all room types include "The Luxury Collection" beds according to the highest standards of Starwood, complimentary WI FI access and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedema Hotel Megalochori
Vedema Resort Santorini
Vedema Hotel Santorini
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing