We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to stay at Western Crete”
Review of Natalia's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Douliana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Natalia's House
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Having been come back a week ago we are still at this charming and peasful place in our dreamings - Natalia's Houses. Placed in the small picturesque village it is just 30 minutes from Chania with its beautiful Old Town and 10-15 minutes from sandy Almirida and Kalyves beaches.
The houses are built in traditional cosy way, the hosts do theire best to satisfy you, the terrace allows to observe surroundings, the pool with refreshing water - what else could be wished!
The hostess Vasso is a pattern of a hospitality (thanks a lot for your wonderful orange marmelade and olive oil!).
I wish we could see this place again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ludmila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Natalia's House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 109 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

We spent an amazing week with our mother and aunt at this incredible family run rural accommodation in a small village in western Crete not far from Chania (30 minutes from the Chania airport by taxi). With the impressive, snow covered White Mountains in the distance overlooking the quaint village of Douliana, we felt like we had arrived in a piece of heaven. Vasso and Andreas, the hosts and owners of the four "houses" that comprise Natalia's Houses, not only made us feel welcome, but truly part of their family throughout our entire week long stay. Fresh vegetables and fruit along with Vasso's delicious homemade marmalade, eggs and olive oil from their own olive trees greeted us for our first day's breakfast.

The view from Natalia's Houses is stunning and since the road to the village is too narrow for large buses, it is quiet and peaceful. The few tourists who find their way to the village seem to blend in. Every morning village residents would take their sheep and goats with their bells to the fields surrounding the village. It is easy to walk around Douliana and take in the fresh air, sights, sounds and scenery.

Our two bedroom house called Lydia was immaculate and spacious for four people. In addition to the bedrooms, there is a living room with a fireplace, dining area, kitchen and two outdoor patios. The one faces the White Mountains and where we spent most of our time while resting after a busy day. Less than a minute walk from our door is a nice pool and area to relax adjacent to the outdoor kitchen that serves the family and is a place for quests to order drinks etc. Vasso and Andreas pride themselves in the beautiful flowers and other plants that can be found throughout Natalia's.

Although daily breakfast is not provided as part of one's stay, the kitchen facilities in our unit enabled us to prepare as many meals as we wished. Vasso is happy to prepare meals for her guests if requested. Vasso has a small store on the premises so we could stock up on the basics. Having a car is essential unless one wishes to spend their whole time in the village. Chania and other beach towns are not far where there are supermarkets to purchase food and other goods as needed as well as wonderful sights to see. In addition to a traditional Greek cafe, the village of Douliana has two tavernas, one literally beside Natalia's. The food at both was excellent and the one on the other side of the village is a traditional outdoor taverna with more traditional Cretan food.

We cannot say enough about our time at Natalia's. Not only was the accommodation top notch, the village and scenery peaceful and spectacular, the warmth and generous spirit with which Vasso and Andreas welcomed us was beyond expectation. We made new friends in this special part of Crete. It was truly a memorable week and we plan to return as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Excellent accommodation - clean and spacious with traditional Cretan architecture and ambiance. Roo...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucevicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Everything about our stay in Natalia's houses was perfect from the moment we arrived until we left, (except that 4 days was too short!!!). We arrived tired and hungry from travelling and Vasou greeted us and immediately presented a beautiful and very delicious meal of briam, village sausages, mizithra cheese made by a friend and wine made by another friend. It was a wonderful welcome. We enjoyed seeing the area around Douliana also. There is a nice beach at Kalyves, and visiting Chania was another highlight. The cooking facilities in Dias house where we stayed were excellent, and we cooked meals each night, and sat outside in the lovely garden enjoying them. This is an excellent place to stay if you want a combination of sightseeing, time on the beach and at a very nice pool, walking, eating out in local tavernas, and self catering. We have visited many parts of Greek, and the village of Douliana and the accommodation at Natalia's Houses are some of the nicest places we have seen.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bidyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

The best of the best of Crete you'll find in Douliana (Ntlouliana) at Natalias Houses. This warm familiy house with 4 appartments is truly fantastic. Hosted by Family Lourakis you will find yourself in a complete oasis of quietness, hospitality and comfort. The traditional built appartments are fantastic: clean, comfortable, airconditioned, and cosy. The beautiful arranged garden with flowers and olivetrees make you get that specific feeling of Crete. People who like to adapt to the village life (which is very relaxing), and like to enjoy 'Greek time', are welcomed here like they are family. Our kids were invited to join the first wine press in the village, together with all the other local children. They had a wonderful time. We enjoyed a village celebration with the familiy and we felt like we were their familiy ourselves. We had dinner at the family's almost every day and ofcourse we had Mrs. Lourakis famous Moussaka.

We have been here for the fourth time and everytime it is getting better. We can relax completely and also the children (twins 6 years old) have had a wonderful time. Two weeks was again too short.

We recommend this accomodation highly, because it is the best we have ever been to.

'till next time!

Jacco and Lora and the kids
The Netherlands

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonipoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Friendly and welcoming service in a charming rural location only 20 minutes by car from Hania. We were welcomed by Vasou on our arrival and stayed in Hera's house a clean rustic-style apartment with four poster bed on a first foor open to the rest of the apartment. Provisions for breakfast were provided (bread, eggs, coffee and oranges) which we ate on our own patio overlooking the countryside. Raki was always on offer on our way back in at night. Vasou and Andreas provided us with local knowledge of the village and island. Though we didn't make use of it there is a small pool available to guest and Vasou also cooks traditional evening meals.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james_booboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

As a familiy of 4 ,we spent 1 week at Vasso's place .It gave an oppotunity to meet the people of the country in an informal way ,yet keeping the privacy that we needed.
Vasso is a very special and Proud Greek Lady with a lot of experience as a host and resourceful as to where to travel ,shop or dine .
Staying in a more remote area ,yet only within driving distances to places in the area was certainly an advantage.
Beautiful & comfortable fully equipped appartments ,nice pool to cool off and if you challange Vasso ,she may also agree to cook a dinner for you...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joab29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

My wife and me went to Natalia's Houses for our honeymoon. We chose it from a catalogue because it seemed romantic and quiet, though not too far from the beach. At our arrival, Vasso (the owner) welcomed us in the small café at the swimming pool. We received cold drinks and got the chance to join the familie's lunch. We enjoyed it very much: It was a very warm and friendly welcome which made us feel like being with friends in a few minutes. And even better, it stayed that way. As another user from tripadvisor wrote, wonderful hospitality all the time.

Natalia's Houses seemed to us like a little, lovely paradise. The facilities are exactly as you would need them there. A small swimming pool with a few sun beds which is suitable for cooling down on a hot day when you're too lazy going to the beach. A small café for enjoying cool drinks, which you might take from the fridge and pay later. A mini market covering all basic needs although we did not try to get perishable food except bread and drinks there. Tip: Ask for the raki which is home-made!

We were in the Dias house, which provided everything we needed including a large fridge and a wonderful small terrace. We spend quite some time on the terrace eating and reading. It was exceptionally clean, even for german standards. Vasso had also provided a "little bit of everything" on food (bread, fresh vegetables, butter, coffee, drinks etc). There was no need for us to go shopping on our first day, something you appreciate very much after a long travel in a foreign country.

Douliana is a small and quiet village with around 54 residents and beautiful surroundings. There is a small restaurant / café addressing the people from abroad. And there is a traditional tavern serving traditional greek food (including breakfast) in very high quality at reasonable, affordable prices. We prefered the tavern. Thus, you only need to leave Douliana for going to the beach which is only a few minutes drive in Kalives or if you want to go shopping, which would be Kalives as well or Vamos nearby but in the other direction.

Natalia's Houses exceeded our expectations. Although we stayed only for 7 days, we had a very relaxing honeymoon. We will very gladly return there if we are in need of a relaxing and sunny holiday in the south of europe. Thanks again, Vasso, we will never forget our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cp_hm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douliana
0.0 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#19 of 47 in Georgioupolis
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minos Village
Minos Village
#11 of 31 in Agia Marina
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Douliana Villas
Douliana Villas
#2 of 3 in Douliana
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
Antilia Apartments
Antilia Apartments
#1 of 4 in Tavronitis
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natalia's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natalia's House

Address: Douliana, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Douliana
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Douliana
Hotel Class:3 star — Natalia's House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Natalia's House Douliana, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing