We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Santorini”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Lovely hotel with top notch service. It isn't in the tourist hot spots, which means it's quieter. A drive to Fira and Oia, but also much closer to the beaches and other parts of the island. Their staff is great and the private beach is great.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank American_in_l0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 528 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2011

If you are looking for a hotel overlooking the Aegean sea, don't stay here.

Vedema distinguishes itself from the other Santorini hotels/villas with its location in the picture-perfect village of Megalochori. My wife and I immediately loved the resort and the surrounding village. The village is one of the few places in the islands where all houses maintain their walls bright white. Vedema is located right next to the small main square of the village where a few restaurants and a church surround. Beautiful and well-maintained white walled villas of Vedema blend in with the village surroundings. In fact, many tourists who are tired of busy and touristy Tira town come to find what they looked for as a picturesque white-walled village of narrow walkways in Megahochori.

We stayed in a suit called "D" where Angelina Jolie had stayed sometime ago during her stay in Santorini filming one of her tomb raider movies. The suite had everything we wished for from a luxury resort except a private pool. But, we were perfectly fine with not having it since the main pool of the resort was quiet enough. And our suite had a private jacuzzi which was quite large. The suite was well-furnished and well-maintained. We didn't know why the fire place was there but it gave the living room an accent. The bathroom was large and bright.

The staff were all truly helpful and caring. We arrived around 9 am and waited for our room in the reception area. They made us feel welcomed and cared for. When wireless device in our suite stopped working, the staff came right away and fixed the technical problem after understanding the technical issues the device was having which affected only my PC and mobile.

The resort has a free shuttle service to the private beach as well as to the Tira town. We took advantage of it and enjoyed the private beach as well as the evening shopping in Tira town. In my opinion, Tira town is not ideal for staying if you are looking for relaxing resort. Tira town reminded me of Phuket night bazaar. I do recommend, however, sunset dinner in one of the nice restaurants in Thira overlooking the sea.

After Vedema, we stayed also in the Blue Palace in Crete island, which is also one of the Luxury Collections. They gave us a large suit and a private pool overlooking the Aegean sea. It was a large resort establishment compared to Vedema. I still preferred Vedema for its charm, uniqueness, and the friendly/caring staff.

If you are looking for a luxury resort on the cliff, go to the sister resort Mystique. But, if you want to stay in a beautiful quiet Santorini village in a more private environment, I recommend Vedema.

By the way, the village has a winery where you can taste their limited production wines. We truely enjoyed this experience as well.

Their airport pick-up and port drop-off service was efficient.

2 suggestions to the report: I wished we had more complimentary water bottles in the room. Only 2 medium-sized bottles per day were not enough. I would have expected 5 or 6 bottles per suite per day during summer. The other is the PC in the business center. One of the 2 PCs for guest use needs upgrading.

We'll definitely go back to Vedema.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weekendtrvl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

HOTEL REVIEW # 188 Vedema

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences.

LOCATION: In a charming village with excellent restaurants and away from the crowds. Not much of a view from the hotel and about a 10 minute drive to Fira and 30 minutes to IA.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: Hotel will provide complementary transportation from Ferry Port. 10 minute drive to hotel

TYPE OF ROOM: 

 Suite

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed and linens were excellent and of high quality. Down pillows were great.

LIGHTING: Great in both bedroom and bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Beautiful bathroom with great water pressure.

TOILETRIES: Excellent products.

CLEANLINESS: Spotless common areas and room.

A/C: Worked well.

CLOSET SPACE: Our suite had enough space for 2 people to unpack all items.

STYLE OF ROOM: Excellent. Marble throughout room and private deck with Jacuzzi tub was great.

COMMON AREA: It was unique in that it was previously a winery. I liked that the hotel was different but the pool and Jacuzzi were in need of updating and both were too cold in my opinion. Private beach area is just an area next to other beach chairs and the beach is not that great with dueling music from neighboring beach restaurants.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Room was quiet (except for church bell) and all morning light could be blocked.

FOOD: We thought the food ranged from OK to very good. We never ate in the main restaurant for dinner.

TV/INTERNET: Didn’t use the TV but the complementary internet (for all guests) worked had less than desirable signal but still worked fine.

SERVICE: Staff were all very nice.

SUMMARY: Excellent place to stay in a great little village. We did miss not having the beautiful view from our hotel and breakfast area that other hotels in Santorini are known for. Definitely recommend getting a car to explore the towns on your own schedule.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The Vedema staff went out of their way to ensure our honeymoon was special. Our stay was most memorable and we were impressed with the service and the beautiful surroundings of the Vedema and are looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGarrettG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Vedema

10 mins from port. Inner city and not on water- can only see from highest parts of property. 

Flat property for most part with a few levels. Gorgeous black "castle" looking rocks with on most of property to contrast the usual white Greek stucco. 

Restaurant and wine tasting room below are gorgeous. Right out of a period movie or Lord of the Rings "prancing pony". All stone, wine casks, lots of black iron...only thing missing is the iron clad guards at front. Entrances with massive wood doors with black iron hinges. Menu is what we have seem at almost every high end place with fancy versions of beef filet, lobster spag, fish such as sea bream, etc. Heavy on the seafood and lots of high end pairings. Prices around 18-28 euro for main courses. 

Staff is very nice and kind. 

Will loan money directly to room to go on bill but charge 2 %

Good tv in room

Shuttles are convenient and timely. 

Negatives:
No light in shower stall so shower in partial light from vanity- how is maid able to see if it is clean or not I wonder?

Confusing light switches on walls

WORST breakfast possibly ever. Holiday inn in states is better and i don't eat there either if you get my point.  50 euro for 2 continentals and they charge 35 euro if you want eggs. Pancakes and French toast is cold, bacon is gummy, and the selections are abysmal. Unexecptable. I will not eat at the entire resort at all after that disappointment. U can get a full breakfast behind church across from hotel for 9 euro. My stomach was even upset after the few items I did try.   Menu was poor for other choices. Expensive and just eggs crepes or omelets. 

Water does not get too hot in bathroom sink or shower. 

Try to sell u too much on services/tours outside of island right upon check in. 

Asked for ice and none showed even though I tipped 10 euros in advance. 

Cannot find any decent breakfast place anywhere around the hotel. If u want traditional coffee good luck. We even drove to pyros and places advertise waffles etc but when you go in they don't have them. Greek coffee is all u can did which is instant coffee with sludge on bottom. 

Beach is unique what with black sand but is public which means some areas are clean and some are littered. Cheesy American feel to bars/lunch spots along road parallel to beach and the service is very poor. 

Vedame has a nice section for guests only at the beach but their restaurant is the same menu as the hotel including the high prices but with none of the ambience- which is why it is dead empty. The neighboring establishments are much cheaper and are busier. 

Phones are difficult to use in the room. Need to dial a 601 to reach desk - unlike traditional 0- and speed dial buttons to desk room service do not work. No one instructs you of this which requires a walk to lobby to ask. 

Hot water pitcher in room does not work. 

We booked business class tickets in advance for ferry to Mykonos. My fault for not better reviewing the tickets when delivered by hotel staff -which are in Greek- and was economy  Not a huge deal but creates unnecessary confusion when checking into ferry as well as haunt smaller seats for the 2.5 hour ride. 

Staff is extremely young and very unknowledgable. When asked for anything as small as coffee in the area we know more then they do about the local area. Mystique is on a whole other level which is odd given the 2 properties have the same general manager.

We would not return here given the property doesn't have much to offer in dining choices or entertainment without going into Fira. 

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spgISLANDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amousios, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

'Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Vedema Resort and for your wonderful comments regarding
the architecture of the property, the staff, the transfers, and our medieval 400 year old wine cellar, where our award winning restaurant and wine bar are located.

Please allow us to make some notes on your concerns:

Indeed Vedema does not offer the direct view to the Caldera and the Volcano as the cliff side properties do. But this is what sets it apart as an intimate sanctuary of relaxation. Being built in the middle of Megalochori, Vedema offers the concept of complete privacy and the experience of a traditional Santorinian village.

Regarding the light in the showers, these are being lighted by the main lights at the bathroom. This is the reason why there is no extra lighting inside the shower cabins. The light switches operate by both sides, near the door and beside the bed, which offers convenience during evening and when going to sleep.

Our breakfast, being served in a buffet style, offers a wide selection of hot and cold items with a big emphasis on Greek traditional character including a selection of pies, pastries and cookies, local cheeses, fresh seasonal fruit and yoghurt and freshly squeezed juices. Alternatively guests can choose from the Ala Carte
breakfast menu with a wide selection of dishes. However please accept our apologies if we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Our Concierge and Front Office is available 24/7 to offer our guests information for the island and the activities and of course to assist with any kind of bookings and reservations. Their aim is to make the guests aware of all their options on the island, so when they settle in, they can stop by the office again and book the activities or restaurants they prefer. One more of their operations is to assist guests with anything they might need at the hotel, and notify other departments of anything the guest requires, If this is requested or mentioned. Therefore, we are very surprised to hear that you could not get enough hot water in your bathroom, or that ice was not delivered when requested, or the water boiler did not work. This is something we will definitely look into and thank you very much for bringing these matters to our attention.

I am afraid we can not comment in detail the restaurants and cafés at the vicinity, but we must note that there are 6 restaurants and traditional tavernas in the village of Megalohori including the hotel’s restaurant, all within walking distance from Vedema offering visitors a wide choice of dining options. Regarding Perivolos, the famous back sand beach, this is the largest organized beach on the island. As you mention, there are very busy bars with loud music and wild partying, and this is why at the private space of Vedema we do not accept outside visitors, so we can offer our guests the option to choose between the busy bars and the peaceful version of the private area.

Concerning the telephone system, we do understand that it is always easier to dial one number, but we do provide on the telephone face the 3 digit extension numbers for all departments.

Regarding the tickets, the amount authorized was for economy class, that is why economy class tickets were booked. Please accept our sincere apologies for the misunderstanding and the inconvenience on this matter.

We would like to thank you again for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at Vedema in the future to offer you an exceptional stay and reverse your experience to a great one.


Kind regards,

Alex Mousios
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Although our stay at Vedema started out full of stress due to US Air, the staff at Vedema could not have been nicer or done more to make up for it. What a wonderful location; we were able to walk around the town and enjoy the local restaurants.

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad room at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msb1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Started off by landing in Santorini and the airport transfer was not there so I had to call the resort and they said he was late.

The rooms are very nice decor-wise, spacious and clean. On the downside, the hot water in the shower was luke warm at best and accessing wifi never really worked from the room.

After departing for another hotel in Imerovigli, the reception said they would call the other hotel to let them know we were coming, but never did as we got slightly lost.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howdevious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Megalochori
6.5 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
6.7 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.6 mi away
Calderas Dolphin Suites
Calderas Dolphin Suites
#2 of 7 in Megalochori
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
1.4 mi away
Lilium Villas Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini

Address: Megalohori, Megalochori 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Price Range: $334 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away within the medieval village of Megalohori, the enchanting Vedema, A Luxury Collection Resort, has evolved from a 400-year-old wine cellar into an authentic, Cycladic-styled property. Vedema houses 46 spacious suites and villas, all with their own terraces and some with Jacuzzis or private pools. Dedicated to the needs of seasoned travellers, this family friendly resort encourages a sophisticated and relaxed philosophy for its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedema Hotel Megalochori
Vedema Resort Santorini
Vedema Hotel Santorini
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing