We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing tropical paradise”
Review of Les Villas d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Villas d'Or
Ranked #1 of 16 Anse Volbert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2007

We spent a week at the Villas D'Or in July as part of a 2-centre holiday, with the first week on Mahe.

Praslin Generally

Gorgeous tropical paradise, wonderful coastline and hilly, forested interior. Good base for trips to other islands such as La Digue. Depending on the time of year, some beaches are dangerous for swimming so do some research if this is important to you. The weather was generally very good, although it rained briefly once or twice it dried up again very quickly.

Villa Location

Right on the beach (see photos) on the East coast of Praslin. The beach is absolutely superb, a long swathe of white sand and with a very calm sea (at least in July). There are several other hotels and restaurants nearby, although the road is unlit and there is no footpath so a car is handy, as well as making it a lot easier to explore the island. Although there are some local shops and supermarkets the range of food is very limited with almost no fresh fruit/veg/meat so don't plan on being able to cook exotic dinners.

Villa Details

Well appointed with good size deck area and well furnished. The kitchen has all you need for the sort of cooking you are likely to be doing on a holiday like this. The slatted construction of the door and window frames means that it is impossible to keep insects out at night, so if you are bothered by mosquitoes take an electric repellent or get mosquito coils locally. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the maid sevice was very efficient. As the villas are semi-detached, if you only occupy one half you can hear your neighbours through the shared wall although this was no worse than in some hotel rooms. The tropical gardens are very well-tended and the villas are laid out so that they do not really overlook one another.

Summary

Superb destination for a relaxing holiday in luxurious surroundings without the formality of a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Stuart_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 351 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2007

We spent 5 nights at Villas D’Or on the second leg of our honeymoon and it lived up to our expectations. Whilst not 5* like the other places we stayed or as luxurious (you would not expect it to be), it was great, very peaceful. Situated right on Anse Volbert, we could see the ocean from our verandah and the villas are very spaciously laid out in beautiful, well cared for gardens. You hardly see a soul; we had the swimming pool completely to ourselves 5 out of 6 days. The villas are well designed with everything you need if you should try and self-cater, and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is brought each morning at any time you specify consisting of juice, fresh fruit, toast and conserves, tea and coffee. The staff are all friendly and Pierre is excellent; a great help, coming round each evening and making suggestions on restaurants, days out etc. Tante Mimi and Le Duc will send a car for you and we enjoyed both. The Lobster Bisque and Lobster Curry at Tante Mimi are superb. I have to say however, we did not enjoy La Goulue despite its recommendations on here. Guests staying at Villas D’Or on half board appear to get a good deal eating at a variety of local restaurants. We adored Anze Lazio, the sand, scenery and the size and ferocity of the waves. For us, Anze Lazio is truly one of the best beaches in the world. We enjoyed the crazy roads, the view from Zimbawe (if you dare) is breathtaking. We also took the boat to La Digue which is well worth visiting and charming. We were a little disappointed with Anse D’Argent which was very busy, a lot of seaweed and smelly.

In terms of self catering and generally holidaying in the Seychelles, there are some things which we simply could not find ie, suncream, all we found was either oil-based or factor 40, replacement reading material, etc. La Digue had even run out of bottled water the day before we went. There are several grocery stores in Baie St Anne and if you cannot find what you want in one shop, try a few more!! However, if you are self-catering anticipate eating lots of dried and frozen goods with fish as other fresh food is scarce. The only lime we had, we begged from the waitress in Tante Mimi!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Villas d'or are an excellent choice for self caterering tourists on Praslin Island. The one bedroom Villa has a bedroom, bathroom and a livingroom with kitchen plus a private terace with a garden. Everything very clean. spacious. The beach some meters away.

You have a fridge, aircon in the sleeproom, microwave, oven, CD player (local area coded), VCR, TV with 2 local programms.

No dishwasher and no washing machine.

We can only recommend this.

However, you shall have a car (we got one from local United Car Hire for 40 eur/day) and food shopping is not that easy. But there are plenty of restaurants in short travel distance.

The manager, Pierre, is very helpful and friendly.

I would recommend this over a standard hotel room.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OlafR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

I can't agree more with the review below. We had a fabulous time at Villas D'Or, the staff were second to none and the Villas are fantastic. We stayed in a two bed villa which was huge and well equipped for 4 adults and you'd have no problmes squeezing a couple of kids in as well given the space on offer. Hardly anyone else there during our stay and I imagine even at full capacity its still a private haven of tranquility. There are a lot of luxury options in the seychelles and if you can't afford to pay through the nose, but you don't want to compromise on location and accomodation standard then Villas D'Or is hard to beat. A truly lovely place with all the beauty of the Seychelles and kindness of the Seychellois people on your doorstep. I'll be recommeding it to all my friends for years to come!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2006

The Villas D'Or looks on the face of it like a 5 star hotel! On arrival you sweep through a long driveway full of flowers and palms and then reach reception. Claudianne greets you and is so helpful about everything - she even managed to find us limes when there were none to be had on the island!

The villas are all sea facing and the beach is literally yards away. They are very well furnished and decorated and have everything you need whether you self cater or not. Cleanliness is incredble with bed and towel change every day.

Food is easier to find now than the previous reviewer found. We found a small supermarket in Baie St Anne which had almost everything you need, even olive oil! The only thing difficult to find is salad stuff! Never found even a lettuce and the shop lady laughed at us each time I asked for something else! However, there are trucks that turn up by the side of the roads with various items like eggs, tomatoes etc.. so catch them quickly!!

What is so amazing about The Seychelles is that it is still so undeveloped. The people live simply on fish mainly , there are no major supermarkets only small shops and tourism has not been allowed to spoil these island (not sure about Mahe as didn't visit). If you want to eat fish yourself just go to the jetty in Baie St. Anne, wait for the conch to be blown and you will know when the fish is coming in! It really is as simple as that!

The beach at the villas is superb - beautiful white sand, calm sea and palm trees in abundance. The sun is incredibly strong though so beware - we got burnt through clouds having thought we were tanned already!

As in Bird review I made, you really don't need many clothes as you live in a swimming costume by day and casual by night unless you visit the Tante Mimi restaurant which is pretty smart dress. We preferred to self cater as it was such fun trying to buy stuff - you also see the local life when doing this.

Do buy wooden fish from Albert (Poisson en Bois) who is a real character.

All in all I would absolutely recommend the Villas D'or to anyone going to Praslin. Really friendly staff, particularly Claudianne, who really did bend over backwards to help us but everyone is lovely there and the accommodation is superb!

We will certainly be going back!!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank bass007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

I just came back yesterday from 10days at Seychelles, and 4 days at Les Villas D'or. All the good things about this hotel are confirmed, confortable villa, clean, nice, really close to a beautiful beache "Cote D'or".
The lady at the reception, Claudanne, is particularly nice and friendly; she helps me in any my activities and has always a smile in her face.
What is very annoying, is the attitude of a boy the work there, Pierre.
Talking to the others customers at the hotel, we found that before your arriving, he sends to every tourist female (of the couple) a sad email (from his own hotmail account), asking to buy (for apparently presents) mobile phone (particularly nokia mobile), after shave and other litlle things; every nice person, thinking that maybe people in the island can't easily buy one, do it and often doesn't accept payments (my case) or accepting (case of other people) payment in a SRupies at a very bad change.
So at end, the Smart Boy, organized a commerce in Mahe/Praslin of new mobile phone that customers brings to him, that he usually pay less that normale cause bad money change and leading on that he will use for presents and not for own illegal commerce.
I think that this is not really nice, cause appears as poor and desperate for build up an own business, is not what a tourist aspect in an holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank carmelo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

My husband and me stayed at Les Villas d'Or one week in Aug 2006. I adored the property! We stayed in the Villa I which is one of the closest to the sea, and while we were sipping our teas in the veranda (a nice lady came to the villa with the breakfast each morning) we had a look at the wonderful Anse Volbert seaside (see also photos, which are real...no photoshop!!).
Each villa has a nice living room, with kitchen, a bedroom and a bathroom. Everything is new and efficiently cleaned by landladies every morning. The great and iperefficient menager of the place also supplies barbecue in case of fresh fish to be properly cooked. He also helps for everything, from renting a car or a bike to arranging an excursion to the nearest islands (Cousin, Curieuse are a must).
Supermarket aren't far, about 10 min on foot along the beach or 10 min by bike at St. Anne bay, but do not expect great things from them (bread, rice, packed tuna, packed beans, some fresh fruits like mango, small tropical bananas, but olive oil is a ghost on the island!!!. We ate many times at local restaurants, as I wasn't so keen on cooking. But the kitchen is well equipped for a meal. Some people in the near villas took some food (not fresh, but pasta and dressings) from home...
The beach is the typical "paradise dream beach" with white sand, deep azure sea. No snorkeling here, though. But ideal for swimming, walking and relaxing in a calm, astonishing beautiful place (we were in the peak season and the beach was almost totally desert in the morning!!).
We took a small boat to the near St. Pierre Islet, in front of Anse Volbert and we warmly suggest the three island trip to the natural paradises of Cousin (300,000 birds live there) and Curieuse (where the giant Aldabra turtles are gathered and cared for). In sum..a great place..wish we were still there !!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fdrca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
1.1 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,422 reviews
1 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,043 reviews
5.5 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,071 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Anse Volbert
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Villas d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Villas d'Or

Address: Cote d'Or Beach, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Anse Volbert
Price Range: $265 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Villas d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Villas d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Villas d`Or Hotel Praslin Island
Les Hotel Praslin Island
Les Hotel d Or
Les Villas D'Or Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing