We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Petra Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grikos Hotel(Grikos)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Effie Hotel(Patmos)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Romeos Hotel(Patmos)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
230
18
8
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
18
8
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrikos bayfresh orange juiceowners and staffevery morningsmall hotelbeautiful islandwonderful hostswonderful staybeautiful locationminute drivewonderful breakfastthe entire islandnicest hotelpersonal servicebreathtaking viewslong tripcan't wait to go back
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 268 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

As promised two years ago, we returned to Petra Hotel & Suites in July 2013. The hotel itself is situated in the bay of Grikos at the wonderful Island of Patmos. We stayed there with our 19-year old daughter for 6 nights in the penthouse Petra Suite with its amazing terrace and great view on the bay. And again, the hospitality of the owners, the service of the staff, the superb breakfast, the sparkling pool, the sunny weather, the excellent diner, etc., were fantastic and made you feel at home immediately. When you have the opportunity to visit Patmos, there's only one place to stay: Petra Hotel & Suites! We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I with another couple of friends from Australia stayed at the Petra Hotel in mid June this year for 7 nights .We have been travelling to Europe around mid year for most of the past 12 years and we generally book to stay in small boutique luxury hotels. We stayed in one of Petra's spacious honeymoon suites that had spectacular views over Grikos bay.The owner Petra and her husband were excellent hosts and all the staff and manager Dimitri were superb in looking after us. Greek hospitality at its absolute best.Also the breakfast served on the beautiful terrace overlooking the bay was delicious, varied and plentiful. We understand why guests who have had the Petra Hotel experience return to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I traveled to Patmos almost a year ago and stayed at the AMAZING Petra Hotel. I had a lovely suite - bedroom and living room and very spacious bathroom. The service was impeccable and the food divine. The breakfast alone sets a standard I have not seen at any other hotel and I've traveled to probably 70+ international locations. There was so much food - delightfully fresh and way too tempting. If you're watching your weight, this is the time to let go a little and splurge and enjoy the cuisine. I traveled solo to Patmos but met a group staying at the hotel and we quickly became fast friends - the setting is traveler friendly because the hotel is small so you get to know others staying at the hotel but not in an intrusive way. You very much have privacy and downtime to relax. The hotel also gave great recommendations on restaurants on the island and tour sites. Getting to the island of Patmos is a little involved but it's totally worth it and the Petra Hotel solidifies that you made the right choice in coming.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is, without doubt, one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in. The setting overlooking Grikos Bay is stunning. The facilities are superb and the ambiance is so peaceful. We arrived by catamaran from Kos to be met at Skala Harbour by the hotel minibus. We were taken to the hotel and placed in a lovely room with every facility you could think of.
The hotel is family run and is small. Only 11 rooms, but what rooms! It's not cheap but the best rarely is. Food was freshly cooked and expertly served by friendly staff. A self drive car was organised with no fuss at all. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed a week and we were very sad to leave. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay. We were on the lowest level as my wife is partially disabled and there is no lift. Meals are served on the next level up reached by a short staircase with a good handrail.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank centumvir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

After a few relaxing days on the small island of Leros, we arrived by Ferry on the beautiful island of Patmos, for a 5-night stay from july 4 till 9
We had done extensive research before making our hotel selection, looking at reviews on tripadvisor, etc.
But, more importantly we knew what were looking for: a small hotel, away from the crowd but not too secluded, great view, high standard, good service and close to the beach.
We ended up in Hotel Petra, drawn in by pictures on the website, and must say, it was all there.

Small hotel: just the right size to get a personal treatment, and more professional than a B&B. The rooms are all on different levels, adding to the exclusivity and quietness.
Away from the crowd: located in Grikos Bay, and only 4 km from Skala and Chora. Close to a few very nice tavernas. Grikos Bay was once probably one of the more beatiful bays, but now the Aktis Hotel dominates and spoiles view and tranquility of the bay. It is simply too massive for a small island like Patmos, but with new money (i.e. Russians) come new rules, we guess.
That's what makes the Petra hotel even more of a gem.
Yes, you need a car or scooter, but why wouldn't you anyway, the island is beautiful.
Service: the breakfast is plentiful, fresh and more than one can eat. We were very well attended all day, sometimes even too much, giving us a slight uncomfort in the beginning. After a few days the staff losened up a bit, but it would be great if the staff would be less uptight, and a little more relaxing. We are on vacation in Greece after all :)
Rooms: very nicely decorated, not very roomy, but all is there. For the better view, suggest to get at least a suite. It's worth the extra.
The pooldeck is fabulous and just the right size to soak up the view, cool off and catch the evening sun
Some remarks though: Petra Hotel is part of SLH group, and it seemed management (a very nice couple in the business for 25 years) were sometimes not well informed or were not allowed to make decisions on changes, special requests, etc. without consent from the Athens office.
It seemed this took away some of their genuine hospitality. We must say however that the miscommunication on special requests and rates, atbthe end were handled very profesionally ad supportive, even giving us an upgrade on the room.
So, if you are planning for an upscale boutique hotel on Patmos, this is the right choice, and they truly make an effort to comfort you in a personal way, in a setting that reflects the atmposhere of Patmos. Gisela and Paul Rosenberg

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giseladagmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews