We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petra Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grikos
Certificate of Excellence
omaha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Our family of four, which included two children ages 24 and 20 spent two weeks traveling Greece in May; our first island was Patmos. The Petra Suites/Hotel was perfect for a respite from Athens and long traveling days. Our suites were immaculate, well designed and appointed. The breakfasts each morning were wonderful, with cheeses, pastries and the best coffee. The owners and entire staff were so attentive to our needs. We continued to two other islands and had five star hotels throughout our trip but the Petra Hotel was our favorite.

  • Liked — The high quality service and attention from the staff
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sunsetsOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    18
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
47
142
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Petra. Our room was just lovely – clean and comfortable with a beautiful bathroom and huge walk-in shower. We had a beautiful view of the Aegean, and our own balcony from which to enjoy it. We found the owners to be helpful and delightful people who answered all our questions and helped with information about restaurants and things to do around Patmos. Breakfast was excellent – Greek yogurt (costs extra) is incredible, and so is the Greek honey, although breakfast could be improved by including some fresh fruit and some variety in the menu from day to day. All in all, we were very pleased with our stay at the Petra and can recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcd1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salerno
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We spent two nights in Petra Hotel in the island of Patmos. We enjoyed our stayng: the hotel is located in a lovely bay and very close to the beach, the view is breathtaking from every room and every detail has been choosen with attention. The hotel staff is devoted to let you feel home. The breakfast is rich of delicious typical greek foods . The mystic atmosphere of the Patmos island very well couples the hotel ambience.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonioSalerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2008

Last June I was fortunate enough to spend two weeks visitng the Greek Islands. One of the highlights of my trip was the visit to Patmos. Although the travel arrangements included a 3 AM departure from Athens, it was well worth the inconvenience.
We stayed at the Petra Hotel which is a delight in every sense of the word. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and comfortable. The owner of the hotel, Petra, was a gracious hostess. She personally saw to our every need, answering many questions, making dinner reservations at the island's best restaurant, arranging for taxis. Whatever we could possibly need or want, she was there to help us.
The view from the balcony of the Petra was lovely. We enjoyed a glass of wine and the company of other interesting guests in the afternoon. It was a short walk to the beach. The waters of the Aegean were crystal clear in Patmos but the beach was rocky and not especially attractive. There are no amenities on the beach.
We had a wonderful visit to Patmos and our enjoyment of the island is due in no small part to our outstanding accomodations at the Petra Hotel.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Profesora1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2008

Patmos Island has been called the 'hidden gem of the Aegean,' and Petra is it's crown jewel. This boutique hotel is both elegant and luxurious, and the Stergiou family and their staff treat you like royalty from the second you arrive. Petra Hotel boasts ultimate relaxation and true Greek Island beauty.

The pace on Patmos is several notches below the more touristy, trendy islands. It is an ideal palce to get away, slow down, and just relax. The village of Grikos is little more than a few dozen buildings, and Petra's location on the hillside above provides dramatic views of the tranquil bay.

Our experience was one to remember. The room was immaculate, open, and bright, with a chic decor and windows/balcony with sweeping views of the sea. Our hosts, Petroula and Kostas, were fantastic. From champaigne waiting in the room, to a breakfast spread unlike any other we have seen. They gave us recommendations on activities and dining, and then even drove us to the restautant when we could not find our way. We were made to feel as though we were the only guests at the hotel.

We absolutely can't wait to go back, and highly, highly reccommend Petra to anyone looking for a true luxury Greek Island experience with unparalleld service.

  • Liked — The surroundings in general
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCalMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2008

There is one word to sum up the experience at Petra: WOW!!!! I've travelled here and there and everywhere and never have a seen a moonlight glisten on water the way it did in Patmos. The view and the isolated silence is all you need to forget about the worries at home. It's so personalized, so clean, so fresh and so amazing! Please go---I would definitely recommend a vacation that includes this location.

  • Liked — The view from the deck at night
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Slove9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2008

As a Greek American I have travel to Greece many times. I have visited many islands and stayed in all types of accommodations. On our first trip to Patmos my husband and I wanted to find something special. We thought we did with the Petra Hotel until we got there. Their web site misrepresented the hotel. When we arrived they said they would meet us at the port, they did not and told us to take a taxi. When we booked the room we said we wanted a sea view. Upon arrival our room was in the back with no view so we had to change to a more expensive room which would have been fine if the accomodations warranted the rate. The web site told of their wonderful restaurant, but they did not have one. The owners, an angry Greek woman and her husband, said that it was very hard to keep any help and there was no cook. I found that very believable seeing how terribly the woman treated her staff. The picture of the bathroom on the web site made it look so beautiful. Our bathroom was so small it was hard for 1 person to move. The door didn't open all the ways because of a towel bar and it was very difficult to use the toilet with the door closed. Not to mention, but I will, that we didn't have hot water on several occasions. The owner said we should have notified them, but the front desk phone was never answered. When we asked for them to get us a rental car, it never came so we had to take a taxi into town to get our own. I could go on, but hopefully you get the picture. We were even more disappointed because we had just spent 5 days on Mykonos, a much more popular island, where our hotel “suite” was so luxurious and cost less than our horrible room at the Petra. The woman owner was just so miserable all the time it made going back to the hotel hard. We are not used to Greeks treating anyone like this. In spite of our awful experience at Petra Hotel, we absolutely love Patmos and the locals. We plan to go back every year.

  • Liked — That it was on the island of Patmos
  • Disliked — The woman owner and her attitude
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank LAGREEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grikos
0.1 mi away
Patmos Aktis Suites & Spa
0.5 mi away
9 Muses Patmos
9 Muses Patmos
#5 of 20 in Patmos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skala Hotel
Skala Hotel
#1 of 5 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Patmos Paradise Hotel
Patmos Paradise Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kambos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grikos Hotel
Grikos Hotel
#3 of 4 in Grikos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Hotel & Suites

Property: Petra Hotel & Suites
Address: Patmos, Grikos, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Patmos > Grikos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grikos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Petra Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, the Petra Hotel & Suites has differentiated itself as a charming Patmos island vacation spot, enchanting guests who expect the highest levels of hospitality and service from a small Greek islands boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Petra Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Hotel Grikos
Petra Hotel And Suites
Petra Hotel pátmos
Petra Hotel & Suites Patmos, Greece - Grikos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing