We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff and architecture of property is beautiful but would not return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Vedema

10 mins from port. Inner city and not on water- can only see from highest parts of property. 

Flat property for most part with a few levels. Gorgeous black "castle" looking rocks with on most of property to contrast the usual white Greek stucco. 

Restaurant and wine tasting room below are gorgeous. Right out of a period movie or Lord of the Rings "prancing pony". All stone, wine casks, lots of black iron...only thing missing is the iron clad guards at front. Entrances with massive wood doors with black iron hinges. Menu is what we have seem at almost every high end place with fancy versions of beef filet, lobster spag, fish such as sea bream, etc. Heavy on the seafood and lots of high end pairings. Prices around 18-28 euro for main courses. 

Staff is very nice and kind. 

Will loan money directly to room to go on bill but charge 2 %

Good tv in room

Shuttles are convenient and timely. 

Negatives:
No light in shower stall so shower in partial light from vanity- how is maid able to see if it is clean or not I wonder?

Confusing light switches on walls

WORST breakfast possibly ever. Holiday inn in states is better and i don't eat there either if you get my point.  50 euro for 2 continentals and they charge 35 euro if you want eggs. Pancakes and French toast is cold, bacon is gummy, and the selections are abysmal. Unexecptable. I will not eat at the entire resort at all after that disappointment. U can get a full breakfast behind church across from hotel for 9 euro. My stomach was even upset after the few items I did try.   Menu was poor for other choices. Expensive and just eggs crepes or omelets. 

Water does not get too hot in bathroom sink or shower. 

Try to sell u too much on services/tours outside of island right upon check in. 

Asked for ice and none showed even though I tipped 10 euros in advance. 

Cannot find any decent breakfast place anywhere around the hotel. If u want traditional coffee good luck. We even drove to pyros and places advertise waffles etc but when you go in they don't have them. Greek coffee is all u can did which is instant coffee with sludge on bottom. 

Beach is unique what with black sand but is public which means some areas are clean and some are littered. Cheesy American feel to bars/lunch spots along road parallel to beach and the service is very poor. 

Vedame has a nice section for guests only at the beach but their restaurant is the same menu as the hotel including the high prices but with none of the ambience- which is why it is dead empty. The neighboring establishments are much cheaper and are busier. 

Phones are difficult to use in the room. Need to dial a 601 to reach desk - unlike traditional 0- and speed dial buttons to desk room service do not work. No one instructs you of this which requires a walk to lobby to ask. 

Hot water pitcher in room does not work. 

We booked business class tickets in advance for ferry to Mykonos. My fault for not better reviewing the tickets when delivered by hotel staff -which are in Greek- and was economy  Not a huge deal but creates unnecessary confusion when checking into ferry as well as haunt smaller seats for the 2.5 hour ride. 

Staff is extremely young and very unknowledgable. When asked for anything as small as coffee in the area we know more then they do about the local area. Mystique is on a whole other level which is odd given the 2 properties have the same general manager.

We would not return here given the property doesn't have much to offer in dining choices or entertainment without going into Fira. 

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spgISLANDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amousios, General Manager at Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

'Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Vedema Resort and for your wonderful comments regarding
the architecture of the property, the staff, the transfers, and our medieval 400 year old wine cellar, where our award winning restaurant and wine bar are located.

Please allow us to make some notes on your concerns:

Indeed Vedema does not offer the direct view to the Caldera and the Volcano as the cliff side properties do. But this is what sets it apart as an intimate sanctuary of relaxation. Being built in the middle of Megalochori, Vedema offers the concept of complete privacy and the experience of a traditional Santorinian village.

Regarding the light in the showers, these are being lighted by the main lights at the bathroom. This is the reason why there is no extra lighting inside the shower cabins. The light switches operate by both sides, near the door and beside the bed, which offers convenience during evening and when going to sleep.

Our breakfast, being served in a buffet style, offers a wide selection of hot and cold items with a big emphasis on Greek traditional character including a selection of pies, pastries and cookies, local cheeses, fresh seasonal fruit and yoghurt and freshly squeezed juices. Alternatively guests can choose from the Ala Carte
breakfast menu with a wide selection of dishes. However please accept our apologies if we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Our Concierge and Front Office is available 24/7 to offer our guests information for the island and the activities and of course to assist with any kind of bookings and reservations. Their aim is to make the guests aware of all their options on the island, so when they settle in, they can stop by the office again and book the activities or restaurants they prefer. One more of their operations is to assist guests with anything they might need at the hotel, and notify other departments of anything the guest requires, If this is requested or mentioned. Therefore, we are very surprised to hear that you could not get enough hot water in your bathroom, or that ice was not delivered when requested, or the water boiler did not work. This is something we will definitely look into and thank you very much for bringing these matters to our attention.

I am afraid we can not comment in detail the restaurants and cafés at the vicinity, but we must note that there are 6 restaurants and traditional tavernas in the village of Megalohori including the hotel’s restaurant, all within walking distance from Vedema offering visitors a wide choice of dining options. Regarding Perivolos, the famous back sand beach, this is the largest organized beach on the island. As you mention, there are very busy bars with loud music and wild partying, and this is why at the private space of Vedema we do not accept outside visitors, so we can offer our guests the option to choose between the busy bars and the peaceful version of the private area.

Concerning the telephone system, we do understand that it is always easier to dial one number, but we do provide on the telephone face the 3 digit extension numbers for all departments.

Regarding the tickets, the amount authorized was for economy class, that is why economy class tickets were booked. Please accept our sincere apologies for the misunderstanding and the inconvenience on this matter.

We would like to thank you again for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at Vedema in the future to offer you an exceptional stay and reverse your experience to a great one.


Kind regards,

Alex Mousios
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 518 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

Although our stay at Vedema started out full of stress due to US Air, the staff at Vedema could not have been nicer or done more to make up for it. What a wonderful location; we were able to walk around the town and enjoy the local restaurants.

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad room at this location.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msb1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Started off by landing in Santorini and the airport transfer was not there so I had to call the resort and they said he was late.

The rooms are very nice decor-wise, spacious and clean. On the downside, the hot water in the shower was luke warm at best and accessing wifi never really worked from the room.

After departing for another hotel in Imerovigli, the reception said they would call the other hotel to let them know we were coming, but never did as we got slightly lost.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howdevious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We checked in at Vedema for 3 nights in the Athenian Suite - 5 levels, 2 terraces complete with loungers, a table and chairs, 2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, and the most incredible view. The hotel arranged to have a car pick us up at the airport, which was great. The first night, we arrived tired and chose to eat dinner with our friends (who were also staying at the resort) at one of the restaurants on the property, called Vinsanto. Good food, interesting room (you eat in 400-year-old wine cellar), but it was very quiet, as the typical tourist season is almost over. We spent a lot of time in Fira, which is about a 15 minute taxi ride away - great shopping (very unique stores), amazing restaurants and breath-taking views. Vedema is about 25 minutes away from Oia, which is also a great spot for photos. If you're looking for beach access, the resort has a shuttle service that runs to the beach multiple times a day, and even their own private hotel section with loungers on the sand.

The best way to describe Vedema would be an adorable hotel, hidden away from all of the hustle and bustle of the nearby tourist chaos. Expect clean rooms, very traditional Greek interiors (all white walls and blue window shutters) with air-conditioning and tile throughout. Our friends travelling with us were originally from the nearby island of Paros, speak Greek, and spend a fair amount of time in Greece, so their expectations were extremely high for Vedema - and they loved it also. We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelEatPrayLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is such a cute hotel, tucked away in a little Greek city. It was an old wine cellar at one point that was remodeled into a hotel. The pool is wonderful, a great place to watch the sunset, the hot tub is located in a secluded area of the resort. The rooms are very spacious. It's simply a very romantic place!

It is a drive from the main city & from the beach. Shuttles are provided to both.

If you like the hussle of the main city, don't stay here, it will be too far away for you. If you want a romantic beautiful place, that is more private, then this is perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JetSetJeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went to Vedema on the second part of our Santorini stay. Our first stay was in Oia at Perivolas.
The hotel is much bigger and situated right in the town centre, which is one of the tiniest on the island, I magine.
We were met warmly, service was excellent, breakfast generous, and shuttles punctual.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParisKarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Exactly what we needed! My wife and I booked a trip to Santorini for complete R+R and Vedema was the perfect property. Pleasantly located away from the crowds of “Cruisers” and conveniently connected to all points of interest via the very punctual shuttle (ask for Arturo). The entire staff is warm, professional and very accommodating. Alex (Hotel Manager) and Dionysis (Restaurant Manager) have created a very enjoyable experience that rivals other luxury properties. The service and physical location is not as crisp and particular (as Four Seasons, Aman, etc.) but there is a unique charm that is very memorable. Jenny, Maria and Harris tend to the breakfast / lunch area and always provide a great experience (the breakfast is very enjoyable). Dennis (aka Superman) and Theodossia (Concierge) are always available to provide assistance. Please trust Theodossia’s recommendations…specifically the half day cruise (do not wear white or jewelry) and dinner at Rakis…an authentic Greek evening.
The property is not without minor flaws but nothing that would prevent a great experience at a fair price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Megalochori
6.7 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
6.5 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
3.9 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Calderas Dolphin Suites
Calderas Dolphin Suites
#2 of 7 in Megalochori
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suites of the Gods Spa Hotel
Suites of the Gods Spa Hotel
#5 of 7 in Megalochori
442 reviews
1.2 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini

Address: Megalohori, Megalochori 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Price Range: $308 - $4,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away within the medieval village of Megalohori, the enchanting Vedema, A Luxury Collection Resort, has evolved from a 400-year-old wine cellar into an authentic, Cycladic-styled property. Vedema houses 46 spacious suites and villas, all with their own terraces and some with Jacuzzis or private pools. Dedicated to the needs of seasoned travellers, this family friendly resort encourages a sophisticated and relaxed philosophy for its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedema Hotel Megalochori
Vedema Resort Santorini
Vedema Hotel Santorini
Vedema, a Luxury Collection Resort, Santorini Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing