We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel IF it had been fully open!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muses Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muses Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good hotel IF it had been fully open!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

Hotel Muses,although on a main road, is in super garden area,opposite the lake,within 10 min walk of Koukounaries beach,which is superb.
Rooms ,are in blocks,away from main building,basic but very clean with laundry changed daily.
Biggest gripe was ,on arrival on 2nd May,no-one was prepared for tourists-no bar or restaurant open so had to find another place to eat and only 3 open on the main road.Staff were friendly and helpful and apologised that the season does not start till 10th May but I still enjoyed getting out and about on the bus to town,where there were more tavernas and shops but still limited.
Lovely island,but go late May or June,NOT July/Aug as tourists swell the 6000 inhabitants to nearly 20,000!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No bar or Restaurant open,till my return
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    77
    46
    7
    15
See reviews for
50
123
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2007

I was there with my girlfriend..Evey thing seemed to work there excellent....The prices are quite good and the family staff very friendly, ready in every case to make you feel like being in your home..

The breakfast and the food of the restaurant very good....You can chose from a big variety of traditional plates...



I would definitely return there next summer....

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Flairterrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

The hotel needs some modernisation and is quite dirty in places. The cleaner performs the very basics and nothing more.

If you stay anywhere near Koukanaries then there is a severe wasp problem so if you have an allergy to this then avoid at all costs.

Food in the restaurant at night was very disapointing and tasteless.

Breakfast was the same everyday for 14 days and consisted of room temperature milk for cereal that made me ill, boiled eggs, tinned sausages, cold beans, greek yoghurt and honey with bread and jam.

Breakfast is served between 8 and 10 but if anything runs out at 9:30 onwards then you are told there is no more as they basically can't be bothered to get any. Which such large kitchen areas there is no excuse for not providing cold milk, they just don't seem to care about breakfast at all.

Was very disapointed with this hotel. You have to pay 5 euros a day for air-con and 3 euros a day for a fridge. Would say it is more a 2* hotel and they could easily make imrovements but choose not to. We got a late deal to stay here but would not return.

The bar is great though, nice seats and a cold beer where peple meet up and chat. so visit but don't stay here, be warned!!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank bagpuss0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

We were 'evacuated' to this hotel as a result of forest fires. Fortunately we only had to indure one night. Skiathos doesnt really have a naff neon area however this is the closest thing to it. The least refined and aesthetically pleasing area on the island. The hotel is one in a line of about 5 hotels, set up in a strip formation onto the road. It is OK if you like hotels like that, the pool is nice enough as is the reception area. The rooms however! Please be aware it is possible we got the emergency room that is not normally allocated. It was very small, very scruffy, the shower hand attachment was positioned in a way that meant you basically have to sit on the loo to shower! To top it all the room backed onto the kitchens which made an awful racket from an ungodly hour.

My advice - its definitely not good value.
Skiathos offers a lot better in terms of areas and hotel.

  • Liked — reception area
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chaplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

just back from a weeks stay at the muses . no complaints good breakfast,spacious room and balcony, friendly staff.hotel could do with a little freshening up but overall very good for the price and would definately return.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank daveblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#2 of 11 in Koukounaries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muses Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muses Hotel

Property: Muses Hotel
Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Koukounaries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Muses Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Muses Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muses Hotel Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing