We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Quietly Elegant with Understated Superb Service"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petra Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grikos
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Quietly Elegant with Understated Superb Service"”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Along with our spouses, my two brothers and I shared a wonderful few days at this simply wonderful, high end "B&B" hotel. Petroula and Kosta Steriglou, the proprietors, and their young staff provided a wonderful experience with a spectacular view of the Aegean Sea from high on the Patmos hills; with beautiful rooms, outdoor decks and dining spaces; outstanding, slow paced breakfasts; and great white table cloth dinners if you so desired. Patroula and Kosta went above and beyond in providing extra help so our time on the island was free of drama.

Patmos is a unique destination for most people and the Petra Hotel fits wonderfully with the old world charm of this small island. We recommend it without qualification.

Room Tip: I am not sure but I think all of the rooms face the Aegean Sea, a must. I also believe the premier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    18
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
55
151
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at this property in mid June of 2013. I honestly do not think I could say enough positive things about it. The customer service was outstanding. I have dietary restrictions and they went out of their way to make accommodations for me. The staff was very pleasant and very helpful. It is one of the cleanest places we have ever stayed at. The pool area is the perfect place for rest and relaxation while enjoying the beautiful views. I would highly recommend staying at The Petra.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Petra Hotel and Suites is simply put, the best place to be in Patmos! With only 11 rooms/suites, it is a quiet place to stay with incredible views centrally located. Petra beach is a short 15 minute walk and is away from the marinas of Silver Beach, definitely worth the short walk. Silver Beach is very picturesque but the water is not as clean since marina traffic flow thru. We had a Tru Greek night dining experience at the hotel hosted by the owners. All the courses were simply fantastic, great wines, one of a kind service. We had the honor of meeting not only the owners of Petra Hotel and Suites but the owner and his family, of the TruGreece Company. The entire staff was incredible and the rooms were stunning. A definite return trip is in the works, you can't go wrong choosing Petra Hotel and Suites

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiml131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Every year I make a journey with my aunt - but no place was like this one. Petra Hotel & Suites is the nicest Hotel I have ever stayed at. You feel like home there because everybody is nice, helpful and happy. The owners of the Hotel are there all the time for everyone and for everything - they want to make everything perfect and indeed it is.
From every room you have an amazing view at the harbor of Grikos and the sea, it's very quiet, the rooms and everything else is beautifully furnished and it's very comfortable. The food is amazing!! - the owner cooks it all herself.
It's perfect for a honeymoon, a journey with a friend or a family holiday. If you want to have a relaxing holiday this place is the best one to go!
I hope that I will soon go back to that place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Petra Hotel after a week on a sailing boat. We were very grateful when we arrived after a long trip on the ferry to be given a complimentary lemonade and able to have a shower in the luxurious bathroom.
The food and service were wonderful including the bell by the sun lounger which meant a member of staff was there to take your order in couple of minutes.
Our children loved the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucieVejux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have travelled extensively, and I know it is very hard to find a place like the Petra Hotel - not too many people but still the luxury treatment you dream of for a holiday.
It is a unique hotel on a unique spot run by a truly sympathetic couple and their team, being there for their guests and for making the most for their stay at Petra. We arrived at 3 am and were picked up at the harbour by the owner; arriving at the hotel we were welcomed by his wife, although very late or let's say extremely early in the morning we were offered a delicious welcome drink. It was not saying hello to us, it was welcoming us. The moment we entered the hotel it was like arriving at a friend's place. Immediately, we felt at home, with the friendliness and the warmth of the owners and their team - also up to help us with the luggage. They are always around trying to fulfil every wish, at any time of the day. The rooms are made with a lot of good taste, authentic but with modern comfort, where needed - like the bathrooms, WLAN, the furniture of a mixture of classic and artistic - many good ideas, while everything is of highest quality. Nothing from "the shelfs of ordinary hotel furniture". Everything has personality, which is so hard to find in these days. The tranquility there is amazing and obviously it is a place for guests who appreciate and also contribute to this atmosphere, no telephone ringing, nobody shouting, it seems everybody respects the elegant atmosphere. The music , if there is any, on the terrace is lounge music, never too loud, always underlining the relaxing atmosphere in the hotel. It is a unique place, but it is a place for sophisticated people-I would describe the guests as an elegant, respectful group of people. The view is fantastic, from the terrace of the room or where meals are served, dark blue water, a few white, pretty houses above the harbour and of course the marina. Blue sky, sun and sometimes the wind. Breakfast on the terrace is divine, homemade marmelade, fresh baked bread and croissants and a lot of delicious greek home recipies. Dinner served is excellent, since everything is freshly prepared. What I would recommend is to bring a pair of binoculars- there are a few boats, animals and other things you absolutely wish to zoom in for. From Petra Hotel you can do as many excursions and walks as you like - 3,5 km to Hora and 3,5 km to Skala, a phantastic beach, Petra Beach is a 15 minutes walk from the hotel, with crystal clear water, and sunbeds aso. The different destinations you can reach by car, by bus, by taxi or, you just walk. Take good shoes and maybe a rucksack for longer excursions. I wish I can come back very soon :)

Room Tip: all rooms have phantastic sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mareise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We went 2nd time this year to the Petra hotel. And we were really happy there.

An incredible service, unbelievably warm hosts, phantastic views, an abundant breakfast. This is THE best hotel experience for us. We will come back next year and enjoy the hotel and the great company of our hosts again.

A small tip: try the hotel a bit off-season, in spring and ealry autumn you have still a wonderful weather and even more private atmosphere on this small island (we went in June and late September, both ideal for a 1 week holiday break). Thanks again to the wonderful hosts and the great staff at the Petra Hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamasG78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grikos
0.1 mi away
Patmos Aktis Suites & Spa
0.5 mi away
9 Muses Patmos
9 Muses Patmos
#5 of 20 in Patmos
122 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skala Hotel
Skala Hotel
#1 of 5 in Skala
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Patmos Paradise Hotel
Patmos Paradise Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kambos
75 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Skala
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grikos Hotel
Grikos Hotel
#3 of 4 in Grikos
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Hotel & Suites

Property: Petra Hotel & Suites
Address: Patmos, Grikos, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Patmos > Grikos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grikos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Petra Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, the Petra Hotel & Suites has differentiated itself as a charming Patmos island vacation spot, enchanting guests who expect the highest levels of hospitality and service from a small Greek islands boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Prestigia, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petra Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Hotel Grikos
Petra Hotel And Suites
Petra Hotel pátmos
Petra Hotel & Suites Patmos, Greece - Grikos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing