We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Just got back from a fantastic week in Skiathos. Beautiful island and a great hotel and would definately go back.

Having read some of the less positive reviews for this hotel, we were a little unsure to begin with about what to expect, but looking at the Mandraki website was enough to sell it to us and give it a try, and we weren't disappointed.

From the minute we arrived we were greeted outside by a member of staff who showed us to the reception and then onto our room. The staff overall were very friendly the whole week, and very accommodating to any questions we had.

The hotel was lovely, set in very nice landscaped grounds which were tended by gardeners every day, the pool was clean and adequate size for the number of guests. Koukounaries beach is only a short 5-10 min walk away from the hotel, and is one of the best on the island, while the more upmarket Banana beach, with its chiq beach bars and sun loungers is about a 20-25 min walk away.

The hotel bar wasn't as expensive as some other reviewers have suggested, a small draught beer (250ml) being €2 and a large (500ml) being €3.50. Perhaps they have revised their prices recently. They also do a good range of snacks for lunch, but do expect average hotel prices for these, which is fair enough. Elias restaurant on the top floor of the main hotel building is open each evening and looks onto the lovely grounds. The food here was very good and the staff were attentative, but slightly more expensive than the average local tavernas although hotel guest do receive a 10% discount.

Our recommendation / top tips:
– If you get a cooler day, and don't want to hire a car, try hiring a mountain bike from the Mandraki Hotel (only €5 for a day) and cycle through the amazing pine forest to Mandraki beach, and then follow the dusty coastal path stopping at some others long the way and end up at banana beach. Beautiful scenery.

– The Big Bad Wolf restaurant (don't let the name put you off), right next door to the Mandraki is a great local taverna that does food and drink at a very reasonable price.

– Bus ride from Mandraki to Skiathos town is only €1.80 one way and takes about 20 mins.

– Boats trips that leave the harbor each day travel to other beaches / islands, and are a great day out. Book direct for a cheaper price than through your tour operator.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 393 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2009

Having booked in June to go to this hotel, I was a bit concerned to read a couple of bad reviews just before we went. However, there was no cause for concern. The hotel is really lovely, exactly as it appears on the web site and in the brochure. Our room was wonderful and so beautifully presented; everywhere was spotless; we had a lovely garden view. The hotel may be on themain (only) road, but there is no noise problem at all. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful - we were told we were 'family not guests' and every one of them, especially Evina on reception, was polite, helpful and smiley.

The location of the hotel is perfect. The bus to Skiathos Town and all other resorts stops right outside the hotel and runs regularly. The journey back from Skiathos Town at midnight is one of our very best and most amusing memories!!! Koukounaries beach is literally 5 mins away and if you can manage a half hour stroll through the pine forest you will be rewarded by 3 of the most gorgeous and quiet beaches you can wish for.

The open air cinema and a stroll around the old town of Skiathos is a must! There is not a lot of shopping to be done but loads of lovely restaurants to sample. However, it must be said that the restaurant at the Mandraki would take some beating and we ate there on 2 occasions - superb.

We will definitely be going back again next year !

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mollyduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We've just come back from a two-week stay at the Mandraki. We had a great experience and really enjoyed staying there. The staff were helpful and nice and the atmosphere was very chilled out. We stayed in a junior suite, which was a good size for two people and nicely decorated. I would say it was big enough for 3 friends to share or a couple with a small child, but you should all be happy to effectively be staying in the same room.

Our room was kept really clean and was always stocked with soap etc.

The breakfast was nice enough (and a similar standard to our experiences of other european hotels), and we ate in Elias a couple of times and enjoyed the experience. The location is good, in that it makes it easy to get a seat on the bus and its also very peaceful. The pool was open until 8pm and it was always easy to get a sun lounger. Its easy to walk to Koukounaries beach and Ag Eleni.

I would happily return to the Mandraki, and was pleasantly surprised after reading some of the recent reviews!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beccy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

................if you have booked a holiday at this hotel and are reading less than satisfactory reviews (as we did before we left) then don't worry. We did not encounter any rudeness from the staff at all (and that was even during some difficult discussions) - so not sure if the rude person has been got rid of or not, but the staff are not an issue.

Okay so what are the issues? Well firstly it is located right next to the main road which can be a bit irritating with the constant procession of buses and people on noisy scooters and as there is a nasty junction the daily laying down of rubber ceremony - but I am being picky on that bit. The main issue though is the room description compared with the room. We booked a junior suite (there were four of us two adults and two children 11 and 14) which for me I had visions of being a room with chairs, plus two bedrooms and a bathroom. Cue Family Fortunes error noise - no it was a single room, (about 3m x 4m) with a nice double bed and a sofa that had been made into another double bed. It was very small and at close to £300 a night B+B, I think represented poor value - although I guess if you got it cheap then not bad!

The pool is lovely and clean although does become an entomologists' delight later in the day, and so I took to fishing these out myself. One excellent thing is that even arriving at 11am there were no towels on the loungers (lovely and comfortable) which was great - in fact we had the pool to ourselves quite often.

There is a restaurant in the hotel (Elia's) which was pretty good, certainly worthwhile eating there. The hotel is expensive (mind you so is the whole island) - e.g. a 0.5L beer about €4.80, yet milkshakes were €6 each (we spent about £100 on those alone!) and small bottles of Sprite and Cola were about €2.80 each (scandalous!).

Breakfasts were okay, pretty samey (in fact completely samey) but fine.

If you go down the road (turn right out of the hotel) in about 30m you will find the Big Bad Wolf - we ate here a lot, it is a bit cheaper but reasonable even if there is a lot of microwave activity, but that is compensated by the friendly staff. If you go more than twice then Alex the owner seems to treat you royally and has good contacts (car hire for example). He has a sister restaurant in Skiathos town which is good and had some nice guitar and bouzouki playing there (if you like that) - but Skiathos has hundreds of places to eat.

One thing, don't forget that despite the EU ruling, Greece hasn't adopted a no-smoking policy (or if they have nobody bothers about it) - I found this really irritating when eating - the bacon can be quite 'smoked' at breakfast!


To get to the town either take the bus (which can be very busy) at €1.80 pp each way or take a taxi about €14- ish. Incidentally if you have booked your own holiday do NOT pay for a transfer in advance - we were offered this at €175 return and I thought this was a bit steep, so decided to risk it (having travelled extensively on business I couldn't think of an airport without taxis) and the return was €40!

Further on is a Indian / Chinese restaurant (please don't ask why we decided to eat here) which was a contender for the worst meal I have ever had on holiday, and that is up against some pretty stiff competition - really awful and expensive.

If you want to do a DIY meal then walk the 300m to the larger Supermarket further on down the road which is cheapish and has a reasonable choice.

We did venture to Koukanaries beach, which was a living hell for me - thumping music and packed. Either walk a bit further or hire a car, nicer beaches in the more off the beaten track places (but get there early as they are busy but less crowded, if you see what I mean).

We didn't do a round the island boat trip but did go sailing for a day (€60 pp) which was really good and the skipper, Yannis, you can't miss him he has a big Alsatian, which is an amazing dog (it swims and takes the rope to shore) and is rather bohemian in appearance, cooks with fresh food and rustled up a beautiful lunch.

So my conclusion would be that if you must go to Skiathos then I think the Mandraki is a good hotel, it is small nicely kept and not some concrete monolith that you might have to stay in. However if you don't need to go to Skiathos then go somewhere else as I think you could get a better deal for a room.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank C4LWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

..But not much else really.
Our baby boy loved the way our room had direct access to the garden and the (minimal) playground. We also loved the way we just headed down the slope (by car) and one of the best beaches in the world was just there waiting for us to simply enjoy.

The breakfast was bad. How difficult is it to get fresh bread in the morning ?!?!
And how hard is it to put drinking water somewhere you can pour yourself a glass instead oh having to ask the barman for some or buy a bottle (I suspect that is why they dont make water available - a bottle is sold at 1.70 euros at the bar!).

The pool is small and not that clean. So we skipped it. No reason to stay at the pool when Koukounaries beach is right across the road anyway.

We woke up one day and there was no running water and no electricity but it was fixed rather quickly. Yeah - the staff seems to be annoyed to be there, and the service is kind of late and they dont always get your order straight.

Question: What were you people thinking when you put up a glass door in the bathroom, one which you can see through and which does not close entirely ?? Is this a new design trend - coz it stinks! Literally and metaphorically!

There does seem to be a problem with the airconditiong and you have to constantly re-adjust the temperature.

It was nice that the hotel was small and kind of quiet (except from someone moving furniture and banging on the walls with a hammer next door, on our first day there - during our son's nap). But it was all so close by, we just walked out the door of our ground floor room and our car was parked right outside . Convenient when you are carrying baby stuff etc.

2 things for families with small kids: They provided us with a cot bed with not mattress so we had to go out a get one from a store - so if you are going there, ask for it - we left it behind! Secondly, the double room we got was quite small and there wasnt much room to move - so ask for the family suites instead.

I would have been happy with this hotel if I had paid much less. The location is great although I'd rather it had a view. But Im happy with the fact that it was close enough to the beach and that I could sit on the veranda and enjoy my coctails at night, quietly and discreetly enough.

Skiathos is wonderful but get a car if you are going there during July or August - buses are crammed and you are really risking your lives walking by the side of the road, there are no pavements!

Moreover, the town of Skiathos is crammed with cars and motorbikes and stinks of car fumes! The roads inside the old town are for both pedestrians AND motorbikes so you risk being run over at any time while strolling around.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apollonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

The hotel is nice - clean, fresh, and boutique style. We had high expectations from the website and trip advisor. Unfortunately the hotel did not live up to this. The room we were given (606) was tiny, really tiny, barely enough room to walk round the bed, nowhere to store the cases, 2 tiny drawers, very little space or storage and a transparent toilet door which offered no privacy! It was decorated nicely but felt very claustrophobic and our balcony, overlooking the gardens, was tiny (approx 6ft x 3 ft) and joined on to next door with no privacy to talk! We raised our concerns with the receptionist who was not very helpful and asked us to come back to speak to another receptionist after breakfast the next day. We did this and asked if we could be changed to another room. The receptionist was rude and made us feel very awkward for asking. She made no attempt to move us and told us to come back later in the week. We did this and still no change, we were told to come back again. Eventually at the third attempt we were really fed up and had to force the issue as we were still unhappy with the room and the staff had no interest in moving us. After some time spent discussing this with the receptionist it seemed that there was a room available all the time - she just didn't want to move us! The room we got moved to was much bigger with a spacious balcony. If we were initially placed in this room we would have had no complaints.

It seems other people on trip advisor have also had problems with the rude receptionist. We were quite shocked by her total lack of customer service - basic manners even. We asked in a polite and friendly manner to be moved but the receptionist was rude and unhelpful towards us.

The hotel decor is definitely of a high standard however we got the impression that the staff (well one receptionist in particular) rides on this reputation and simply cannot believe that there would be any problems. If anyone does highlight any problems she shows no interest in resolving them.

Other points - Elia's restaurant is excellent, delicious food, OK prices and nice staff. We didn't think much to the other restaurants in the local area and would recommend eating here. The Big Bad Wolf is OK for lunch. The Chinese is awful, don't waste your money there.

Breakfast at the hotel was poor, the same thing every day. Nice greek yogurt and honey but tinned sausages and fatty bacon - not good. Why not serve some fresh fruit instead of just tinned peaches - totally uninspiring.

The pool area at the hotel is lovely, clean and nice sunbeds. There are also gazebos dotted about if you fancy some shade. Beers/drinks at the pool bar a bit pricey.

We got the bus into Skiathos town most nights, the buses are every 15 mins but always packed and the bus ride takes 30 mins into Skiathos town. That said Skiathos town is beautiful, eat at The Windmill you won't be disappointed. If you book in advance you can get the honeymoon table which is a little balcony for two on the side of the windmill overlooking the harbour and the town - it's amazing.

Rock and Roll bar is the the best place for a cocktail, sitting on cushions on the steps near the harbour. Go during happy hour (7 - 9pm) otherwise cocktails get pricey!

Beach wise try Banana Beach as it's a lot prettier and quieter than Koukanaries.

All in all Skiathos is a gorgeous island, we'd definitely return but would stay within walking distance to Skiathos town as the bus can be a bit of an ordeal every night.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misslizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

The hotel looked great on paper however in reality it does not deliver. The style of the hotel is nice and the hotel is well cleaned. The hotel grounds are very well kept. The rooms are of a good size and the fittings are good. I would like to point out before I start the critique of this hotel that we are not fussy customers; we are a young family who are very friendly and easy to get on with. We did like the area and especially Banana Beach and generally had a good time. So what could be wrong?

Day 1. First impressions count. We arrived at our room and the door handle fell off. There was no soap or shampoo provided. When I queried this with the extremely rude receptionist I was brushed off and rather given a lesson on not to flush toilet paper down the room toilet. It started like this "I don't know how you do things in your country......clean yourself in the shower" very condescending and rude. So the bottom line is (excuse the pun) is you are expected to clean your backside in the shower, however no soap will be provided! Not a good start.

The prices at the hotel restaurant were hugely inflated and the food was average. Come bedtime we found the room to be stuffy and you had to juggle the aircon on and off all night.

Day 2. Breakfast was very average. Tinned fruit? Mankey bacon and scrambled egg? They recon their breakfast is worth €20 - I say it is worth €5 at the most. By the end of our stay the breakfast had never changed once. They also keep putting the same pastries and breads out each day, so very stale. On day 4, they ran out of coffee...when we queried this with horribly offensive receptionist we were met with a barrage of rudeness to the point that I lost my temper. The staff at the breakfast counter openly called us "malakas" and all because we had the audacity to ask for a cup of coffee with our breakfast. Totally shameful. This is not a professional organisation and a relaxing holiday becomes very hard work.

On day 5 we requested that the sheets be changed as my young son had been ill. The cleaners who had been so friendly before, now openly scowled. How unprofessional, it runs through the entire organisation. The very same rude receptionist came to our room to authorise the change! "Why do you need your sheets changed?" This is not a question you should be asking your guests as it is obviously a personal matter. Why should guests have to defend the request for bedding to be changed? Unprofessional. Every day there was another issue...

The evening of day 5 brought another surprise for us! How unlucky can you get? We had a jeep and had left the top down, bad news as the hotel sprinkler system operates in the parking spaces so our vehicle got entirely soaked while hotel staff blatantly ignored the fact. What a hotel this is!

The pool closes at 6pm...so after a hot and sandy day at the beach you can't even take a dip...I find this to be ridiculous.

This hotel appears to cater for people on package holidays. We generally found other guests at the hotel were pretty dour. No one smiles and the whole thing seems forced. People trying to look important etc. Boring. Fake.

I recommend the area, but look for other accommodation. Mandraki is not cheap and it is definitely not worth it. Don't get sold on the website, it looks stunnning, but that is skin deep, the actual operation is abysmal. The hotel manager looks like he should be managing a night club and the staff actually look they come straight from a nightclub when they start service in the morning. Unwashed and unshaved with bad BO. The cleaners empty ashtrays into the hotel gardens. Although wireless internet was promised, they did not in fact provide this service and blatantly lied that the entire area had an issue with their internet connections, funny that the very next place on the road had working internet. No-one likes being lied to. I could go on about the Mandraki, but life's too short.

There were a number of better accommodations in the area which were much better and much friendlier and better priced. I will never recommend this hotel and would never return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank camestayedleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.3 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,165 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
978 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
4.5 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#2 of 84 in Skiathos
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel

Address: Koukounaries | Bus stop 23, Koukounaries 370 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Koukounaries
Price Range: $87 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plunging into the woods and from there, into the heart of the sea - a relaxing holiday in the Greek islands. Walking through the Koukounaries beach and parklands, 200 metres from the hotel, is a memorable experience. Some other beautiful beaches on the northern part of Skiathos Island, Greece, are the beaches of Mandraki and Elia’s, after which we have named this Skiathos luxury boutique hotel and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing