We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but there are rooms for improvement”
Review of Paradise Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise Sun
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is very nice, rooms are big and cleaning is twice a day. The hotel is located on a beautiful white sandy beach and the view from the restaurant is amazing. However, despite that the web site states that there is free Wi-Fi in the rooms, there is NO internet in the rooms at all. It's only available by the pool and at a VERY SLOW speed which was a huge problem for us as my husband had to work several hours a day on his PC and had to go early in the morning, when it was still dark to the pool for Wi-Fi. There is no free drinks during dinner which was very bad because the hotel is quiet expensive and for this price I expected drinks to be included. There was no entertainment in the evenings except of music during dinner every second day. Good point that anything we needed was arranged immediately, even when our air conditioner stopped working at 10 p.m., we called the reception and got it repaired within 15 min.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive F, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Katerina,

May we say how much we value your feedback and we do appreciate your taking the time to provide us with your comments about your recent stay. Your comments are most meaningful and have been noted, as we at Paradise Sun are constantly striving to provide our guests with an experience which we believe epitomizes the spirit of the Seychelles. Your feedback enables us to monitor our services and ensure that we provide guests with our unique and warm hospitality throughout their stay.

In reference to your disappointment that you expected Wi-Fi in your room, as was advertised on the internet, we have checked our website and have to advise that our site does not feature this point at all. We would be grateful if you could notify us of the site you utilised so that we can communicate with the hosting company and correct their error. Unfortunately the broadband width in the Seychelles is very erratic and hence results in a very slow speed. Regrettably, it is part of the Seychelles structure, and therefore we are in the hands of the authorities.

With regards to your comment regarding free drinks with dinner, the exact items which are included in package rate tariffs are generally clearly communicated so as to avoid any misconceptions and we are sorry that this was not brought to your attention. Thank you for your comments about having an entertainment programme, and we have taken your comments to our entertainment team, so that we can improve in this area.

We are so pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Paradise Sun when next you visit the Seychelles.

Clive Figaro for Philippe Bethune (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

we stayed here for 5 nights in September 2012 with our then 18 month old son. the room was small but pretty efficient and absolutly clean.bed was big and comfy, bathroom only had a shower but was big enough to move inside.location of our room was just opposite of the beach in a beautiful setting. breakfast and dinner pretty much were the same every day, however quality was fine, do not expect any specials, you get basic food at good qulaity that tastes well. the setting of the restaurant is right at the sea with a sandy floor! at the hotel's premisesyou will also find a good and cheap car rental and right at the beach a good little company that offers boat trips!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive F, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

On behalf of the Paradise Sun Hotel team, I’d like to thank you for your time to write the positive review. Our team continuously strives towards service excellence, which you have experienced during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Paradise Sun Hotel in the future.

Regards,

Clive Figaro on behalf of Philippe Bethune (Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This has been a fantastic holiday for us.

My wife and I needed a break from our hectic schedule and Paradise Sun offered exactly that.
A total relaxation from the world as we know it.
Everything on offer from view to rooms to food was fantastic.
Our check in was smooth and without hassle, great job at the front desk.
The rooms are well laid out and pleasantly furnished.
The food is very tasty and beautifully presented and the variety is great – a different cuisine theme each evening!

My wife and I are already planning to go back - we have found our piece of heaven on earth.
We will recommend this hotel to all our family and friends, to enjoy the experience we had.

I went deep sea fishing with a local charter owned by Christof who is a Seychellois.
I recommend you undertake the 2 minute walk up the beach and look for Max at his beach office (desk and chair!) next to the sign for the "Cafe De Arts".
Max does the bookings for Christof and his boat called Phenix.
I had an awesome day’s fishing, Christof is very professional and has a great knowledge of the seas – and his boat is well rigged.

Now for the negative bits of our holiday.
I suggest a bottle of water in the room every day - it’s not such a big ask! It will just add that extra little touch.
The price of drinks is high and the à la carte menu is very expensive. Dropping the prices a bit will encourage us to spend money in the hotel instead of walking the 10 minutes down to the village to buy what we need at the supermarket as it’s cheaper there! Example is a bottle of water at the hotel costs SR50 and the super market charges SR18 for the same!

Room Tip: We had a groundfloor room, and that was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive F, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Trevor,

May we say how much we value your feedback and we do appreciate your taking the time to provide us with your comments about your recent stay. Your comments are most meaningful and have been noted, as we at Paradise Sun are constantly striving to provide our guests with an experience which we believe epitomizes the spirit of the Seychelles. Your feedback enables us to monitor our services and ensure that we provide guests with our unique and warm hospitality throughout their stay.

In reference to the comment, about the a la carte menu and drinks, we have received positive comments from both in-house and outside guests. We are also privileged to welcome many guests from other establishments on the island for lunch and they advise that our prices are very competitive and reasonable as opposed to many restaurants on the island. As with all travel to other countries, it is difficult to make comparisons, and obviously when comparing food prices in South Africa to the food in the Seychelles, it will in general, appear expensive, but this is due to the fact that we import the majority of our food supplies. However, we have taken your suggestion on-board and it will be taken into consideration upon the development of future menus.

We are so pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Paradise Sun when next you visit the Seychelles.

Sincerely,

Clive Figaro on behalf of Philippe Bethune (Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Really enjoyed this hotel - a great variety at the buffet meals with VERY friendly and helpful staff. The room was a bit small but we had a great view. Luckily this hotel is walking distance from all amenties, but would suggest that the hotel put water in the rooms. Would recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive F, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Sharron,

On behalf of the Paradise Sun Hotel team, we’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us.

Your comments are valuable to us so we can endeavour to best satisfy you and other customers in the future.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at Paradise Sun Hotel in the future.

Regards,

Clive Figaro on behalf of Philippe Bethune (Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Most of the reviews say the same so I wont repeat.....but just returned today from our stay. Great hotel & staff. We were in room 28. Two adults & two children, ages 8 & 11 in deluxe room worked well. So if you're on the fence about booking 2nd room for kids, skip it and use the money towards cool excursions! You're hardly in the room, except for sleeping. Room 28 was somewhat close to the main building. If you want total seclusion it might now work for you but we enjoyed the proxmity to the pool. Also, the hotel's location was great. Beach was close as were other other shops/restaurants - perfect since you're on your own for lunch. You can walk to several restaurants, bars & shops. Most days were spent laying pool/beach side. We did book a private charter to Curieuse Island and St. Pierre for snorkeling via Creole. We found the expirence great and a good value, especially lunch. Fresh catch of the day cooked & served warm after a 1.5 hours of hiking the mangroves. Snorkel gear was in poor condition as everyone's seemed to leak but the deck hands were as accomidating as possible. The free snorkel equipment available through the hotel is in better working condition however there are no fish off the hotel's beach so make the most of your off shore excursion! Food was great value. Bar prices a tad high but you expect that for a resort. This is not a party place however. Bar closes early and they're quick to hand you bill after first pint so if you're looking to sit and drink beach side all day - maybe consider different resort. Room for improvement: more non water related activities for evening? Ping pong table & a few board games (all of which had pieces missing) is all there is to do in the evening with kids. Maybe pack your own? And service along the beach & pool would be awesome. We would have easily doubled our bill for incidentels if they had someone walking the beach/pool area taking orders for drinks/snacks. If you wanted something, you had to track it down yourself. And lastly, half board includes breakfast & dinner. You must pay for your bottle of water at dinner - but not breakfast, seems silly? And for the amount we paid for half board for our family of four, we would have expected water or juice available for the kids through out the day. But again, you must pay and having to belly up to the bar everytime your kid wanted something cold to drink seemed like more trouble than it was worth.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtland2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive F, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

On behalf of the Paradise Sun Hotel team, we’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us.
Your comments are valuable to us so we can endeavour to best satisfy you and other customers in the future.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at Paradise Sun Hotel in the future.

Regards,

Clive Figaro on behalf of Philippe Bethune (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 8 days at this hotel partly to celebrate my birthday. The location for the hotel is perfect with a stunning beach right in front of it. We arrived early on the Saturday morning with our room not ready yet, but were give a room to freshen up in so we can start enjoying the beach while we waited for our room. The very efficient check-in procedure and having a room to freshen up in set the standard for the service at the hotel the rest of the week. The service was absolutely excellent! I was even treated with a special birthday cake and dinner service for my birthday, which made it even more special.

The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, all with a sea view and close to the beach, swimming pool and other amenities. The restaurant is a beach bar with sand floors which just added to the overall experience. Food was excellent with different themed dinners every night and a hige variety of food for both breakfast and dinner.

The hotel make use of a couple of travel agents that are available right at the hotel to provide bookings and information for excursions around the islands. Very convenient. There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel if you wanted to make use of the public transport.

The hotel is right in front of St Pierre island with a stunning swimming beach at your doorstep. There is also nice snorkeling sites not far away. Really the perfect setting in Seychelles.

We really enjoyed our stay tremendously and would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PretoriaTravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive F, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your comments and interest in Paradise Sun Hotel.

We are pleased you had a memorable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back at Paradise Sun Hotel.

Best regards,

Clive Figaro on behalf of Philippe Bethune (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at Paradise Sun for 7 days back in August.
I was in Seychelles because of work and didn't maybe took full advantage of the facilities.
The hotel is nicely located just by the beach and have a fantastic menu included in the room price. Nice service and friendly staff.
Be prepared that the resort is a bit worn down compared to the fairly pricy rates. I wouldn't call it luxury more as an Asian really good hut style with hours a day without water etc.
Horrible Internet connection.

In general I believe you have to be really much in love to enjoy many days in these areas. Everything closes at about 11pm unless you want to explore the local disco Oxygen which is the only alternative "near" by

Room Tip: Think they are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
6.6 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
820 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iles des Palmes
Iles des Palmes
#3 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
154 reviews
3.8 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Sun

Address: Cote D'or Beach, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island SEZ, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range: $468 - $872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a Seychelles gem, embraced in the warmth of the Indian Ocean. The pristine white coral sands of the Cote d’Or Beach at our front door will tempt you to bare your feet. The aquamarine waters that stretch towards an endless horizon will float your troubles away. Our lush lawns and tropical gardens will delight your eye with their beauty. Here there is more than sand, sea and sunshine. There is also the warmth of the Seychelles smile – making it a paradise you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Sun Hotel Anse Volbert
Paradise Sun Praslin Island
Hotel Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing