We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Greek Villa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas and Mansions of Santorini
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Perfect Greek Villa”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Villa Io is exactly what you picture when you think of an authentic Greek Island villa. It seamlessly incorporates all the conveniences and comfort of a modern home with the charming beauty of the Greek lifestyle. The villa was spotlessly clean and in perfect order. The manager, Paul, made himself available if we needed anything at all. He also introduced us to the fabulous restaurant "Raki," just steps down a stone path. The food there is terrific and the staff is on hand to give directions or any advice you might need. There is a small market and a bakery a very close walk away. We loved getting up in the morning, eating fresh baked goods and drinking coffee and juice at our own private pool. On an island where every view is prettier that the last, I can't think of a single place that would've made me happier!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susanhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

On our recent trip to Greece, we stayed at the Villas and Mansions of Santorini in Megalochori. our villa came with a pool and was large enough to accomodate a diverse ( diverse in age and interest) family. Megalochori is just around the corner from Fira and Oia and our villa came complete with car rental. Megalochori is the perfect small village if one wants to have a glimpse into real Greek island life.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BatonRougeGumbeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We started our tour in Cyclades islands from Santorini. It was our biggest mistake..I was with my French husband and our child.We had made a reservation for 6 days in this supposed Villa Ivi.When we arrived in Santorini, there was nobody to wait us on the airport although we had a private tranfser arranged by this property. After a lot of tiredness and an hour spenting for waiting a taxi, we arrived in Villa Ivi, in an isolated village of Santorini called Megalochori. This Villa has only the title of "villa", it is such a crib! We were waiting one more hour to check - in, when suddenly came a drunk,unrefined and rude person named Mr. Petros. We finally checked in and tried to make a shower to get relaxed after all this suffering and there was no hot water and no shampoo or bathfoam in the bath. Τhe next morning, we asked for breakfast (included in the price) and Mr. Petros told us that there was nobody to prepare it..He suggested us to get the breakfast outside in a nearby taverna! After all this trouble with this supposed villa ivi, we decided to leave the island completely and we told to Mr. Petros to give us back the deposit money we had already paid before our arrival. Mr. Petros responded aggressively, threaten us and started to blast us with very vulgar characterizations.
He refused to give us our money back and he didn't issue not even an invoice for the deposit money.
It was definetely our worst experience we have had the last years and in our 12 days visit in Cyclades.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank helenedvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed in two villas, one inland the other looking over the calderas both offered a unique experience. They are well kitted out with a superb maid who cleaned every morning. Beat a hotel hands down in our opinion.

Complete privacy and Petros the owner couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. THE ONLY negative is that both villas could do with a fresh coat of paint.

Highly recommended for couples, not so ideal for kids due to terrain etc. !

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluericky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Sometimes, what you imagine something to be is a disappointment in real life. This was not the case with our stay in charming Megalochori. The Mansion 1878 perfectly emboidied what my imagination needed Santorini to be. The rooms are well comfortable and the villa itself is breath taking. The service was fantastic. The Manager, Petros, was very communicative during booking and very responsive.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank splurbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaud
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Away from the hustle and bustle that characterizes Santorini in summer, the village of Megalochori, and in particular its charming traditional settlement, feels miles away from it all. An unusal choice on an island famed for its view of the Caldera, but one we enjoyed greatly. The village was built hidden from sight to avoid pirate attacks and the settlement is characterised by tiny alleys and high whitewashed walls. Behind one of these walls is Villa Io, which according to whom you listen to was a wine reserve, the village school, or both. I favour the wine theory. The walls are done in ochre red, a strikingly beautiful colour under the Greek sun and a welcome break from the ubiquitous white and blue. Once past the door is a courtyard with a small pool (round, around 6M across) which has the great benefit of being shallow on half its surface, which is fab for young kids or for sifting champagne, but does get quite warm. Inside is all arched doorways, whitewashed walls and ancient wooden fixtures. It's absolutely charming and feels quite authentic rather than a newly built Disneyland like "cycladic house", so a lot of character. Main rooms are fine but bedrooms are slightly cramped and the huge bath is really designed to help house the entire family in 10 cms of water, so if you are expecting a 5* Mandarin you should not come here. However, for a genuine feel, beautiful residence and a unique position inside an unspoilt village, this was a great find.

The guys who run Villas and Mansions of Santorini pay attention to details (traditional building techniques, great use of colour, all resulting in genuine charm) and are extremely helpful and professional, so top marks on that side too.

The house is about 150 meters from the main square of Megalochori which houses a super friendly (and good) restaurant called Raki, famed for a scene if "Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants", in front of the beautiful main church. Vespas and cars are few and far between although the village retains a lively local community that goes about its own business. All nice !

All in all, a great place to spend a week or a few days.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I went for 5 days and stayed 14d at Kyani villa and Mansion 1878 . It has something this area -I think it is its energy -the village is Megalochori ,where the two villas are located The place has a very strong and positive energy-with just 5h of sleep you think you have slept 20h . It was an amazing experience.
Moreover, the management has the Raki tavern which is one of the 5 best in world according to Code Naste Traveller and the cheapest in comparison with all others finalists. In other words value 4 money.
The most intrigue thing is that all food,beverages are Greek even the refreshments.
I am thinking very seriously to go once again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Megalochori
2.7 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
393 reviews
6.6 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
1.2 mi away
Zannos Melathron Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
3.8 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
1.7 mi away
Ambassador Aegean Luxury Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas and Mansions of Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas and Mansions of Santorini

Property: Villas and Mansions of Santorini
Address: Megalochori, Megalochori 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Megalochori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Megalochori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villas and Mansions of Santorini 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas and Mansions of Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas And Mansions Of Santorini Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing