We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent design”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe des Arts

Cafe des Arts
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anse Volbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cafe des Arts
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Zanego
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent design”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

Fantastic decor. Very clean. Just on the beach. Best food in Seychelles. Expensive (like everything in the Country). Elegant and chic. Don't go there if you want to be casual.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2008

Attitude is everything. My wife and I stayed here for one night, and took advantage of the semi-private "dinner on the beach". Perhaps we were still in awe over being in the Seychelles, or that our vacation was coming to an end -- but we absolutely loved this hotel.

The room itself was clean and comfortable. The style said "you're in the tropics, Baby!" The staff were very accommodating and helped us with all our queries about Praslin.

If we ever are fortunate to visit the Seychelles again, we will be looking-up Cafe des Arts.

  • Liked — Location, vicinity to popular beaches
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank here_in_calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2006

Our experience did not match the many enthusiastic descriptions we found on the web and which made us book at the Cafe des Arts. This little guesthouse is often described as 'charming', which may be true to the extent that the owner has very nicely decorated her own apartment, which serves as a sort of restaurant in the evenings. We were rather disappointed by the one-star standard it is offering and found this place overpriced, compared to other resorts in the Seychelles of the same price category.

Before coming to the Cafe des Arts we had stayed at a wonderful resort (Le Domain de l'Orangeraie) on La Digue, which we shouldn't have left for Praslin in the first place. We would recommend to go to Praslin only for a day-trip from La Digue (if at all) and not the other way round. The athmosphere is so much more relaxed and nicer on La Digue, you don't need a car as on Praslin, you can go everywhere by bike, the beaches are much better, accommodation not as expensive and better value for money than on Praslin. It also does not have this feel of run-down tourist destination as most areas of Praslin have.

But back to the Cafe des Arts: We stayed at the 'beach-bungalow' for something like 4 nights and then moved to the 'garden-bungalow' for another couple of days. The beach-bungalow is kind of semi-detached, from the main building and lies directly at the Cote d'Or beach. Cote d'Or is one of the nicer beaches of Praslin but due to fact that it is lined with resorts, it feels crowded and does in now way offer the seclusive feeling you find on La Digue.

The beach-bungalow is quite a dark and worn-out room with a bathroom and a terrace. The view to the sea from the room's terrace is indeed very nice but the downside is that you share your terrace with the owner, which opens its part of the terrace to the other guests as well as other people for dinner in the evenings. So don't think you can just sit on your terrace in the evening on your own and enjoy the romantic view and the sound of the waves, you'll have to keep up with people coming in and out of the restaurant, passing in front of your terrace. But you may end up eating with the other guests the 25 $ per head menu anyway, since there are not so many other good restaurants (except for Laurier, which can really be recommended) in the neighbourhood.

The rooms in the garden-bungalow, which is situated right behind the main building, are nicer, but then again, we found them overpriced compared to the standard, plus they offered some nasty surprise with little insects crawling out from the matress to keep us awake at night.

To sum up our experience with the Cafe des Arts, we would have immediately left after the first night, wouldn't it have been for the rather severe cancellation policy that did not leave us much of a choice. If you want to stay in Praslin I'd rather try something else, perhaps around Anse Lazio, which is the nicest beach on the island.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Hiroshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2006

This small "hotel" is really the best value for money in the Seychelles. Escpecially the garden room. A big spacious room with outdoor shower and veranda and private garden.
Breakfast is served on your private veranda and if you want dinner can be served here as well.
The beachroom is almost on the beach. Only a small
wall ( for protection for high-tide) is between your private garden and the beach. The other rooms are also
very nice but are a few meters inland and do not have seaview.
Close-by are a few restaurants and some some shops.
From the beach you can take a watertaxi to Anse Lazio
(One of the best beaches in the world) or to other beaches or Islands.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank FranciscusG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anse Volbert hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Les Villas d'Or
Les Villas d'Or
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mango Lodge
Mango Lodge
#7 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe des Arts

Property: Cafe des Arts
Address: Cote d'Or, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Cafe Des Arts Hotel Praslin Island
Cafe Des Arts Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing