We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice hotel for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Village Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petalidi
Reviewed September 27, 2008

We visited the hotel with our 9 months old baby girl.We stayed for 8 nights, half board.
The hotel rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast and dinner were rather good, with a variety of dishes. The personel was really helpfull and nice with the children.Nice pool!
Generally speaking , the hotel is a paradise for young children . The only disadvantage is the sea by the hotel, which I didn't enjoy much. But if you are by car , there are really nice beaches , within 5-10 km.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank km1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 297 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for 1 week, we had a basic room at the end of the complex near the road t but the first surprise for us was the balcony. We asked for a bungalow and as we have a baby 1,5 years old we saw that there where no balusters in the balcony so our baby couldn't sit outside. The second surprise was the kid's pool. It was so dirty. The third surprise was that the changing of the towels was made after 5 days, at least to our room. The breakfast was good but the dinner was bad, and there is no kids menu even though in the hotel there were a lot of kids with their families. Not to mention that we never found a baby chair at the restaurant.
Never go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nonameAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

The Sunrise Village Beach Hotel was a rather pleasant surprise. My wife and I were looking for a place to unwind for 3-4 days, within driving distance from Athens. We found it through newspaper ads, checked out the website and Tripadvisor reviews, were offered a good deal for HB accommodation, and ended up having a relaxing time. The room was clean, the food was decent, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Very nice pool and a small but attractive sandy beach. Overall, it turned out to be a rather good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smokedeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2007

Hi the hotel says that its a four stars ....well definately not !!!!probably a 3 star with a lot of help.We stayed there with our 2 small children.We took a family room but it was with two real beds that the bedmatress was not in its possition corectly and had to strech it each time and the other were simple military folding beds for the children.UNACEPTABLE.The food was good but we had an impression that local taverns for the same money would offer better choice.The boy for carrying our lagages didnt know the room so we had to search in midday with 40c all the bangalows to find it.And also one major thing is that there is no security with the garden balcony, so you have to close the door and sleep obligatory with the aircondition on.Luck of space in the parking is a problem also.WE paid 1100 euros for seven nights so for 160 euro per night we definately want more.NOT AGAIN and NOT 4 $tars...........
also heard other people complaining to the reception.......not only
John in From GREECE

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
4  Thank sv1dkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for two weeks with our two kids aged four and two. The title of the review sums up the experience. This hotel is definitely 4- Star Hotel which with a bit of work and attention to details could easily become 5-Star.

PROS
- the staff is friendly and helpful.
- nice grounds.
- nice pool.
- clean, cool (not cold) sea.
- rooms cleaned daily (not thoroughly though), sheets changed daily, friendly cleaners.

CONS
- the beach is not sandy, it is pebbly. If you have a pram (which we had) there is no easy access to the beach, you have to take a long way around the hotel grounds and drag your pram across 100m of beach to reach the umbrellas.
- you have to pay an extra of 7 euros, daily, for the use of an umbrella and two sun beds at the beach....why? Why charge for the beach when you do not charge for their use at the pool?
- the buildings are in need of maintainance. Our telephone plug kept falling out of the wall and the exterior of the rooms was a bit shabby, the toilet lid was loosely fastened.
- the cleaners do not clean thoroughly after a guest departs - under our beds must of have been at least two months worth of dust collected there.
- Playgound consists of a castle with two slides (no swings, no seesaws) situated is in a olive grove with little or no shade.
- Playpen is in the main building, underground with no windows and with air conditioning as air ventilation. We never left our children there.
- Food mediocre and repetitive, apart from watermelon and melon, no other fresh fruit is available.
- In August there were not a lot of International guests, mainly Greek guests. We Greeks are noisy and loud. Especially our children.
- Not really a Hotel for couples, too many families with screaming kids.
- The Bar does not have enough tables outside of the Main building for the evening crowds.

All in all we had a good time, we would recommend it as a cheap alternative to the other 5-Star hotels situated in the Pelopennese.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AKIOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2007

We stayed at the Sunrise in August 2006 with our 4 children. It's set in great grounds, with a wonderful swimming pool area, these i would say deserve the 5*. The accomadation was clean, but pretty basic, in need of an update. The food was boring, breakfast was ok, but the evening meal could have been alot better, so don't go half board. It's position is quite remote so a car is a must and we found the village itself to be very unfriendly.
The hotel staff were brilliant and tried hard to accomadate us and all in all I would recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay, but as it is a quiet place, take some friends with you, especially if you have children.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank yadayadaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

The Sunrise Village Beach Hotel was a nice place to spend 2 weeks, however there are some drawbacks. These include the fact that it is so huge, slightly lacking in greek culture, and is in the middle of nowhere. We were told that you could walk to restaurants outside the hotel. Infact, the road which the hotel is on, is so dangerous you wouldnt want to set foot on it. There were also no resturants close enough to walk to.
However the huge pool was very relaxing. The food was OK, nothing special and the most annoying thing was the fact that there was no fresh produce, mainly cake and cooked breakfast items. We hired a car and explored the surroundings which were very nice, we recommend Petalidi for a meal and a coffee in the sunshine.
The accomodation was really nice, well equiped and clean.
Overall a good experience, however not something I would describe a "5 star experience"

  • Stayed: July 2002, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank xoxfordx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petalidi
12.7 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
347 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
6.7 mi away
Camvillia Resort
Camvillia Resort
#1 of 1 in Vounaria
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Romanos Resort, Costa Navarino
13 mi away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#4 of 21 in Kalamata
458 reviews
13.3 mi away
Filoxenia
Filoxenia
#5 of 21 in Kalamata
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Village Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Village Beach Hotel

Address: Messinia South Peloponnese, Petalidi 240 05, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Petalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petalidi
Price Range: $91 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunrise Village Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 50 rooms in the main building and 200 bungalow rooms spread within a 74,000 square meter landscaped garden of shrubs, fruit trees and olive groves the AA category SUNRISE VILLAGE BEACH HOTEL makes an ideal choice for those seeking a relaxing holiday. The hotel is a splendid setting for banquets meetings, receptions, weddings and presentations. The Othello Conference Hall adjacent to the main bar equipped with audiovisual equipment and air conditioning can accommodate 270 people in theater-style formation. With two of its own beaches well provided with sun beds & umbrellas you will always find a place to relax at the water edge. There is a bar by the large fresh water swimming pool so refreshments are always near to hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunrise Village Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Village Beach Petalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing