We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a dream island holiday better than any brochure especially for snorkelling. felt like being in a movie”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradise Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Sun
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“a dream island holiday better than any brochure especially for snorkelling. felt like being in a movie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

my wife and i stayed 7 nights in a superior room. the transfer flight from mahe to praslin was smooth and the reception at the hotel good. we did buy a bottle of wine at the airport in south africa which came in very handy for sundowners since alcohol is 10 times the price there. this hotel is situated on a very beautiful and quiet part of cote d or beach and we could snorkel right in front of the hotel. very few other hotels have this privilege and be aware that some of the other hotels are not even on the beach. the food was buffet breakfast and dinner which was excellent considering the location in the middle of the indian ocean. the a la carte lunches anywhere on the island praslin was excellent but expensive. best beach definitely anse lazio where we could relax on perfect soft white sand in the shade of indigenous trees in between snorkelling crystal clear waters teeming with hundreds of different fish species over coral reefs found 20m from shore in depths of 1-2m. felt safe with lifeguards on the beach. snorkelling at st pierre also good try do this with the whitetipdivers scuba centre next to the hotel if you are experienced. excursion to la digue island is expensive:we took the local bus to the jetty where we baught tickets with the cat rose ferry to la digue which was an easy 20min transfer. on la digue we rented bicycles like everyone else and enjoyed scenery especially anse source d argent. snorkelling not easy here have to be more experienced to go deeper. also found endemic seychelles paradise flycatcher in the veuve reserve easily with local guide. on praslin saw black parrot at entrance to vallee de mai. also visited cousin island via this hotel and saw seychelles fody,warbler and magpie robin. fairy terns were everywhere. take cash to smaller islands:can exchange rand,dollar or euro for seychelles rupees at local shops. buy local beer and local takamaka rum= very good. budget to have enough extra money for excursions because that is what makes it a dream holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tockus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    360
    77
    46
    25
See reviews for
219
833
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our holiday was truly an amazing experience thanks to paradise sun, we went with our 2 year old son and it was breathtaking..we stayed in room 16, the view is out of this world, the service was outstanding, the hotel went out of their way to make us feel comfortable with our toddler, the highlight was the boatrip with "Jimmy" he was so funny, we swam off the boat at anse lazio, there are no more words to describe it, i would go back in a heartbeat, the GM is very friendly and so was all the staff, i cant wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: rooms closer to the white tip diving are better:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juanita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel F, Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Juanita,

On behalf of the Paradise Sun Hotel team, I’d like to thank you for your time to write the positive review. Our team continuously strives towards service excellence, which you have experienced during your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Paradise Sun Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Philippe Bethune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

5 star for its settings: fantastic beach and clear water, breathtaking views, at walking distance from shops and restaurants. The hotel's restaurant had a fantastic view.

4 stars for the service: one feels definitely like a guest and not a customer (for ex., we were offered free late check out immediately and each afternoon,for all guests, they had complimentary coffee, tea, water and cookies ; in higher end hotels, they make you pay for everything - at Constance Lemuria in a restaurant we were asked for more money just to get a table with a view for the same food as at any nearby table- and free tea, coffee and cookies in a restaurant is not even imaginable elsewhere). Also complimentary use at any time of the hotel's kayaks. Staff is really friendly, although a bit slow, cleaning staff obviously asking for tips, restaurant staff fantastic. The hotel has a homey feeling and I liked that the restaurant is only a few steps away from the rooms, meaning we could leave our kid sleep later in the morning and he would just walk to the restaurant later to join us. Try doing this in huge resorts like Ephelia where you need a buggy for everything.

2 stars for the rooms and facilities: I don't think they had a gym (we were not told in any case), rooms terribly basic, although clean, not spacious, swimming pool tiny, public areas not quite carefully maintained, internet "working" in the lobby only (not in the rooms), but it was so painfully slow, we quit using it after the first tries, lobby worn out. No kids club or activities

1star for the food: here is where they are cutting costs to a max: cheap food and the restaurant was on the beach with no airco.Imagine eating warm salad or melted butter while sweating...Birds are everywhere, they were literally ON the toaster (we joked saying the toaster was a grill too). The entire food presentation didn't look very hygienic. One night there was a seafood buffet with grilled prawns, which I liked, but they were only giving two per serving, so one had to return several times. We ate to survive the day, not for pleasure.

Would we go back to this hotel? No. But would definitely return to swim and just chill at Anse Volbert.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anda_holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lioferrari, Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Anda,

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback about your recent stay at Paradise Sun, we do appreciate your valuable comments.
We are delighted to hear that not only did you find the location absolutely wonderful, but you also appreciated the different added values we offer, such as the daily complimentary coffee and tea break, the FREE internet access and the friendliness of the service which we believe all contribute to our guests enjoying a memorable holiday experience.

Paradise Sun is one of the landmark hotels in Seychelles, which has retained its genuine and authentic architecture, which is what most of our guests enjoy. All our rooms were completely refreshed last year and the Hotel is going through a Yearly maintenance programme, whereby the rooms are blocked for a week in order to maintain them to the high standards we set.

We were obviously disappointed to hear that our Food & Beverage was not to your particular taste, and I can ensure you that our chefs have put a great deal of effort into trying to ensure that we provide the best food experience to our guests. Last year we appointed an International Chef who trained a very competent team, who are dedicated to preparing freshly cooked dishes daily. Our restaurant is one of the only restaurants located on the beach offering a 180 degrees open view onto the sea, and this superb feature, is one which we know is thoroughly enjoyed by our guests.

We are also pleased to advise that we have received very positive feedback both from first-time and repeat guests over the last few months, which re-inforces our aims of delivering excellent guest service and confirms that we are moving in the right direction. We are constantly striving to improve our standards, which is part of the Paradise Sun ethos.

We are sorry that you did not communicate with our team during your stay, as we can assure you that we would have done our best to satisfy you. It is our philosophy at Paradise Sun to provide the best holiday experience to all our guests.

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback and we are so pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Paradise Sun when next you visit the Seychelles.


Philippe Bethune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The place is so beautiful and the people are very nice.
The hotel gave us a warm feeling of home with a treat...
We will come back.
Every night in the restaurant was another topic for eating and we always found what to eat.
Somtimes they have a band that sings so nice. At one point, we came back into the room and continued to listen to the band

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariela Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We travelled to Seychelles for our Honeymoon and lived at the Paradise Sun hotel. When they talk about paradise, they were not joking.

The hotel service, staff and food were all perfect. They made us feel right at home. The hotel is in an excellent location and is directly on the beach.

The rooms were great. They were clean, spacious and had everything you needed. The hotel manager treated us to a complimentary 30 minute back massage for our honeymoon and we are very thankful.

There are also shops and merchants very nearby that you can but gifts, food, drinks, etc. The residents of Seychelles are very kind and accommodating.

We booked day trips to other islands, beaches and spas through the hotel services and everything was perfect. We will definitely recommend this to anyone and will most probably visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silent_Ecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Paradise Sun is an excellent place for a family stay on the beach. the hotel is very friendly, clean well maintain and the staff is nice and efficient. the diving center is well equipped and our son had avery good dive. the all place is convienent, beach is so beautiful and right in the front, the resaturant is also on the beach...the swimmimg pool is also very nice. praslin is a very nice island and you can go to other island as well from the hotel>>>>> it was reel PARADISE

Room Tip: we had luxury room close to the restaurant and in front of the beach...great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chonchon-Hyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Paradise Sun in March, having just returned and found the hotel to be lovely. Having read some of the other reviews we were a little dubious, however went for the location of the hotel, the beach is beautiful and it being on Praslin, with easy access to some of the other islands we were keen to explore.

What also went for the hotel is the people, who are superb, (Dorothy the Mason's travel rep aside, who was quite frankly quite useless), and the relaxed ambience, it is not a stuffy hotel and both dinners and breakfast are quite informal which was nice but still came with exemplary service. The food is buffet style but is so varied and of high quality, with theme nights. The head chef, on one afternoon, performed a cooking demonstration of pork curry, creole style, around the pool and I mentioned I had all the ingredients to replicate the dish back home, apart from the cinnamon leaves used, so he offered to provide these and did so at dinner the night before we left! That we felt was going the extra mile! (I was slightly nervous about carrying a load of unidentified leaves in my case however!)

The hotel had some nice touches and also offer a nature walk, undertaken by 'Rocky', the local 'pied piper', which although this sounds a bit tame was actually really good. We learnt so much about local fruit, tasting a lot we had no idea existed and fauna used for medicine. The walk also progresses through some nice forest.

We didn't see too much sea life in the water off of the beach apart from some rays, which are often hidden on the sea floor and some large 'bat fish' (huge angel type fish) but the swimming is safe as it is very shallow. You do need to be aware of the currents off certain beaches, as I found off Anse Lazio. One minute I was snorkelling quite happily and the next I found I had been carried out. I am not the strongest of swimmers admittedly, but I was unable to get back to shore. I was lucky my partner who is a non swimmer alerted someone on the beach who got a life guard and a police officer swam out and brought me back, with me being very shaken and having taken in a bit of water. The quick action of the police officer really was a god send. When we sailed past the beach later in the week on the sunset cruise provided by the hotel, we noticed the safety nets had been put up. Given the shark attacks a couple of years back, this really was the one beach I did not want to be screaming for help on. The snorkelling even in some of the rock pools at Anse Lazio is really good, so if I ever go back personally I will be sticking to those!

In relation to night life, we were brave enough to get down and party with the locals at Oxygen nightclub, at Bt Saint Anne - what an eye opener, these people can certainly have a good time! The club was an experience and played really good music both western and local sounds and was quite state of the art considering you are in the middle of nowhere on small island in the Indian Ocean. Unfortunately we were on a trip the next day so had to leave at 2. There is literally nothing else there so we were a bit worried we would be stranded, but were reassured a pirate taxi parked outside was safe, which we found to be so and half the price of the one on the way out, which was also not expensive at about £5. We felt a bit like lightweights leaving early especially as most people had just turned up!

Kevin who runs Sagittarius boat trips between the hotel and Cafe des Arts was really very good and you can do all trips with him very reasonably and with few people. We would thoroughly recommend the snorkelling trip to Cocoa island, very safe and amazing sights and then on to Felicite island where we swam with a hawksbill turtle, a really lovely and memorable experience.

We did hire a car on one of our days but were slightly disappointed as the Seychellois aren't really so geared up for you moving around the island of your own free will! Visiting the Valle de Mai was our biggest disappointment. The cost was 20 euros each and during the 45 min walk we saw absolutely nothing apart from a small brown gecko. The tourist draw is the Unesco site and the rare black parrot and the endemic species they have but these really are very well hidden and I can only image really in the heart and thick of the forest. Also in fairly typical Seychellois style when we asked to pay for a guide, arriving only at mid day we were told the had all gone! There is a longer walk through the forest but to be honest we had seen enough of nothing and decided our time could be better spent elsewhere on the island. If you see a black parrot or anything remotely interesting please do let us know!

It was similar when we went to La Digue, wanting to see the black paradise flycatcher, which is obviously very rare - you would have needed specialist equipment to track it down independently and the reserve was closed when we went, on a Sunday, which they don't tell you, a bit poor when again it is exclusive to the island.

The island really is stunning and I am glad we stayed on Praslin as it seemed just the right balance. The sea really is gin clear and the sand is so soft if is like powder. The view from breakfast and dinner along Anse Volbert from the hotel restaurant really is unforgettable.

Room Tip: We requested an upstairs room, as we prefer a view and feel in general terms this is a safer option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.2 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
6.6 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
#1 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Les Villas d'Or
Les Villas d'Or
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Sun

Property: Paradise Sun
Address: Anse Volbert | Cote D'or, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island SEZ, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
#2 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a Seychelles gem, embraced in the warmth of the Indian Ocean. The pristine white coral sands of the Cote d’Or Beach at our front door will tempt you to bare your feet. The aquamarine waters that stretch towards an endless horizon will float your troubles away. Our lush lawns and tropical gardens will delight your eye with their beauty. Here there is more than sand, sea and sunshine. There is also the warmth of the Seychelles smile – making it a paradise you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Sun Hotel Anse Volbert
Paradise Sun Praslin Island
Hotel Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing