We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice chalets but you definitely need a car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalets Anse Possession
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in Serein chalet - a house with 2 bedroom, two bathrooms, a living room, a kitchen and a very nice terrace with dining table, chairs, sofa, etc. Overall, we are very satisfied with the stay - the house is big, there are 2 airconditioning units, we could prepare breakfast for ourselves, the hosts are very nice and friendly people, there is plenty of space for parking. But note that there are absolutely no facilities in Anse Possession - no shops, no restaurants, nothing. And the beach is not good. So, you will definitely need a car to move around. A car can be booked with the aid of hosts and delivered to wherever you like. It is possible to ask the hosts to prepare the dinner (10 Euro per person) - this is cheaper than in restaurants but the food is not tasty.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank iouA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 47 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

For our Seychelles trip I looked for 2-bedroom appartments by the sea. An important requirement was also that we wouldn't have to cook dinner (so there would have to be restaurant or dinner service available). Out of the five different places we stayed on three islands, the new appartments at Chalets Anse Possession were the best.

When making the booking, it is very important to notice that they have two different options: the chalets (older) and the new appartments in a new building. We were able to see both because by a mistake they first took us to one the chalets. I was starting to wonder how it was not as nice as I had thought when I made the reservation based on their photos. But then the mistake was discovered and we were taken to the appartment and we were really happy when we saw it. I have photos of both, so you can see the difference. All are marked either chalet or appartments to make the difference. The appartments are more expensive but for a reason and still a good price.

I have added plenty of photos. Unfortunately, Tripadvisor's present program does not show them in the order I uploaded them and the photos of the chalet and appartment are mixed and nothing can be done about it. But I have marked each photo which it is, so look at the titles to make the difference.

The chalets are surely nice for a family travelling together but no luxury and has only one bathroom. Kid will surely enjoy the giant resident turtle of the sea-facing chalet garden.

The appartments are new and luxurious, nice living room and kitchen, large bedrooms (both king) and both bedroom has a large and modern bathroom. The appartments have large see-facing balconies with dinner table, chairs and lounge beds. We loved it and enjoyed fabulous sunsets. No traffic noise in the bedrooms. The air-conditioning functioned very well.

When making the booking we had asked and agreed that we would order breakfast and dinner. These were very good value and we really liked the dinners (see my photos). This is highly recommended. The food was delivered to our appartment. There are no restaurants within walking distance so you either cook or do as we did or drive elsewhere for dinner.

The appartment house is sea-facing. Beach Anse Possession is not the best beach on Praslin and very few people are at the beach. The water is very clear though (once you realize that the green color is a reflection from the hills) but the water is very warm - almost too warm if such a thing is possible. The street goes between the appartment house and the beach.

There is a bus stop right in front of the appartment where we took buses to Anse Lazio (incredible, among the best beaches I've ever been to) and Coco de Mer Nat'l Parc etc. I would advise you to find out about the bus timetables at tourist info at the jetty or airport because they don't know about this at the chalets and the buses don't go very often.

We didn't hire a car as many other guests seemed to do. We took a taxi from the jetty on arrival and to the airport on departure. For the rest we took the bus which was quite adequate for touring the island and was cheap.

When we made the reservation we received a confirmation saying that we would have daily maid service. This turned out to be a mistake. The maid came every other day. Otherwise this is not a problem but in the heat the garbage has to be taken out daily and I think they should organise it even if not doing a full service daily (in addition from removing the daily service promise from their confirmations). So we took the garbage out ourselves on the days when the maid didn't come. Also, the maid service does not inclued washing the dishes (as it does in the other places where we stayed). This is not a problem if you know it, so they should mention it on arrival and when we found out that they don't ordinarily do dishes we agreed that they do it for us for extra tips. So this ended fine.

Out of the five places we stayed on Seychelles this was our favourite for the rooms. The best beach location of our accommodations was Anse Severe Bungalow where the beach was incredible and we had the only accommodation located right on the beach (La Digue).

I would definitely stay again at the new and luxurious appartments of Chalets Anse Possession.

Room Tip: Chalets are cheaper and older. Take the new luxury appartements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riggs_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Maria Rosa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexfabmalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank patchouli51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.8 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,464 reviews
1.7 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Anse Volbert
424 reviews
1 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#2 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Le Port Guesthouse
Le Port Guesthouse
#2 of 5 in Baie Ste Anne
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aquario
Aquario
#9 of 16 in Anse Volbert
266 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Cote D'Or
Hotel Cote D'Or
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Anse Possession? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Anse Possession

Address: Anse Posession, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Anse Volbert
Price Range: $73 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chalets Anse Possession reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalets Anse Possession Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing