We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melidoni X Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melidoni X Village
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melidoni
Certificate of Excellence
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We recently stayed at Melidoni X village with our two young sons and I have to say it was absolutely perfect in every way. Mareike and Georgios were exceptional hosts, friendly, accommodating and knowledgable of the area and just lovely people. Not forgetting little Yianni too :)
The food at the restaurant was delicious every night and morning for breakfast and they were flexible with food for the kids as well.

The accommadation and settings of the villas a brilliant too, we had the larger of the two villas offered which was the perfect size for our family and as someone else mentioned there are the little touches in detail that show the care and effort that has gone into the place. And the same can be said for the entire property with much attention to detail and hard work put into the whole landscape. It really is quite stunning.
Not the mention the actual location itself set in a quiet rural landscape with breathtaking mountain and valley views.

All in all I can't speak highly enough about our stay and have no trouble at all with recommending this place as THE place to stay when visiting Crete. We had such a great time and our kids did too and we wish we were back there now.

Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarrod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

This was our 2nd time back to Crete after 10 years.We wanted to be able to vist the west part of the island's cities like Rethymnon,Chania,Heraklion,etc but didn't want to be amongst the hords of tourists and package vacationers.Being a travel agent I was seeking something special.
The Melidoni X Village was the perfect place.Still close enough to main highways to reach all the above destinations but away from the hustle and bustle of tourist traps.You really enjoy the Greek experience at Melidoni x Village.
The property is beautifully designed with each Villa having their own private pool and everything is extremely well kept.Most noticable, is the personal touches in all the villas to make them warm and special.The food and personal service at the restaurant is great! This is a great place for familes and couples alike.
The owners Georgios and his wife Mareike go out of their way to help you in every way and are SUPER good people!
When we go back to Crete this will definitly be our place to stay.We will always have the best Memories.

Renee and Ric from Montreal, Canada

Room Tip: All the Villas are well situated for beautiful views and are far enough away from the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgentMontreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

The pictures you see from the houses and the area are 100% correct and give a very good impression about the total location. The houses are really beautiful, everything is very clean. The whole location is perfectly styled. To stay in these houses gives you absolute privacy if you like but having also the possibility to get in touch witch local people in the restaurant. The pool had been a great pleasure for the children and the adults. The view over the valley and the great hills of Kreta is very impressive. Jorgos and Mareike cared very friendly for us and always had an open ear for all our questions. The food was great - especially the dailys specials. There are several trips you can make, and Mareike and Jorgos gave us very helpful tips where to go. The organization, beginning with support by finding the flights, reserving the rental car gave us the feeling of beeing fully supported. We enjoyed this stay very much, we had been very relaxed after this two weeks. We will definately come back and warmly recommend this location!
Jorgos and Mareike - thank you so much for this wonderful time. We whish you all the best for the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharina2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

This was our first visit to Crete and we new that the island was very big with alot of busy resorts. We wanted to stay somewhere that was away from the crowds, traditional and family run. This was definitley the place to be. The bungalows are beautiful and built with the traditional stone and the views are amazing. Mareike and George who are the owners and work extremley hard to keep the village in top condition. Everything is spotless, our bungalow was cleaned twice a week, towels changed twice a week and bins changed everyday. They both made us feel very welcome and it was lovely to have that personal touch. Thankyou so much for our fantastic BBQ and all the advice you gave to us regarding the meat........it was delicious. The bungalows are sooo lovely that we did not see much of Crete because we could not drag ourselves from the pool.
We would definitley go back again, maybe next time we might try to see the island.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaquisings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melidoni
6.8 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
14.3 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
14.4 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
7.8 mi away
Enagron Ecotourism Village
38.0 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#5 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melidoni X Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melidoni X Village

Property: Melidoni X Village
Address: Municipality of Mylopotamos, Melidoni, Crete 740 52, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Melidoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melidoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Melidoni X Village 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Villa, Private garden area, PRIVATE pool Each Villa is detached and surrounded by a beautiful garden in order to secure your privacy! Private living, including hotel service! The combination of both makes Melidoni X Village different and an exceptional accommodation. You want to be able to discover the diversity of the island and to explore Crete but didn't want to be among the hordes of tourists and package vacationers! Melidoni is still close enough to reach a wide range of beaches, sights and beauties of nature but away from the hustle and bustle of tourist traps. Enjoy Crete ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Melidoni X Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melidoni X Village Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing