We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rosemary's Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Le Duc de Praslin(Anse Volbert)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cafe des Arts(Anse Volbert)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chauve Souris Relais(Anse Volbert)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Restaurant
Mango Lodge(Anse Volbert)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
Paradise Sun(Anse Volbert)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acajou Beach Resort(Anse Volbert)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cote D'Or(Anse Volbert)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas des Alizes(Grand Anse)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
50
62
20
0
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
62
20
0
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice sea viewnice bathroomfew stepscote d'or beachenjoyed our stayherberthubertbalconyboattripspraslinisland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 141 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We escaped Villa Flamboyant on the other side of the island after only 2 nights as we couldn't take it there. Found this place randomly while trying to find somewhere to stay, turned out to be great. Hébert, Rosemary's son, was pleased to take us in for 70 E per night (B&B, low season). He was very ready to help us with anything we needed, and gave us a choice of rooms. We took one upstairs on the lovely airy big terrace. The room was basic but bright, very airy and super clean, with a nice bathroom. Cleaned every day and sheets changed too. Unfortunately there were works going on in the really pretty garden (we think they're building another annexe..?) but it didn't bother us as you walk out a gate and you are right on Cote d'Or Beach, one of the most lovely on Praslin, and near all the little shops and takeaways (even though there are few on Praslin).
Breakfast was fine, fruit, toast jam and tea/coffee. Rosemary herself was a bit reserved, but Hébert was cool and chatted away with us and solved any problems/questions we had.
Overall, great value, superb location and friendly place. Watch your stuff on the beach though!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank It-Irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We stayed at Rosemary's twice 3 days and we found the place confortable, manager Herbert friendly and ready to help and the environement outstanding for people who like to swim (in fact this is the only affordable place in Seychelles where you can confortably swim at any phase of tide on the beach few meters distant from your room). Note that there is also nice place for snorcheling on thee left side of the small private island some 500m from the shore. Rooms are clean and spacious and despite of close road the night is calm

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

We just came back from Praslin where we expected to stay at Rosemary's as we had booked a room there for 3 nights via email correspondence with the owners.
Similar to the other reviewer here (and some other people that we had run into in Praslin), when we arrived at Rosemary's we were told that there was no room booked for us. Furthermore, we were asked if we had any proof that we had booked. Luckily, I had all the email correspondences with me but the manager (maybe owner?) accused me of not confirming after a confirmation email from them and told us that he had cancelled after no reconfirmation from me. We were flabbergasted that they would not apologize and even try to blame this on us even after we showed the confirmation email... As an added note, there was no mention of reconfirmation anywhere when we were in the process of booking.

The manager then suggested that we stay at this other guesthouse that had just opened up. As we didn't know what that guesthouse might be like, we wanted to call some other places that we had considered when looking for places to stay in Praslin. The guy volunteered to call and after calling told us that all the other places were fully booked (which we later found out that was a lie as well). With no other options at hand, and since we were pretty tired, we decided to give the new guesthouse (Peter Payer) a chance. The guesthouse itself was okay, but what irked us about the experience there is that we found out later from other locals that the new Peter Payer Guesthouse is actually owned by the same family as Rosemary's. It seems that Rosemary's is overbooking on purpose and trying to send people to the newly built Peter Payer. We ran into other people there who also experienced overbooking at Rosemary's.

I would not advise anyone to book with Rosemary's. The people who run it are insincere. Booking with them might just ruin your trip to paradise.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
5  Thank urigio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

I'd like to warn all the travellers planning to stay in Rosemary's at Anse Volbert (Cote d'Or) as we had a terrible experience there.
We booked a double room there 3 weeks before our arrival by phone (after a previous email exchange). When we actually arrived at the front gate, exhausted after a long overnight flight from Europe and further travel from Mahe to Praslin, we were met by a young man (son of the owner, we were told later), who told us there is no room! That they are overbooked and that this happens even in Hilton sometimes! Very nasty suprise.
I admit things like this happen, but usually people are not turned away waiting on the street at the front gate and without a slightest appology or care!
If it wasn't for the taxi driver, who drove us there, we would be lost. He called an alternative B&B, negotiated the price for us, so we paid the same what we were expecting to pay at Rosemary's and on the top of everything he drove us to the new place! Practically he saved our holiday, great thanks to him...
During the 20 minute nightmare in front of Rosemary's main gate nobody from the guesthouse staff showed slightest regret for what happened with the overbooking. Nobody from the staff helped us or even tried to find alternative accommodation. Only the woman who runs or owns the place kept shouting angrily at the young guy in Creole, so we figured out this was not the first time booking were messed up! What a disaster! Don't stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Hunbause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews