We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Natalia's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Douliana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Natalia's House
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
“Just Perfect!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Natalia's Houses, Douliana,Crete.

We had a great time. The house was nicely decorated , very clean and perfect for a family. The hospitality was perfect and we felt like home. the location of this wonderful tratitional village was just 30 min. from Chania.

Thank you Vasso for your hospitality and we certenly want to visit you again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evanthia1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Natalia's House, set in the quiet "off the beaten track" village of Douliana is a secret we don't really want to tell the world about! However, Vasso and Andreas really should be congratulated on their wonderful accommodation and hospitality, and if you want a holiday that is away from the tourists, quiet and with first class "homely" accommodation this is a must to visit. A car is obviously essential, enabling one to visit the west part of the island - the major cities on the northern coast (Chania and Rethymnon) easily, and about an hour and a half away, the beautiful south coast. A small beach just a couple of kilometres away was very quiet, and with a couple of larger villages about 10 mins away for groceries, this is a perfect location. Vasso is so welcoming. On arrival we were going to go and get provisions to makes ourselves a meal - oh no! Vasso is cooking and insists we join her. Beautiful home cooked Greek food. This was the beginning of an excellent week. The house we stayed in was perfect. Excellent welcome pack, which set us up for excellent breakfasts (including her superb homemade marmalade). Four poster bed with mosquito net, "proper" shower - although we're more than happy with Greek showers - and hairdryer should you need it! Beautiful gardens in which to relax and listen to the cicadas and goats going about their business. Small pool, crystal clean, with sun loungers as well as a couple of sofas, plus tables/bar area. Always really quiet, relaxing and intimate. There's a very good traditional taverna about 4 mins walk away. Perfect for us but if you want a pizza that was also on offer - home cooked (they also did a delivery service!). There was another taverna right next to Natalia's House, but whilst there this had closed down. The mini market that Vasso runs has the essentials and if, as we did, you run out of bread, she'll give you hers! In conclusion, an extremely clean, charming and stylishly traditional home from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCSEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Following on from many of the reviews already written about this charming property, we have to agree: what a lovely place to stay! Set in the bucolic village of Douliana (a small window onto the more rural side of North coast, Western Crete), my husband and I awoke both of our two mornings to the sound of goats' bells drifting up from the valley below & the smell of wild thyme wafting through our window. Vasso, the incredibly kind hostess, did everything she could to make our stay an unforgettable one, from coming up with interesting itineraries for us (we enjoy wandering off the beaten track) to providing, free of charge, bread and cake to round off one of our self-catered evening meals (there are, though, also two village restaurants just a short, balmy evening's stroll away!) As we were staying in early June when the property wasn't full, we also received an upgrade to one of the larger - and immaculately furnished and spotlessly clean - 2-bedroom cottages. 2 nights really wasn't enough time here...!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloway, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently traveled to Crete,Greece for a wedding of a family member.We stayed at Natalia's where we were instantly welcomed like family by the Lurakis family. Their warmth,generosity and hospitality were unsurpassed.The beauty and comfort of our villa felt like home away from home. The mountain scenery from our balcony was amazing. After freshing up we were treated to a traditional Cretan meal by our warm and wonderful host Vasso. We can't tell how much we miss that food,I try to recreate it but it just not the same. The following night Vasso hosted a village party for the Bride and Groom to be. Everyone from the village was invited and everyone came.The music ,the food,the drink, the celebration is one we will always remember.The wedding was amazing,Vasso preformed the ceremony,and did a great job I might add. Crete has to be the best place on earth to get married the beauty of the island mixed with the beauty of the ceremony was the best ever.I consider Vasso a lifelong friend and will recommend her House to everyone I know,it is truly that wonderful. I can't wait to return! Love you all and miss you more! XXOO

Room Tip: If all the rooms are as nice as ours was you have nothing to worry about,honestly they are beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Natalia's Houses are a beautiful place to retreat to in Crete, set in the idyllic and quiet village of Douliana. The house we stayed in (two bedroom) was spacious and had everything we could possibly need. Our host, Vasso, was so warm, attentive and helpful. You couldn't have a better host in fact. The village was a lovely place to wander and was very peaceful and quiet and yet it was a short drive to neighbouring villages and beaches. I would definitely recommend Natalia's Houses to anyone visiting Crete.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I almost regret writing the lovely words that I will write as I never want to be unable to stay here for lack of room - this is a special place on the planet- the light, the location, the handcrafted rooms, the unbelievably kind and generous owners... take a walk with Vasso and come back with your pockets full of lemons, pomegranates olives, carob, and then go into your kitchen and make some wonderful little meal. i want to come back again and again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank portoluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you want a quiet rural location that's convenient for the beach (2km away) and for the main cities (Chania 30 minutes, Reymethion 1hr 15mins & Heraklion 1hr 45mins), with excellent hospitality, pool, with superb restaurant next door, wonderful countryside, interesting local villages then this is the place for you.

We did an extensive search and this property & holiday stood out above the rest and we were not disappointed. Vasso, our hostess was most welcoming and kind. We took the B&B option and had a great start to each day with a big breakfast.

We can thoroughly recommend this property it's hostess and location for a great holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douliana
0.0 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#21 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forum Suites
Forum Suites
#1 of 4 in Chrissi Akti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minos Village
Minos Village
#13 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Douliana Villas
Douliana Villas
#2 of 3 in Douliana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natalia's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natalia's House

Property: Natalia's House
Address: Douliana, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Douliana
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Douliana
Hotel Class:3 star — Natalia's House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Natalia's House Douliana, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing