We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth time to Ireland was a Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Bruff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2012

.... all those positive reviews on Trip Advisor (and our first ever arrival into Shannon) drew us to Mariam and Patricks "jewel" on Main Street in Bruff, an easy drive south passing Limerick on the highway then into the lovely Irish countryside at Croom for our FOUR-NIGHT-STAY. Mariam (ready to delivery her fourth child ... with "bump" the size of a large watermelon) with due date passed and still running a tight ship at the Inn with a great breakfast and immaculately clean and spacious rooms and baths. Truly a home away from home. How lucky we were to have found this lovely Inn, from which day trips to all the scenic spots in the southwest of Ireland are a breeze.

Slea Head at Dingle Peninsula, Blarney with it's Woolling Mill and Limerick at Dunnes for great shopping ... but STAY AWAY from "junky" Cobh, instead spend a day in Kinsale and Baltimore (lovely towns and area with fabulous fresh sea food in authentic Irish pubs and restaurants)
Mariam recommended dinner in nearby ADARE (beautiful upscale country club - horses/golf - atmosphere in old Irish setting ..... put the Wild Geese Restaurant on your bucket list) and whatever else you do, do not miss the MUSTARD SEED RESTAURANT located in an old country Villa in Ballingarry ...just a short drive back home to THE OLD BANK after a fabulous dinner, to rest up for the next day's travels.

How lucky we were having found this tucked away B & B ... four years in a row at Five-Star properties which were reasonably priced and provided a local flair to our visits. WE SHALL RETURN !

Other similarly great places are the CARRIG HOUSE on Carrig Lake in Killorglin, the ZETLAND COUNTRY HOUSE on Cashel Bay up north in Connemara and the SEA BREEZE LODGE on Galway Bay in Salthill.

Our memories of these and THE OLD BANK B & B will stay with us for a lifetime. Note to Mariam and Patrick: Come visit us on San Francisco Bay ... we too will make you feel at home as you did us !
... and congratulations on the new baby and Patricks wonderful butcher shop (spotless and so well organized).

Jerry and Mary
Menlo Park, California
(San Francisco Bay Peninsula)

Room Tip: no such thing as a BAD room at The Old Bank B & B .... nor a BAD breakfast. (although I brought...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuroCaliGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brufflady, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you Gerry & Mary

For what is a impressive review of our home , Pats butchers shop and local attractions..... Gerry I think you've missed your calling - you'd enjoy being a Irish tour guide!

The house seems quiet since you've left - mind you baby has arrived and is filling in the hours for me but I miss the "banter" in the mornings now that your gone with your Coffee BONG ha ha.

When i started doing B&B - i never imagined Id meet such genuinely nice and FUN people such as your selfs and i can never imagine not running a B&B now.

Should we evey get a holiday to the USA... your on the top of the list to meet for COFFEE

All our love

Miriam, Pat & Family

xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 245 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

Last minute change of plans sent us to meet Mariam and her lovely B&B in Bruff. As a host and guide, Mariam is flawless. Spent my first three nights in 4 star castles, but had my first god nights sleep in Bruff! The next day we received some excellent advice and hit the road to Cobh, which was delightful. I can highly recommend the Old Bank B&B, and have a pint or cup of tea with Betty Howard down the road.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brufflady, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you Roseanne

Im still surprised that you forfitted a night in a castle to come stay with us! I think thats a unique selling tool that our beds were more confortable than a 5 star castle and a wonderful compliment! Well you cetainly were among friends here, I love it when we get people to stay and they settle in - as we say " you dont stay with strangers- you stay with Family"
Mary Howard in the pub will love the references too ! I may have to start calling her betty.... ha ha

Till your next trip to our shores.

Fond farewells

Miriam & Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband and I and our best friends were traveling around Ireland for our 25th Anniversaries. We had chosen this B&B because of the comments. I can tell you that every wonderful comment made is true. Miriam greeted us with coffee, tea and chocolate cake. She pointed out a local pub and it was truly the flavor of a local pub. We loved the fact that it's off the beaten path. Breakfast was Grand! I'm not sure where Miriam gets her energy from but with 3 kids and another almost here she treated us like family. The rooms were spacious and super clean. I would encourage anyone traveling near here to make the effort to stay here. It is truly a hidden gem!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brufflady, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Hi Linda

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, i enjoyed have your all and helping to celebrate both your 25th anniversary...... you can tell the boys that as long as they know us women have the last say... I'll see you again for the 50th...... every moment you were here was so enjoyable, it was like meeting old friends..... certainly a laugh a minute....

Till then all out love & best wishes for the next 25

Miriam & Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We did not expect such a great stay at a small village B&B, but we were not disappointed. Miriam and her family were great, from the tea and cake on our arrival, to the loaner of plates and forks for our take away. Such a great visit on our last night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VLDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brufflady, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Hi V

This is my second time responding to this message, I delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we enjoyed having you here also. thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

till we meet again

Fond farwells

Miriam & Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

My wife and I and another couple stayed at this B&B during our visit to Ireland for 2 nights. You couldn't ask for a more comfy place to stay. The rooms were better than most B&B's we've visited. The food was absolutely terrific, you could chose from a typical "Irish " breakfast or just have a scone and coffee, Besides the very comfortable rooms and excellent food, you were taken care of by Miriam. She made you feel at home the moment you walked in the door. Miriam was warm and friendly, outgoing and was also an excellent tour guide. Miriam recommended places to visit, great restaurants and she shared with us about Irelands history years ago and today. Our memory will be eating breakfast in the dining area and Miriams children peeking in to see who was there as they got ready for school. Don't miss this B&B.
John and Judy

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDennisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brufflady, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you John & Judy for what is a most heart felt review. Im delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & we equally enjoyed haveing your party to stay with us also. As for the peek-aboo...... our site say's you dont stay with strangers, you stay with Family and this is a true Irish home.

Till we meet again

All our found wishes

Miriam & Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

"This is yet another Jewel just outside of Limerick. The moment One arrives a Vibrant Miriam greets and welcomes You to this Lovingly restored Bank of Ireland and the Wealth that She & Her Husband infused is the Value contained in Heart & attention to detail. She whisks One away to a Romantic time through the Ambience that is there & yet all the conveniences are attended to as well. Spacious, Sweet and quiet with Phenomenal close proximity to "The Grange Stone Circle" and Megalithic Grave Sites. As Our Irish Odyssey was Our 1rst and as We were "Winging It" ...Rob & I both searched the day before for Our next B&B experience & Individually, We both were drawn to "The Old Bank Bed And Breakfast." Absolutely trusting synchronistic events...We immediately booked! The Breakfast was Fantastic & even a special request for hot chocolate was Honored & given in plentiful amounts. Miriam is a Wealth of information as well for the Traveller & always open to anything One desires. We would return in a heartbeat. Thank You so very much, Miriam, You & Your Family are a very Special Group! Blessings for Eternity in all that You do!
Love Always & Forever,
L.A.A.F.
Pat Timmermans...Purveyor of "Endless Possibilities!"

Room Tip: "All Are Good..."
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flashtimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brufflady, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Thank you Rob & Patricia (PAT) for what is a most gracoius review.

Im extremely blessed that we get to welcome such lovely guests such as your selfs, & I truly love what I do here, the social aspect is most the most rewarding part of this. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay on our fair isle and as I say the "spirit of the Irish is to be found in its country side and people"

Till we meet again, may I return the compliment with a Irish blessing

"May the road rise to meet you, the sun shine on your face and the wind be at your back" & theres always a place at our table.

Miriam & Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

A little off the beaten path, The Old Bank was an absolutely wonderful stop and we highly, highly recommend it! The B&B is beautiful, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable (and offer a whirlpool bath!). Breakfast was absolutely wonderful, as the meat was provided by Miriam’s (the proprietor’s) husband who is a butcher (best rashers and black/white pudding we had the pleasure of eating!). Miriam was wonderful to talk with and very knowledgeable about the area and sights within Ireland – we wish we had more time to spend there!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brufflady, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

"Awesome" Kim & Matt, ........ Pat and I have swelled heads reading this review.... We're delighted you enjoyed our breakfasts and our home, Appoligies to Matt for making him try our pudding but as least we converted him!!

Till we meet again Fond farewells

All our love Miriam, Pat & Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruff
5.3 mi away
Deebert House Hotel
Deebert House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmallock
162 reviews
11.0 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
9.6 mi away
Charleville Park Hotel
Charleville Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charleville
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,973 reviews
13.1 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
Travelodge Limerick
Travelodge Limerick
#13 of 20 in Limerick
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast

Address: Main Street. Bruff. | Co Limerick. Limerick, Bruff 061, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Bruff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bruff
Price Range: $87 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4* banking town house offers accommodation in 8 luxurious ensuite jacuzzi rooms, ranging from family interconnecting rooms to the serene intimacy of four poster bedrooms over looking peaceful courtyard gardens. Each room possesses its very own distinct individual style that blend period decoration with all of today's modern services and luxuries. Miriam & family have earned a great reputation for the quality of both accommodation and service, and breakfast is a treat - an impressive selection of home baking is served next to a extensive menu in a dining room that is set up like a restaurant. For golfers & cycling entunacity the house is ideally located among 5 golf courses and with in short distances of Europe’s largest mountain bike park and is on many road cyling routes. The house is a excellent touring base for historic Lough Gur, Adare with day trips to Cliffs of Moher, Rock of cashel, ring of Kerry and Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bank Bed And Breakfast Ireland/Bruff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing