We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveler rating
356
31
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
31
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsromantic suiteour honeymoonamazing viewsthe cliffoutdoor jacuzzilarge balconybeautiful hotelthe busrental carenjoy the viewwatch the sunsetimpeccable servicepool areaother islandsspent a weekcleaned dailyfira town
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 394 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

I have stayed In many a hotel / apartment across the world whilst on holiday but the Athermi Suites has to be one of the nicest places I have ever stayed.

The absolute best thing about this place is it’s staff / owners. They literally cannot do enough for you and appear to be on hand 24/7 (although I’m sure they are not :) )

They recommend places to go, places to eat, best modes of travel (helping you out with buses, booking taxis or just pointing you in the right direction if you are walking )

Everyone here is so friendly and they make you feel so welcome.

There are 12 apartments here so it’s nice and peaceful and the views are breathtaking. We stayed in the main building for a few nights in a standard room which was fantastic excellent facilities including air con, a fridge and a tv. The room was pretty big and had a nice terrace again with amazing views over the cliffs and sea. This is standard of all the rooms as they all face the same direction.

On the last few nights we moved to one of their pool suites which has its own private deck with a pool and a jacuzzi hot tub. It was amazing. We even had private dining on our deck where it was set up with a table and lots of candles.

There is a restaurant and bar here as well there is quite a wide range of fantastic food on the menu, reasonably priced, home made and tasted fantastic. The bar is fully stocked so no problems there.

Location wise it’s about 15 mins by taxi from Thira which is the main town with all the shops bars restaurants and nightlife - we really liked that we were a short ride away as you wouldn’t have got the peace and quiet we got staying in the heart of Thira, it’s very busy and touristy

There is a small village about 5 mins walk from the apartments which is great if you want to stretch your legs, there is also a supermarket for you to stock up your fridge.

This is the first time We have been to Santorini but we are already planning our return and we wouldn’t hesitate to come back to the Athermi Suites !!!!!!!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ashleyjblackwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

Ideally situated on the beautiful coastline of the Aegean sea, the Athermi Suites hotel offer uncomplicated luxuries. These exquisite treasures allow you to relax and unwind whilst you enjoy the unformissable pleasures of their breathtaking views and magnificent sunsets from either the poolside terrace or one of their only eleven chic apartments - each of which are enriched with subtle naudic themes that mirror the romantic shadows that dot the colourful caldera.
Your visit is further enhanced by the family run team who work tirelessly to exceed your expectations. Here, you will not meet a better concierge on the island than Spiros - a master craftsman whos spirit and values echo the true meaning of customer excellence.
Access to the gateway of the island is situated within a stones throw from the hotel and the traditional village of Megalochori. Catch a local bus and within 15 minutes you are transported to Fira, the busy capital of the island. Visit the museums, shop or take a boat ride to the islands famous vulcano and hot springs. Another 15 minute ride to the northwest and you'll bump into Oia, a fashionable playground for the wealthy connoisseurs.
A sort trip south of the hotel and you'll discover Akrotiri and her abandoned archeological city that dates back to 1500BC. Within a blink of an eye, you'll be knocking on the doors of the trendy beach bars of Perissa or Kamari.
Santorini is everything you could ever imagine it to be. Picturesque and tranquil yet vibrant and colourful. Off the beat and track you'll discover small local tavaners that offer all the flavours of Greece without punching a hole in your pocket.
Simple pleasures do not get much better than this!
"As I wake, the morning sun begins to stretch it's feathered wings. The light draws the warm air from beyond as my ears cast a shadow on 'Concerto De Aranjuez- Adagio'. The taste of fresh coffee whispers to me as I wipe away the sleep. My eyes struggle to gaze upon the shimmery reflections that dance across the colourful surface of the sea. Then suddenly, they steal a breath.
Distant volcanic islands dot the landscape and for now, the winds are still. It's October and I hear it's raining in London, but for now, everything I know is called paradise."

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank undercover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely stunning ...... the views are amazing and the attention to detail in the rooms was fantastic. We stayed in both the honeymoon suite with jetted tub and the private infinity pool room - i can honestly say i was blown away with the private infinity pool room it is by far one of the best rooms ive ever stayed in and the view - i sat there for hours just looking out to sea. I recommend upgrading to this room - its worth it!
Sue at the bar was lovely- always happy to help - she is a credit to this hotel. I fell in love with the pina coladas ...... perfect holiday drink!
All the staff did an amazing job - spyros was full of helpful advice and was keen to ensure we were happy throughout our stay.
The rooms were spotless and cleaned daily. A huge thank you to all the staff you do a fantastic job !
We visited thira nice area with bars shops and restaurants getting the bus was easy and didnt take long - fira was busy it was nice to retreat back to the peace and tranquility of athermi suites !

Only negatives - we didnt know the athermi restaurant was closed for the season - was looking forward to visiting as this also has great reviews!
The road- no paths - i felt very vunerable walking in the dark along the road with cars speeding past.
Book this hotel you will not be disappointed ❤

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fosbyr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017

We booked the jacuzzi room and it is every bit as lovely as the photos show--unimpeded view of the caldera and the sunsets with Akrotiri off to the left. Well thought out, artistic features in the room itself--things like carved door handles, rock walls--I understand that they are handmade by the owner, who truly has an artistic eye and a craftsman's skill. I loved the shower--pretty simple, but if you turned your back to the showerhead wall, you'd be looking through the window at the beautiful sea in front of you. The deck with the jacuzzi on it had 2 lounging chairs and a kind of settee so you could be out of the sun and still enjoy the view. All of that made it hard to want to leave the room. The pool was lovely, though I only saw one person use it and it wasn't me or my husband--I'd have felt I was in a fishbowl and at 66 with 66 reasons to cover-up, that's not such a great thing! We did spend a good deal of time around the pool though and made a serious dent in their wine stock--house wine was ok but with that view you could be drinking kerosene and think it was ok. I bought a bottle of Santos wine in Megalochori at a small market store--16E, I think--and it was extraordinary. (The cheapest Santos wine at the duty free airport store was 35E. Oops. Lesson learned.) Breakfast was good and plentiful. We had never been to Santorini before but we know that we don't like crowds that could move you along even if your feet aren't on the ground. We didn't want to be part of what a TA forum poster referred to as the "sunset lemmings." (Watch a you tube video to see what that means.) We were there 2 nights and ate both nights in Megalochori. It was a nice experience and Megalochori was a great place to visit. Still, I hate that we missed Pyrgos. The bus schedule didn't work for us and the cab fare was expensive--20E each way. And it's not far! What was unsettling for us was that walking to Megalochori (or even in Fira and Imerovigli) was accompanied by fear that you'd be some car's hood ornament. Good Lord, cars speed along. Rather unpleasant--not nice walks on country roads. We liked the bus ride to Oia and our walk around town; we didn't like that it took so much time to make connections to other places. With only 2 days, we didn't want to book long tours. That's our fault, not Santorini's. So here's my thought in retrospect: stay at Athermi Suites and go nowhere--rely on everyone else's pictures or bring a pocket full of euros for cabs and private tours. Plan B would be to stay at the cheapest place that met your lowest standards and spend your money on cabs, great dinners, private tours--and stay longer than 2 days. But--we loved Athermi Suites and are glad to have had the acquaintance of the wonderful staff we met there in such beautiful surroundings. Oh, walk to Heart Rock!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi room was wonderful. Loved its special touches & great views.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank singinintherain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

Santorini is, of course, all about the views. Not too many other islands are the partial remnants of a massive volcanic caldera. So it stands to reason that you want to appreciate these unique views.

Athermi Suites are built right on the edge of the caldera, giving spectacular views across the caldera. Indeed, the romantic suite is built into the cliff edge, with its windows flush with the rock face, giving one of the most unbelievable views imaginable. The poolside bar area is a fantastic place to watch the sunset, preferably with a cocktail.

The hotel is very clean, with a laid back aesthetic - white painted driftwood, lots of natural stone etc. It's located in a very quiet spot about ten minutes from the hustle and bustle of Thira (which was ideal for us, as we were on honeymoon), and just across the road from the lovely village of Megalochori, with plenty of dining options at more reasonable prices than in Thira.

Staff were very helpful - Spyros was extremely welcoming, and Sue was fantastic with drinks, towels, and everything else we needed to be comfortable. We had a pretty fantastic salad for lunch on our first day, and breakfast was excellent throughout - simple, but everything was obviously of the highest quality. Likewise with toiletries and accessories - this is not somewhere that cuts corners and rather concentrates on doing a few things very well.

There is a bus stop 5 minutes walk away, or you could hire a car (we didn't bother, since we sampling local wines everyday) and if you want to organise an outing, they'll take care of it for you as well. A very impressive hotel, can't imagine staying anywhere else if we go back to Santorini!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank discoverypark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews