We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Petra Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
9 Muses Patmos(Patmos)(Great Value!)
$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grikos Hotel(Grikos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Athina(Grikos)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Effie Hotel(Patmos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Romeos Hotel(Patmos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
230
18
8
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
18
8
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrikos bayfresh orange juiceowners and staffevery morningsmall hotelbeautiful islandwonderful hostswonderful staybeautiful locationminute drivewonderful breakfastthe entire islandnicest hotelpersonal servicebreathtaking viewslong tripcan't wait to go back
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 268 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I were at the Petra Hotel in Patmos for four days in early July. The hotel is a very reasonably priced gem. The suite with sea view was outstanding, breakfast was excellent and cleanliness was almost maniacal with personnel constantly sweeping and washing already immaculate floors. We would go back in a flash! More generally, Patmos is a magical island without the huge crowds of more popular islands with an airport. The presence of a monastery, the village of Chora and countless small churches makes it a hybrid between a vacation spot and a quasi-mystical place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandro56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra_Hotel, General Manager at Petra Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Sandro,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! We are delighted that you loved our suite and that you enjoyed features of our hotel such as our breakfast and detail to cleanliness. It is also great to hear that you liked Patmos island. We hope to be able to host you again in the future on a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My ferry was two hours delayed beyond its 3:15 a.m. arrival time. The host pleasantly greeted me when I arrived and had refreshing lemonade available for me. This was the tenor of my stay. Kind and gracious service, spacious accommodations, and wonderful meals. The view is lovely from the hotel dining room; the rooms are very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank running_w0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra_Hotel, General Manager at Petra Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and positive comments! It is great to hear that you loved features of our hotel such as our service, food and room. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed the view from our dining room. We hope to be able to host you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

High quality accommodation. Best on island. Modern with small pool and fantastic views within distance to beach and harbor. Amazing sunset dinner.
Mr Kostas and Mrs Petra,the owners ,lovely and adorable perons. We felt more than welcome from the begging of our stay. We were given an excellent honey at the time of our departure (Mrs Petra was searching for us at the harbour!)
A great thanks for your hospitality! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better views
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENSKOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra_Hotel, General Manager at Petra Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for all your lovely comments! We are excited to hear that you had an amazing stay with us and that you felt more than welcome from the beginning of your stay. We also do appreciate your comment for the owners of our hotel. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our family spent four days at Petra. It was first class for facilities, service and helpful staff. Every request was met with a smile and "of course". Suggestions for car rental, beaches and restaurants were all spot on. We found Patmos to be lovely and quiet, the hotel is a bit isolated, but a car or taxi can get you anywhere on the island in a short time with far less traffic than some of the more popular tourist islands.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichW456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra_Hotel, General Manager at Petra Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Rich,

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write one! We are excited that you liked both the Petra Hotel & Suites and Patmos island. It is also great to hear that you loved features of our hotel such as our first class facilities and service and we are glad to hear that our staff managed to meet all your requests during your stay with us. We hope to be able to host you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Petra hotel a couple of weeks ago towards the end of May for 4 nights. This was our second visit. I had discovered the Petra hotel through an online travel club last year, and persuaded my husband, a Greek by birth who had become disillusioned with Greek hotels and service, as they tend to over-promise and under-deliver, to give it a chance after extensive research of on-line reviews. The Petra hotel restored his faith in Greek hospitality and we had a wonderful time, so much so that we were determined to return this year during our annual trip to Greece. The owners of this hotel Petroula and Costas set the standard for excellence in hospitality and service by which all other Greek hotels should be measured. We have travelled extensively around the world, and our stays here have been among the best experiences we have had, a wonderfully relaxing respite from our usually busy trips to Greece.

This is a boutique hotel with tastefully designed rooms that fit the ambience of this beautiful island. This is not the place to stay if one is looking for the grand style of an upscale chain hotel or extensive nightlife.

The hotel offers FANTASTIC bountiful breakfasts each day, from fresh orange juice to an entrée option for “healthy and light” or cooked breakfast to freshly made pastries (made on the premises early each morning) that are like no other Greek pastries that we have ever tasted!! As others have noted, the staff are quick to pack up all the extras for one to take for lunch when first asked – we never had to buy lunch during our stay! The hotel offers a limited bar menu for lunch and dinner but a couple of times a week (at least during the time of year we have stayed), a special 5 course menu is offered. We had this special dinner on both of our visits- superb food using a gourmet twist on Greek cuisine, with carefully sourced house wine in a beautiful ambience overlooking the Grikos Bay at night. A truly memorable evening both times.

The staff are exceptionally friendly, attentive and polite. It is very clear that the whole operation pays exceptional attention to detail on every level under the careful guidance of Petroula, for whom this hotel has been a labor of love, many years in the making.

The island is beautiful with unique landscape and religious history. It provides beautiful hiking opportunities to reach remote beaches, which are simply breathtaking. Ask Costas for directions to the ancient byzantine “road” to Chora, a 1 km path straight up the hill behind the hotel to this ancient historic town, with its 11th century monastery and museum crowning the top of the town. Don’t miss having lunch or dinner on the balcony of Vangelis restaurant in Chora town square for good quality home-cooked Greek traditional fare. For the more fit, continue on hiking to the Prophet Elias church, perched on the highest point of Patmos for unbelievable views of Patmos and the surrounding islands. Ask Costas and Petroula for advice on the other places to visit and where to eat on Patmos – you can trust their opinion and not be caught in mediocre tourist trap eateries.

We were surprised to read the negative review from Q15 posted recently, which seems so much at odds with our own experience. So some of our perspective on the points she raised. The rooms are in keeping with the island ambience. When we booked last year, sq footage was noted for each room option, as European rooms can be smaller than most Americans are used to, so experienced travelers should have no problem adequately researching what to expect. The owners spoke both in Greek to my husband and English to me when it was clear that I was loosing them in the conversation (quite often). I found there to be no language barrier with either them or the staff (both ground and dining room staff). Food as we noted above, is excellent and of very high quality. Greek specialities are made with a gourmet flare – no standard Greek taverna food here! As for getting there, there are other alternatives to the ferry ride from Piraeus. We followed the advice of the Petra Hotel (we were travelling the end of May before the flying Dolphin schedule from Samos starts) and caught the Dodecanese Seaways catamaran from Kos (a 2.5 hour scenic trip to Patmos) after flying to Kos from Athens. For a shorter boat ride, you can also fly into Leros from Athens and catch this catamaran from Leros to Patmos. (Advantage of the airport being much closer to the ferry landing/harbor than is the case in Kos).

This boutique hotel may be somewhat more expensive than traditional rooms in Greece may be but the far superior quality, service, food and ambience are well worth it. For the more budget conscious, travel before June and after mid-September for low season rates. It is also worth renting a car (or scooter) for at least some of your stay to fully explore the island. The hotel is happy to arrange this.

Thank-you Petroula and Costas for a memorable stay, we can’t wait to come back next year! Catherine and Elias

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews