We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday !!”
Review of Muses Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Muses Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great holiday !!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at The Muses first 2 weeks in September . We had a very relaxing holiday. We would stay at this hotel again and will tell our friends & family all about it . Our room was kept clean only let down was the odd ball shower waist height (what's that about) plenty of hot at all times of day.Beautiful gardens and pool area are well tended.The staff are all very friendly especially Maria & Sophia . Loved the bus trip to town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    77
    46
    7
    15
See reviews for
50
125
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

As we left in hurry on morning of departure; we didn't have time to say our goodbyes and thanks. Thank you so much Marula,Maria,Sophia,Spiros.We had a fantastic time at muses.absolutely amazing setting and location. The atmosphere is so relaxing and laid back. Rooms are clean,spacious and quiet.Thanks to special Sophia and Spiros. Marula for room move. 121to 119 . We will be back . Ken& Eva

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KencEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We visited the Muses from 28th August until 11th September and had a great time. Over the last 20 years we have visited Koukounaries 10 times staying at various accommodation. We last stayed at the Muses 3 years ago. I have to say that it is one of the best. The rooms are large, some have showers and some a bath. Maids visit daily and towels are changed regularly. The apartments are on two floors set in a wonderful gardens. Most are very private although some towards the top are a little more enclosed. The rooms and public areas were always clean. As usual requests are made for a specific type or location of a room. It must be difficult to oblige everyone with their wishes when a hotel is full as this one was, but I do know that management will do their best to help.
Wi fi is available throughout the reception, restaurant and bar area and for most of the time is excellent. The pool area is cleaned daily and whenever we wanted to use a sunbed was always able to do so, no matter what time of day. Drinks were probably some of the cheapest in the resort.
The staff without exception work very hard and are very accommodating, nothing is too much trouble for them.
Breakfast I thought was good and indeed better than out last visit. Always a choice of eggs, ham, cheese, sausage of a type, cheese pies, omelette, yoghurt, melon, bread etc.
Many people return to the Muses, however it does not appear cliquish at all and credit to the staff for treating everyone on equal terms.
The restaurant is one of the best in resort and we ate there 4 times and never had a bad meal. What I liked about this establishment is that there was no pressure from the management whatsoever to eat at the Muses. It was very popular with other holidaymakers.
The resort of Koukounaries has hardly change in the twenty years we have been going. An odd new taverna or hotel and that's all. One disappointment was the changes made to Big Banana beach. It has lost it's character and now accommodates for a younger element. That is fine if you are young. There are many other beaches to enjoy though, all within walking distance, some of which are as good as you will get in Greece. The main beach is spectacular but can get quite busy with boat trips.
Other restaurant we found to be good we're The big bad wolf and Under the Pine Tree. Thee are probably another half dozen or so all of which serve great food.
Thomas Cook transfers were very quick, just over half an hour and unusually nowadays accompanied by a rep on both transfers.
As you can imagine we are likely to return to Koukounaries and would definitely stay at the Muses.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank eyorkstigersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A totally pleasant and comfortable hotel in a beautiful , peaceful spot. Surrounded by pine forest and looking over a lovely lagoon beyond which is the turquoise sea. The area is a biotope and as such is unable to develope over what is already there. That being so, Koukounaries retains its relaxed Greek character. The hotel is within easy reach of several fine beaches, two small supermarkets and some really nice tavernas and bars. Staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious, well appointed and have good balconies. The bus stop for town is practically on the doorstep when a little more nightlife is desired. We have returned here for several years and regard it as a ' Home from home'

Room Tip: Twin rooms have a larger balcony so you can spread out a bit. One with evening sunshine is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamelabeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Be aware that if staying in room numbers 150 and upwards you have a quite a hike to your room and the path is quite a long slope. As we were over 60 we found it tiring and had to stop a few times on the way up we could not change the room as they were fully booked, bath room very small toilet and shower very very close you had to have your feet in the shower to use the toilet. The air con cost 5 euros a day and in August it was very hot at night. The breakfast very basic, but the hotel restaurant was very good service and food excellent. Staff very friendly. It was very quiet in the evenings all rooms had double glazing so if there was any noise you could not hear it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearer to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haggis34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinton, Manchester
Level Contributor
212 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having last visited Skiathos 12 years ago we returned this time to Koukounaries. We read the reviews on Muses and chose to stay here. Don't get me wrong here but it is a good little base to work from but badly needs some TLC. We hired a fridge for the fortnight but it kept us awake all the time with its clanging then stopping and starting. The rooms are quite spacious with ample storage room. Unfortunately we were located right at the back in Klio and didn't have a view of anything apart from the gardener. The sunbeds have seen better days and need replacing and even buying additional ones. There are 9 blocks, with 4/5 apartments yet only 18/20 sunbeds. Good job we spent most time on beaches. The bar staff are the winning graces for Muses. Spiros and Sophie are funny, entertaining and great at their job. Unfortunately the same can't be said about the waitress in the taverna Hera who almost barks at you. Another problem was the statement that rooms are cleaned daily. Wrong. My chair broke on the balcony and I fell off spilling wine on the floor. The stains were still there 4 days later. If you are using Muses as a base to get about, it's adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first level or one in the first 2 or 3 blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swintonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

this was our second visit to the Hotel Muses, we first visited four years ago when Mamma Mia had first been released. Having done all our Mamma Mia excursions on our last visit, this holiday was for solely for relaxing and sunbathing - and thats exactly what we did! we had fantastic weather and either went to our favourite beach Ambelaka or spent time by the hotel pool, which I have always said has the nicest hotel pool bar by far compared to other hotels we have stayed anywhere in the world!! The staff were so pleasant and helpful and nothing was too much trouble - particularly the cleaners. We ate in the taverna quite a few times and the food was delicious. We also ate at a couple of neighbouring tavernas and we went into Skiathos town on the bus three or four times for a meal in the evening. That is the bonus of staying at the Muses, you can vary your evenings. Hotel Muses has the most beautiful gardens and they are well maintained. The hotel is just what a Greek hotel should look like - other surrounding hotels could be anywhere in the world but with the Muses we could not fault it in any way, Who wants to go to such a lovely place and watch television on holiday - we certainly didnt miss the television at all - when we were in our room, we spent most of the time on the balcony reading and relaxing! We just love this hotel so much, we are worried about going anywhere else now as we dont think anywhere else can match it.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and adequate for a summer holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sybschar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 85 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#2 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
#51 of 85 in Skiathos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muses Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muses Hotel

Property: Muses Hotel
Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Koukounaries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Muses Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com and Priceline so you can book your Muses Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muses Hotel Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing