We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic but friendly staff and clean rooms!”
Review of Lake Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Studios
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very basic but friendly staff and clean rooms!”
Reviewed January 25, 2010

The Lakes are very very basic but have all you need. The rooms are painted completely white, with a wardrobe a kitchen area and some draws. A small bathroom with toliet sink and shower. A nice balcolny with a lovely view. The couple that run this hotel are lovely. Everyday they clean the rooms for hours, jest the two of them changing sheets, mopping floors, wiping sides, they even folded all our clothing and done our washing up! The pool here is very tiny, but again lovely and clean and quiet. Its not somwehere to go if you want amazing pools, luxury rooms etc but thats obvious given the very cheap price. Yet if you want somewhere quiet, clean and comfy that you can use as a base for exploring the rest of the island then lakes is brilliant.

Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chloe1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    3
    7
    6
See reviews for
3
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
belgrade
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Our first trip to Skiathos and the island is lovely, people friendly and a very very green and lush island. Htl Lake is very good location, greatly snowily rooms and pool. The rooms were cleaned daily towels. The hotel was really nice

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tekanatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Lakes Apartments are good basic self catering accommodation and a great base for exploring Skiathos or just lazing on the many nearby beaches. Rooms are small but kept spotlessly clean daily, with linen changed twice weekly - the owners are very low profile but always available and very friendly and helpful. Pool is small and there are no on site facilities such as pool bar and snacks but this is available at the Muses Hotel next door.All rooms have TV. Air con is extra (5 Euro / night) but we found that we didn't need this as rooms were OK at night.) We stayed at Lakes last year and were impressed - since then the owners have upgraded many features of the apartments. There are many good local Tavernas all within a 10 minute walk or less, we especially enjoyed 'Strofilia', 'Village Taverna' and 'Captain Mikhail's' the latter being very friendly but often quite chaotic-good food though.There is also an excellent Chinese/Indian restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikebowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Quite a basic hotel with small but adequate rooms. The staff weren't the most attentive you will find but keep the rooms very clean. The location is excellent and using the old adage you get what you paid for, this is good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed in the Lake Appts in Sept 2008. We had a fantastic holiday and cant wait to return! Skiathos is a beautiful island with amazing scenery and very friendly people. The Lakes accommodation was above average. Extremely clean and staff were very helpful - however theere was a language barrier! But this did not seem to cause much difficulty. While we were holidaying in Skiathos our airline (XL.COM) went bust. The staff in the appts were very accomodating and made us feel very welcome - we even got an extra day at the beach! Koukanaries is THE area to stay while in Skiathos. We dined at The Village Restauraunt a couple of times, and recieved excellent service and food. The waiting staff were very friendly also. We dined at Capains Restauraunt twice! However the first was excellent, the food was tasty and we were plied with wine... we returned - sober - the service was appaling, the food arrived in minute portions and we left hungry, and sober!!! On several occassions we took the bus into town. This service was quite regular and cheap. The beaches were amazing and we had a dilemma every day - which wonderful beach would we go to that day? - they were all wonderful. One trip we would recommend would be the Boat Trip Around the Island, the views were brilliant!!

  • Liked — closeness to the beach
  • Disliked — it was not a typical hotel, it was more like a studio.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bobmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2007

We stayed at the Lakes appartments for two weeks, there were four of us, two sharing a room, so two rooms in all.

The rooms are a bit on the small side but they were spotlessly clean. The two people who ran the complex worked tirelessly every day, rooms were cleaned every day except Sunday and towels and bedding were changed every 2 to 3 days.

The pool was cleaned out every morning and there were plenty of sunbeds and parasols for general use.

Air conditioning is available at a cost of 5 euros a day and during the heatwave it was much appreciated!!

The Lakes is in a good situation, not far from the local supermarket where the staff are extremely friendly, and in good walking distance from some of the best beaches on the island.
I would thorughly recommend Hera which is the restaurant next door to the appartments with the best food and staff around!!

Bus stops are less than 2 minutes walk away and they run every15 minutes.

Enjoy your stay!!!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank allyok17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Returned on 9th August 2006.
The Lakes, we found, was ideal for us especially as I was on crutches and the ground floor only had a few steps.
The location was lovely with a nice view across the lake.
The appts were adequete bearing in mind that you only spend a small time there and most of that is to sleep.
They are cleaned everyday, with new towels and bedding every two or three days.
We spent most of our time at The Muses next door as they had a good pool bar and you could also get a lunchtime snack.
Eating out in the evening, we found the best places were The Golden Beach, The Muses, and Captains (Old wooden taverna set back from road) where the mixed fish for two was excellent and would have fed four!
Bearing in mind I was on crutches and in a wheelchair( hired from Import Mobility Products in Skiathos town), I found the resort very pleasant and quite suitable for people with mobility difficulties.
Hope you find this all useful. James and family.

  • Liked — Easy access, and a nice quiet location.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamesmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.4 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 84 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maistrali Studios
Maistrali Studios
#7 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#5 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Studios

Property: Lake Studios
Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Lake Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakes Apartments Hotel Koukounaries
Lakes Apartments Skiathos
Lake Studios Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing