We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Paradise”
Review of Paradise Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise Sun
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

They greet you at the Paradise Sun with a very bold, 'welcome to Paradise' upon arrival.

Fortunately, every aspect of the stay lives up to these words at this incredible hotel.

The food, the accomodation, the willingness of the staff and the proximity to beaches, OH THE BEACHES, is simply out of the top drawer.

Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Didn't seem like there's a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Malherber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review on your recent stay at Paradise Sun and may we say how much we value your feedback and we are delighted to hear that you had enjoyable and memorable holiday at our resort.

We shall certainly pass your comments on to each of our staff, who are all committed to making each guest’s stay a pleasurable experience.

We hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Paradise Sun in the beautiful Seychelles.

Warm regards,

Philippe Cornaille (E-Commerce Manager) for Lionel Ferrari (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch today at the restaurant near the beach very nice location and view, food was nice but the service was not up to our expectation as we visit this restaurant regularly and today was not a good one. People was ignoring us and seems like they were not fully train with only 6 tables booked. I think we will not go there again

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Samy_Nisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

May we say how much we value your feedback and we do appreciate your taking the time to provide us with your comments about your recent stay. Your comments are most meaningful and have been noted, as we at Paradise Sun are constantly striving to provide our guests with an experience which we believe epitomizes the spirit of the Seychelles.

We are really sorry to hear that you did not experience the level of service, you generally receive when dining at our restaurant. We do apologise and shall certainly be taking this up with our staff as we pride ourselves on the positive reviews we receive.

We do hope you give us another opportunity to welcome you back to dine at our restaurant, as we value your patronage.

Kind regards,

Philippe Cornaille (E-Commerce Manager) for Lionel Ferrari (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Praslin Island is up there with the best island holidays (Thailand, Phi Phi, Maldives, Mauritius, Zanzibar we have also been to). The beaches are magnificent, sea water very warm and the snorkelling in some places great. Paradise Sun is a lovely hotel, very friendly staff, nice rooms and the location is brilliant.

We have been very surprised however about how people rave about the food here. Although the food looks impressive it really does leave a lot to be desired (the breakfast is OK, lunch very expensive and basic, and the meat and fish really awful (I understand this is because the island is very isolated and the supply of good meat is hard to get but how can there be an excuse for awful fish? I must say we did travel the island and the food was awful all over so it is not just this hotel. Other reviewers have also gone overboard about the afternoon tea and cake - I think they must all be delusional as it is extremely basic and disappointing. We were all desperate by the end of the hol to get home for some good wholesome South African food. I feel is is very important to provide a contrasting view here on the food as our expectations were very high having read tripadvisor.

Another note of caution is please be careful of the sand flies on the beach and in the evening at dinner. We all came back looking like we had some exotic disease with red sores all over us. Take spray (we were not warned about this by the hotel either before or during the stay)!

The food and drink is ridiculously expensive (3 beers and 2 waters the first night cost us R500!) so be prepared to walk 5 mins along the beach to the local shops (bottle of wine R120; bottle of Whisky R500; bottles of water R12).

You can organise tours to islands either through the hotel or along the beach. Be careful though as the crowd along the beach are untrustworthy and you should refuse to pay a deposit as the one day they left us waiting for an hour beyond the start time and then didn't take us to all the islands they promised.

Hiring the kayak from the hotel is free and great fun and relaxing.

Hire a car and tour the island. This is relaxing and not expensive.

Overall I recommend this hotel for a 5-7 night stay. I wouldn't go back purely as I have been there and done it and there are so many other beautiful islands to also explore in the world.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 24GaryandKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

May we say how much we value your feedback and we do appreciate your taking the time to provide us with your comments on Tripadvisor about your recent stay. Your comments are most meaningful and have been noted, as we at Paradise Sun are constantly striving to provide our guests with an experience which we believe epitomizes the spirit of the Seychelles. Management are very open, and can resolve problems if guests do mention these to us on site. In reference to the comment, about the food and drinks, we do in fact receive many positive comments from both in-house and outside guests, but understand that you do not agree and found the food lacking. Our prices are very competitive and reasonable as opposed to many restaurants on the island. As with all travel to other countries, it is difficult to make comparisons, and obviously when comparing food prices in South Africa to the food in the Seychelles, it will in general, appear expensive, but this is due to the fact that we import the majority of our food supplies but we can assure you that it is a very good value for money and our location in front of the beautiful Cote D’Or beach, makes it a very special location. Regarding the price of beverages, as in most restaurants and hotels worldwide, these are generally more than you will find in the local supermarket or bottle store, as your hotel or restaurant experience cannot be compared. The Sand Flies issue is something that as an island destination, we are unable to control.

However we do our utmost to alert guests about this problem and we pay particular attention to this with special treatment within the property. We do in fact have a card in the rooms advising guests of this problem and to take protection against sand flies and mosquitoes. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the variety of complimentary, non motorized water sport on offer as well as the other added values such as the sunset cruise, nature walk etc.. which are all well appreciated by our guests. Thank you for your constructive and valuable feedback and we do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back and make your holiday a memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Philippe Cornaille (E-Commerce Manager) for Lionel Ferrari (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We celebrated our Wedding and Honeymoon at Paradise Sun and I can honestly say that it was simply perfect. I have previously stayed in many excellent hotels such as the Ritz in London and Raffles in Dubai but Paradise Sun was the perfect place for us to get married. We traveled alone and although we didn't have our families present at our wedding we felt that we had made our own new Paradise Sun family - every member of staff we met were attentive, professional and caring. The hotel itself is located on the most beautiful white sand tropical beach with an amazing green backdrop, the apartments are extremely clean, private and have amazing views of the aquamarine sea. The food is delicious and due to the variety of themed evenings such as the Asian, Italian, Seafood nights there was always something new to taste. The Creole Cocktail Evening being the best with local Creole music to dance to around the bonfire. I am one to enjoy the tranquility of relaxing on the beach and taking an occasional dip in the sea whilst drinking an Amaretto Collada. On the other hand my husband enjoys being active - he snorkeled, visited another neighbouring island on a Kayak and attempted to sail! The options were endless with opportunities to go jet skiing and the with the White Tip Diving company on the resort you can go and discover the deeper beauties of the island. We were taken on a complimentary Sun Set Cruise which was spectacular where we saw dolphins and others were fortunate enough to see the friendly sea turtles. Due to the hotel being of such a high standard they choose to work alongside companies such as Select Seychelles - they were also fantastic. Josepha helped us choose excursions such as the visit to Ville De Mai where you can learn about the famous Coco de Mer that is exclusive to Praslin, a visit to one of the most beautiful beaches in the World Anse Lazio and we island hopped to La Digue for a day of cycling around one of the most unique islands in the Seychelles where we saw ox and carts and the setting of the Bounty Advert and many other well known films. There is so much more to see in the Seychelles that we are planning on returning this time next year for further exploring. William and Danny the drivers were superb as they're friendliness and their interesting stories about the island were fascinating. La Kaz a small Creole family run local restaurant is also worth a visit and is only a few yards from the hotel.
Paradise Sun is an ideal resort for anyone to visit but is made special because of the staff that work there - Faith and Hilary and the rest of the Reception Staff, Albert and the porters, Dinish and all of the waiters and waitresses at St Pierre Restaurant and the Pool Side bar at breakfast time, the chefs and bar staff were superb, housekeeping staff were so professional and friendly, the kind lady in the souvenir shop, the three ladies at the spa were wonderful and last but not least Jimmy and Chris who entertained and made us feel at home - spectacular staff.
Our Wedding day was magical and so relaxing - stress free and made perfect by the wonderful Wedding Coordinator Joyce - she was in control of absolutely everything from the excellent hairdresser she arranged to helping me with the dress. Josepha handled the paperwork and did this with so much care and attention to detail. They were both our witnesses on the day and I couldn't have wished for better. The Hotel Manager was as excellent as his staff - caring, sincere and must be so very proud of Paradise Sun and his team.
We enjoyed every second of our stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to relax, explore, seek adventure, simply enjoy with their family, celebrate their anniversary or honeymoon but most of all I would recommend Paradise Sun as the perfect place to get married and celebrate that once in a lifetime special occasion.
We will definitely return to Paradise Sun for our First Anniversary and we are already counting down the days.
A truly outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so delighted to read your positive and excellent comments and that you have absolutely wonderful memories of your wedding at Paradise Sun. We are especially pleased to hear that everything met with your expectations and more and that you had the most wonderful stay. The Paradise Sun team is dedicated to ensuring that guests receive warm and friendly hospitality and we are so pleased that you had a truly special and amazing stay in our hotel.

Thank you for sharing your opinion online and rest assured that your kind comments will be passed to all our staff.

We hope you had a pleasant flight back home, and we hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Paradise Sun when you celebrate your first anniversary and we can provide even more memories of your stay in the beautiful Seychelles.

Warm regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE (E-Commerce Manager) for Lionel FERRARI (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Where do I begin ! This is my 5th time to Seychelles and the 1st time to Paradise Sun. When you have been to Seychelles a few times you think it cannot get better, but it does. I love the Seychelles and what plays a very important role is the hotel you choose, we definitely got the Cherry on the Cake, Paradise Sun is all that you want and more. The rooms are nestled in a lush green, palmy garden with a sea view, all rooms have sea views. The room itself is perfect. Paradise Sun are not shy when it comes to providing toiletries, the soap is standard size, 250 ml bottles of Shampoo and Shower Gel are provided (not those tiny 50ml bottles you used to receiving).

The beach setting is picture perfect, white sandy beach, boats in the distance, a view of about 5 outer islands, turquoise warm ocean, there is nothing more you could ask for. In fact I did not even use the swimming pool because the beach was stunning. There is also a beach bar, for drinks and cocktails. However do yourself a favour and save some money and head to the village which is a mere 5 minute walk along the beach and buy alcohol and cold-drinks from the shops.

My boys are sporty and enjoy all things to keep you active and on the go, well I have to mention a special, one of a kind, energetic, entertainer, JIMMY, you really kept my kids going, from table tennis, beach volleyball, teaching them how to stand up-right and paddle on a surf board, having running races with my boys on the beach. I must also mention Chris who demonstrated how to climb a coconut tree and also entertained the kids. Jimmy thank you for the shell necklaces you made us. The one night we had there they also had Creole Dancing with a Bon Fire and we all joined in the dancing, it was a lot of fun.


I celebrated my 40th Birthday at Anse Lazio Beach and when we returned to the hotel that night Paradise Sun went the extra mile to make dinner time special by setting a table on the beach with a flower arrangement and candles. They had even made me a birthday cake. Thank you.

I also tried the spa, not once but twice, awesome.

We stayed half board and the breakfast and dinner buffets were really tasty with a wide variety to choose from. The evening meals always had a different theme, from Italian to International. A special mention to the head chef (Dawina) for making the Potato and Leek Soup.

My family and I really enjoyed our stay, the staff and managers were friendly and we CANNOT wait to come back.

Thank you for the Mendes Family.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mendes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Mendes Family,

We would like to thank you for sharing your marvelous comments after your stay at our hotel. We were thrilled to learn how much you and your children enjoyed your stay and especially the relaxed environment you experienced at Paradise Sun Hotel in the Seychelles. We were also delighted to hear that you appreciated our high service standards, especially our entertainment programme. We hope you had a most pleasant flight back home after enjoying such a pleasant holiday in the Archipelago.

We do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Paradise Sun, and that we will can share our own unique warmth and hospitality that Seychelles is renowned for.

Best regards,

Philippe Cornaille (E-Commerce Manager) for Lionel Ferrari (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I had the absolute pleasure of staying at Paradise Sun THREE times over the past few years. We still have many fond memories of our vacations here.

All International flights arrive on Mahe and Praslin is a short inter- island flight (approximately15 minutes) from Mahe. The transfer from the airport at Praslin to the hotel takes approximately 30 minutes.

On each stay we were warmly welcomed at reception, received cold scented towels and a heavenly coconut sorbet to nibble on while waiting for check in. The service we received from all staff members were excellent - we were treated like royalty each time! We celebrated our anniversary during our second visit and received complimentary champagne in our room. Upon arrival for dinner we were shown to our table decorated with petals right on the beach! What a wonderful and special gesture from all involved.

We stayed in the Superior rooms next to the diving center (rooms 1,3,5) . The rooms were spacious, tastefully decorated, sparkling clean and equipped with everything we needed. We were just a few steps away from the beach.

I can second each and every positive comment about breakfast and dinner. We loved the array of French-Creole dishes - just divine. We thoroughly enjoyed the Moutya dancing around a huge bonfire before dinner once a week. What better way to start an evening with swaying hips on a tropical island.

It was just magical to watch the sunsets on the beach whilst sipping on a glass of wine.

We had many lazy and romantic strolls along the magnificent white sandy beach of Cote D'or and enjoyed hours in the balmy aquamarine Indian Ocean. Pure and utter bliss!

No visit to Praslin is complete without spending a day at Anse Lazio. The water is crisp clear and you can see the fish swimming around you. I can highly recommend a visit to Curieuse Island which is also a reserve for turtles and to spend the day at the unspoiled beach whilst having a romantic picnic. The island is a short boat ride away.

Do not forget to pack sunscreen, bug repellant and a hat.

Time seems to come to a complete standstill on this magnificent island and Paradise Sun offers the perfect setting to revive mind, body and soul!

No wonder this island is, according to legend believed to be the original Garden of Eden!
We were always reluctant to leave this magical and romantic paradise and we were always tempted to stay forever!!!

We will be back in the near future and I can without a shadow of doubt highly recommend Paradise Sun.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 3 are on the ground floor and right at the end of the buildings, next to the diving ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank zerwickrenatevictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear guest,

It really is so rewarding and such an accolade when guests return, especially when it is for the third time! You have become part of our family and we truly appreciate the recognition and trust you have placed with us at Paradise Sun Seychelles. Thank you for your generous comments regarding the level of service, that you received from each one of Paradise Sun staff, who are dedicated to ensuring that your stay is such a pleasant experience.

Paradise Sun is truly an island paradise like no other, located on one of the most amazing beaches in The Seychelles.

We are so pleased that you noticed the introduction of several of our new facilities, including the newest outlet near the pool area, where the breakfast is served as the sun rises. We certainly hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back again, for an even more enchanting experience, and we wish to thank you for your support and patronage.

Warm regards

Philippe Cornaille (E-Commerce Manager) for Lionel Ferrari (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I spent 10 days in June/July at the Paradise Sun hotel for business and it was a truly enjoyable experience! From arriving late in the evening for check in to departing early on the last morning the service was superb. Everything about the hotel was amazing from the setting, the lay-out, the amenities, the rooms, the food, the beach, the people. One person I must single out that made my time there not just memorable but made all of us feel special through his friendly, professional and accommodating attitude is Lionel Ferrari the General Manager. I really feel that I made a new friend during my time at the Paradise Sun, thank you Lionel!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jmaritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you for your kind feedback posted on Tripadvisor and we were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Paradise Sun this summer, and you found the staff so friendly and courteous. We do agree with you at Lionel Ferrari the general manager is a true host and we know that his staff place him in high regard.

We do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to our island paradise and look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Philippe Cornaille (E-Commerce Manager) for Lionel Ferrari (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
6.6 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
820 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iles des Palmes
Iles des Palmes
#3 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
153 reviews
3.8 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Sun

Address: Cote D'or Beach, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island SEZ, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range: $467 - $891 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a Seychelles gem, embraced in the warmth of the Indian Ocean. The pristine white coral sands of the Cote d’Or Beach at our front door will tempt you to bare your feet. The aquamarine waters that stretch towards an endless horizon will float your troubles away. Our lush lawns and tropical gardens will delight your eye with their beauty. Here there is more than sand, sea and sunshine. There is also the warmth of the Seychelles smile – making it a paradise you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Sun Hotel Anse Volbert
Paradise Sun Praslin Island
Hotel Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing