We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's always been an awesome experience staying in LE DUC”
Review of Le Duc de Praslin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Duc de Praslin
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Le duc indeed is a recommendale place to stay when you visit seychelles,
it was my second trip to seychelles and i still chose le duc to stay because of the wonderful experience they are bringing in me whenever i visiting seychelles,
i love the arts and theme of their hotel,as well as their hospitality of all the staff,you feel home when you arrived ,the comfort they are giving to the client is really awesome,
what you are paying is beyond expectation
i do love their international cuisine too,so what else i can ask for more,,instead of coming back for another trip again..
thank you le duc team...see you again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will_en08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

7 days of stay here was really AWESOME!!! Will surely come back here with my family and will recommend to all of my friends. Great and amazing hotel experience, friendly and excellent service of the staff. Had an unforgettable memories here. Keep it up!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TalaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed four nights during Christmas and there is not much to add from all the previous positive reviews. In general we had a very nice time at the Le Duc. We are a family of four (boys 11 and 7) and enjoyed the large family room tremendously. The terrace overlooked the pool so we were able to keep an eye on the boys from the room. The hotel and the garden is a feast for the eye and even if it was fully booked at the time it never felt crowded. The buffet dinner was of very high quality and breakfast was quite ok. The beach is stunning, but perhaps a bit shallow for some. Conveniently located for doing small excursions to nearby islands. Only a few small things should be commented: The staff are very nice and helpful, but we experienced a few small misunderstandings and errors during our stay. The internet should be free and/or of a better quality (maybe not possible??), Dinner started at 8.00 (9.00 on New years eve) which was a bit late for our taste (a lot of people were waiting to get started so I guess 7.00 would be appreciated by many). The airconditioning was not functioning 100% and even if they said someone would check, it never operated as it should. The rates during Christmas are high, but not for this kind of standard (I checked many places), and especially not in the Seychelles. All in all a wonderful stay! We would love to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oistein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We (parents and two daughters 20 and 15)stayed two weeks in the family suite. The hotel is of a pleasant small scale and provides everything you need. The rooms are big and nicely decorated with private balconies overlooking the lush garden and mineral swimming pool. Food is of an excellent quality and beautifully presented.All employees are very friendly and helpfull and make you feel at home. A big compliment to the whole team! It is a real familybusiness and the owner Robert Payet is always present. The long beach (ideal for a morning walk or jogging) is next to the hotel. There is also a posiibility to rent a brandnew three or four bedroomed villa with a great view. we are already looking forward to visit this beautiful place again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very disappointed with this hotel on arrival the receptionist was not at all helpful and think he would have been better at home . Room was next to the gardeners work place and tortoise shed , notice in the morning . Internet does not reach these rooms . When we walked to the beach to have a look the owner with his two dogs was letting them do there business where the guests sun bath ...no he did not pick it up .
Food was good BUT in the evening it is compulsory to wear long trousers for the men in 33 degrees this is a bit joke as we were there to eat and not look at men's legs !
Nobody told us about the renovations at the front hall , dinning area and bar and swimming pool area which was a mass of dust and noise .
Not one person asked us about our stay and we were there for 4 night .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank weelou68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed there as a couple in April of 2013. The hotel is very cosy, with a great landscape design, carefully detailed & maintained tropical garden that immerses guests into the paradise mood from first glance.
The superior suites are just perfect: large, great beds, a surprinsingly spacious and well appointed terrace facing the lovely garden & pool, separate rain shower & toilet, good storage space (kind of a walk in closet). Never felt like using the LCD TV, so I would not know anything about available channels, quality of reception, aso.
Our suite was at the first floor of one of the villas (#1204 I think...). Each villa has 4 identical suites (2 ground floor, 2 first floor), the only difference being the ones on the ground floor have a large porch opening into the garden instead of a terace/balcony, thus less privacy as the garden is riddled with pathways that guests use to move about.

There was indeed a rather faint sewage smell coming in through the bathroom window on a couple of occassions, but it did not persist nor altered our staying experience in any way.
We aboslutely loved the toiletries provided (although the next week when we stayed at the Northolme Hilton on Mahe we experienced some that had even more exotic aroma). Everything was replenished daily along with towels, without glitch.
The quality of room service was truly good.
The staff at reception was always welcoming, nice, helpful, expeditive & efficient. They were up to, if not above, par. We booked though them a few trips to neighboring islands, snorkeling trips, aso. Stayed away from the BBQ trips or as trip option. Good value, good experience, reliable.

Now to the food:
The quality of the hotel's restaurant & service did not match the level of the acommodation.
Breakfast was just ok. The selection was very limited. What saved the day was the fresh exotic fruit that was put out and the selection was changing every day as opposed to all of the other food choices that were exactly the same every day, again and again...

The a la carte menu we found of distinctly better quality but again it was expensive by measure to food.
One night we booked ourselved to their Creole themed dinner. By that night we have had experienced Creole cuisine at other restaurants outside the hotel therefore, by comparison, the buffet served by Le Duc was barely mediocre, both in terms of selection and the quality of some of the dishes that we had gotten acustomed to elsewhere.
The service: some of the ladies that service the restaurant at both brekfast and dinner were genuinely nice, polite, in a merry mood all the time and relaxed. Way too relaxed and unfocused for the job of waiting guests at a top rated restaurant, where a regular buffet dinner for two costs around 120 euros without drinks...
The experience changes dramatically for the better once you book yourself into the Cafe des Arts.
This is modern haute cuisine with matching table service. The setting is simply superb (by the beach in the sound of waves and the palms gently waving into the faint wind). The decor is of excellent taste. The food meniu is to die for. The wines, good. The cocktails, fantastic. The atmosphere, priceless. The experience is worth every penny. And there's a lot of pennies to put against the tab...We were baffled as the dinner tab at Cafe des Arts was only about 30-35% more expensive than the buffet dinner at the hotel's regular restaurant while the difference in quality and overall experience was a world apart. And as it turns out, both are owned by the same family (Payet). They ought to do something about it.
To the beach:
We rented a car (40e/day) that allowed us to travel around the island every day in search of varied beaches, restaurants & attractions. To us, Anse Volbert, seemed to be the best beach on the island. The combination of breathtaking scenery & views, perfect sand, perfect calm, clear waters was not matched by any of the other beaches we visited (Anse Lazio - steep waters, powerful waves, fenced against sharks; Anse Georgette - steep waters, even more powerful waves, gotta do a long & difficult walk through the Constance lemuria golf course to get to it, Anse Takamaka @ Raffles Resort - probably gets closest to Anse Volbert but still doesn't match it because of lesser views and lack of serenity; we found any of the beaches on the western coast a dissapointment - dirty, rocky, seaweed, stretching for miles on in plain sun, not much shade).
So the Anse Volbert location, the quality of acommodation and the amazing Cafe des Arts is what wins Le Duc de Praslin its top place amongst the quality, nearly-boutique hotels on Praslin. Alternatives within comparable quality & conditions and in relative proximity are La Reserve, Villas D'Or.

Dining options:

We have tried two other options, so good that we kept returning, alternatively to either of them:
Les Lauriers. A mere 5 mins walk afar from Le Duc, their dinner buffet is famous in Anse Volbert. So are the hosts & owners, Sibille & Edwin. Their salads are simply fantastic, so are their curries, their BBQ fish, lobster or poultry and red meats. Not to mentione their deserts based on fresh exotic fruit. It's truly quality and varied Creole cuisine. Fresh, tasteful, ever suprising (they change many dishes during the week) and perfect value for money (their dinner buffet is priced 25% less that Le Duc's but the difference in quality is beyond words.
The other place is a rather small restaurant, La Goulue - authentic Creole, relative small menu but very good. Excellent Octopus Curry. This is a la carte, portions are too big in our view. Prices slightly under Les Lauriers.

Rent a car and see around. It's worthwhile. Do a one day visit to La Digue and enjoy their postcard beaches (deemed many of them way overrated).

Enjoy Seychelles.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on the first floor in the villas accross the middle of the garden from the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank octavian_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I was very surprised at some of the negative reviews I read here. It was not at all our impression of Le Duc. It is a lovely property and despite that it was fully booked, it never felt crowded and we often were alone at the pool or restaurant. They also provide beach beds for their guests. We had booked superior room and it was spacious and clean. The shower was big. It had a washing line and it was great for hanging wet swim wear and there was plenty room for our snorkeling equipment (and it was still space to shower). The property has a lovely garden with beautiful flowers and plants.
Beach: It is a lovely, the sand in the sea felt like velvet. We have been to other paradise islands and there the sand in the sea has been more coarse and you needed shoes in the water. They also removed the sea weed that washed up on the beach.
Dinner: We were on B&B and had 2 dinners and some lunches in the main restaurant. All food was delicious. The 4 course dinner was excellent. It is rarely I find all courses good, but here they were.
We usually took a cocktail before dinners at the bar, they made a lovely margarita. We also had two dinners at Café des Arts, and it was great. Delicious food and nice surroundings.
We stayed for 9 days so we also had dinners at some other restaurants in the surrounding area and they were nice as well.
Staff: All the staff at Le Duc and Café des Arts were friendly and helpful. It is difficult to understand the negative reviews here on tripadvisor. We were met by helpful friendly personnel regardless of if it were reception staff, restaurant staff, cleaners or gardeners.
Price: It is not cheap but all of the Seychelles is expensive but we believe we got good value for our money at Le Duc. The cost for food and drinks are like here in Sweden but I have never had such delicious meals before.
Internet: One hour free/day. We actually did not use the internet at all our first 7 days and we are actually internet addicts. There is so much else you can do while on holiday in paradise.
Excursions: We did Curiuse+snorkeling at St Pierre. We also did snorkeling at Coco+Felicite and visited Anse Lazio.
We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peacockSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.2 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,071 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Anse Volbert
408 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel L'Archipel
Hotel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in Au Cap
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Duc de Praslin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Duc de Praslin

Address: Cote d'Or Beach, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range: $282 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Duc de Praslin 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an 'out of this world' location combined with world-class facilities and amenities, it is no wonder that Le Duc de Praslin is often considered as the 'Jewel of Cote D'Or'! It is set on Praslin's outstanding Cote D'Or beach in the Seychelles. The turquoise sea lapping the fine white sand of Cote D'Or beach is your daily playground - just a few steps away from your luxurious retreat amidst lush tropical gardens. Your ideal dream holiday becomes a reality with the widest choice of luxury accommodation and exquisite dining options. Le Duc de Praslin offers the holiday of a lifetime with true Seychellois hospitality and exceptional value. Extensive improvements and new additions to its facilities have won Le Duc de Praslin many awards to position it amongst the best hotels of Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Duc de Praslin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Duc De Praslin Hotel Praslin Island
Le Duc De Praslin Island
Le Duc De Praslin Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing