We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet hotel. Charming staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acajou Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I did the three islands tour (Mahe, Praslin, la Digue) in March 2011. The hotel Acajou was my choice for Praslin. Nice check in, room was clean and nice though I couldn't get nothing but lukewarm water out of the shower. I told the reception and someone was sent pretty quickly. Did his best but water was still not warm enough for my taste. The rest of my 3 day stay was pretty flawless. Food was good at dinner, simple, typically creole. The dinner area is kinda small, but it adds to the charm of the place. Breakfast was nice too. Would have loved to take advantage of the beach but at that time of the year, it was pretty windy and the sea was kinda rough. Recommended place, very affordable, and definitely true to the creole spirit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beautifullydepressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Acajou Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 390 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is an older hotel, that could do with a bit of an up-grade. The standard rooms are made in wood, which means that it can feel like the inside of a sauna when very hot. The mini bar was not replenished, and cleaning was not done very well. The restaurant was ok, the buffet is laid on when the hotal has a lots of people there, but under a certain amount it is made from a choice of 2 items, I preferred the selection, buffet food is always rather average. The staff were very helpful and cheerful, but never remembered our room number even though we were there for a week.

Room Tip: Always ask for a higher floor, we ewre on the ground floor and the lights from outside were very bri...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silkdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Very good value for money, we enjoyed it and recommend it.
Clean, with space for our stuffs, staff very usefull, good location with direct access to beach, good restaurant... only good points! _Did see the other hotels around and Acajou seemed to me on the high level with good price
This is not the four seasons but not the same price as well!!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank cristof2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The hotel is very nice. The rooms are large, comfortable and very tastefully decorated with TV (Euronews, BBC and a film channel) , fridge and safe. Each room has a balcony with table and chairs. The bathrooms are also large and have a bathtub.
Breakfast is fruit, great fresh juices, yogurt, crepes, french toast, cake, toast and scrambled eggs. You can order fried eggs or omelets extra. During the day, light snacks or lunch are available at the Beach Bar. The restaurant is open in the evenings and serves a buffet or 3 course meal along with an a`la Carte menu depending on the day. The ´a la Carte menu is reasonably priced and offers everything from salads to pasta to meat and fish entrees....all well prepared and attractively served.
The hotel has a small pool with comfortable lounge chairs...just right for cooling off . The beach is directly in front of the hotel ..also with lounge chairs and sun umbrellas. The beach is kept clean and it is a DREAM....perfect for children (shallow and sandy). You can take along walk in either direction along the beach.
There is a small village about 5 minutes from the hotel where you can buy drinks and snacks. It is really easy to travel around the island by bus, but it may be a life-threatening situation. Taxis are also available....agree on a price before you start! We paid 250 rupies for a round trip from Cote Dór to Zimbabwe (the "mountain" on the island). My husband had to go to the doctor...we do NOT recommend the local doctor....go to the hospital in Baie St Anne! We paid almost as much for the taxi as we did for the doctor because we were in a hurry and forgot to agree on the taxi price! We bought a lot of men´s shorts on the island...they are copies of a known brand and GREAT...at a fraction of the original price. We also bought normal men´s shorts very inexpensively...a huge selection at very good prices.
The weather is beautiful, the water warm, the people are nice. The only downside is that there really isn´t much to do on the island....bring lots of books to read. Some hotels offer entertainment at night, but it isn´t public ´knowledge what is going on when. It would have been nice to be able to rent a sailboat or kayak, but you can only do this if your hotel offers it, which Acajou doesn´t. We would have liked to have played mini golf or boules, but that wasn´t available either and there is no village life to speak of ...like in Italy or Spain. You can rent bikes...rather good mountain bikes at the little museum almost across from Acajou for 10 Euros a day ( much cheaper than from the hotel) and you can take a boat tour to Anse Georgette or around the island much cheaper from the young men in Cote DÓr or the ones who come along the beach offering their boat rides. We paid 900 Rupies (45 Euros) for 2 people for 3hrs on the boat. A MUST is a visit and guided tour of Val de Mai...the plants are amazing and the facts are very interesting. You can also take the bus to Anse Kerlan and go thru the Golf Course there if you make arrangements in advance via Acajou´s reception. It is a nice walk thru the golf course to Anse Georgette....but the waves are usually MASSIVE and not recommended for children. It is one of the nicest beaches on the island though and when you leave, you can stop at the golf course bar for a drink.
In the evenings we ate at local restaurants....there is a great buffet at a small restaurant that you really have to look for (during the day) look for a sign for Home Cooking Creole Buffet and then go down the driveway to the restaurant. The buffet is 25 Euros and is quite good and includes dessert. The best restaurant we found was Cafe DÁrts...a bit expensive, but worth it. La Pecheur was also ok...but not the fresh fish of the day with Creole sauce...it was ketchup! The Octopus curry was good and so were most of the other entrees and starters Another option is to ask the couple at the little museum across from Acajou for Home Cooking ...they will barbeque fish caught that day by the man of the house and serve some nice salads or 25 Euros per person but we had to pay extra for ice cream for dessert! If you go out at night, be sure to have a flashlight or, better, blinking headlamps...there are no street lights and the people are crazy drivers!
Unfortunately, the ferry to Mahe is 40 Euros for each person each way, so you are more or less stuck on the Praslin. We could spend 2 hrs in Victoria before flying home and it was enough to visit the market, but it would have been nice to take a tour around the island and visit some of the attractions. The Mahe island tours are not possible if you come there with the ferry, because the last ferry to Praslin is at 16U...the ferries don´t run after dark!
All in all, I think it is best to do a sailing-snorkel tour for 5 or 6 days ( including visit to La Dique), then spend 3 days on Praslin and another 3 or 4 days on Mahe.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susie25524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here with our young son. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Rooms are a good size and clean. Breakfast and dinner also good, they offered to cook an early dinner for our son.
The hotel grounds are lovely and well kept. The hotel has a good pool and is right on a lovely beach, you have the beach almost to yourself. Great for sunsets!
Very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

What a lovely hotel. Would recommend upper room. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was good.
Did not eat in restaurant. Did try the beach restaurant that was good with lovely beach view.
Easy to walk into village lots of places to eat.
The beach was great lovely to walk up and down.
Great location. Pool also pleasant.

Room Tip: upper room
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paws-ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We spent 5 nights here and can thoroughly recommend it. We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived and throughout our stay staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was large, comfortable, well air-conditioned and private. The hotel's location was truly excellent, only a 10 min walk along the beach to the shops and on one of the main bus routes around the island. The food was plentiful, varied and delicious. A lovely hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.8 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,017 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,353 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Villas d'Or
Les Villas d'Or
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acajou Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acajou Beach Resort

Address: Cote D'Or Beach, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles (Formerly Hotel Acajou)
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
#6 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range: $260 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acajou Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acajou Beach Resort is a Seychellois-owned hotel along the Cote D'Or beachfront on the northern coast of Praslin, in the Seychelles archipelago. "Praslin's green hotel" features 52 units across five different room categories, offering visitors comfortable beachfront accommodation maintained with eco-friendly practices and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acajou Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acajou Hotel Praslin Island
Acajou Beach Resort Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing