We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Myrtia Apts, Koukounaries, Skiathos - Car Rental - Water Sports and Medical Help”
Review of Myrtia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Just back from a fortnight at the Myrtia Appartments and glad to report that they are still a real gem (see other reviews) not a 5 star hotel but a very friendly and helpful, quiet and safe place to stay. The furniture may not be the highest quality but it is clean and serviceable and great value for money. The real strength lies in the food, the safety (no traffic for families to worry about - 5 minute walk along a flint track to the road and nestled in trees) and most of all the excellent staff (which assisted greatly whilst i was ill - see below).

Recommend using Mustang Car Rentals 25 Euros a day for a Jimny (half the price of those recomended by the agents and a local/Skiathos business - [--].

Best food experience (atmosphere, quality and cost) is the Taverna Alexandros run by Magda, her husband and team (as is Mustang Car Rental) and will give you an evening to cherish (with live music and the perfect location and atmosphere).

Required medical help and received great and inexpensive assistance (Dr came to appartment for 30 Euros) from Dr Sotris Michalitsis [--].

Best watersports (Skiing, Wakeboards and all the usual inflatables plus the only windsurf board on the island !) Stefanos Ski School at Vassilias Beach (bus stop no.8) www.stefanosskischool.com (and he makes the best Frappe on the island) Taught me to windsurf and is probably the cheapest and most highly qualified instructor.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tandemflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 443 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2009

Great setting surrounded by trees down a dirt track away from everything
5-10 min walk to beach also banana beach 15min walk
execellent food and bar staff
large pool
rooms are big as have a mezzanine level with two extra beds
the complex felt very safe for children
skiathos is a great island very pretty ,nice beaches,lovely people,lots of things to do

There are however some bad points,the rooms are tired and dated and in need of a makeover,we had a problem with ants and our room wasnt very clean.The sheets were old and so were the towels (all needed replaceing ) My daughters bed was full of ants the first night and my sheets on my bed were dirty which wasnt great when youve just arrived(after speaking to the rep this did all get sorted out right away,however we did have some ants running around still but we learnt to live with them) The bathroom again was old and needed a facelift,i feel if these things were done the apartments would be perfect ,the owner seems to be spending money on the outside prehaps he will start to renevate the apartments next?

The table tennis table was slighty broken and the bats had seen better days, there are tennis courts and you can borrow rackets and a ball from the bar.
One major problem was the pool area they have put down new tiles and these just seemed to be normal floor tiles so they were very slippey(9 children fell over in the first week!)so be carefull.
TIPS: take a plug , a torch, be aware you have to pay for aircon,if you hire a car get a jeep as if you want to go up the mountains the roads are all dirt tracks,there is one main road in skiathos and the bus service is execellent.

RESTAURANTS: you must go to GREEN PARK its bus stop 16 great food great bar,
the restaurants near the appartments are ok but the food at the myrtia was better.

WEATHER: we stayed 20th may-3rd june first week was great 2nd week was overcast with a bit of rain we did have the odd sunny day but it was abit dissapointing.At night it was freeezing take a fleece.

I would recommend this place but just be aware the accomadation is very basic you will have a good time skiathos is a lovely island.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisyduke33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from our holiday at the Myrtia apartments. The previous reviews were very accurate and the bonus to the holiday was it was only 3 hours and 5 minutes to fly there. I would definitely suggest you take a torch as it was pitch black on some nights when we returned home after dark. It takes 5/6 minutes to walk but the track is uneven and very bumpy if you have a pushchair. The resort is nice and you can get quite a nice meal at the apartment. We ate at the ILIA'S ORCHARD taverna for the last four nights. The food and atmosphere was definitely Greek and what was on the menu was sometimes limited due to it being freshly cooked. The meals at the taverna were far cheaper than anywhere else and every night we were given a desert of Greek yogurt and home grown fruits. The food was unbelievable and the decor of the restaurant is something out of Shirley Valentine. You can find the restaurant if you turn right at the top of the track and walk towards the second Sky Sports bar. It is set back from the road but the path is well lit.
With respect of traveling to Greece or anywhere else in Europe be aware that the weak pound makes it an expensive holiday. A can of pop was 2 Euros ( 2 Quid) and a milk shake 6 Euros ( 6 Quid ) at the Myrtia but this was on par with everywhere else on the Island. The staff are very friendly and Andy the rep for Thomas Cook dealt with any concerns very diligently. If your luggage allowance permits, I would suggest young families to pack a few tins of tuna beans etc and cereal cos they a very expensive over there. Butter was 4 quid a tub. Although we didn't go on holiday to scrimp the cost of things in the shops had everyone moaning. Be prepared for it and it won't spoil your holiday.
All in all we had a fab time and met some really friendly people. Would I go back ? Maybe but not yet cos with the weak pound I think it will have to be Turkey or Egypt next. What a shame.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BambaNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We have just returned from Skiathos and had a lovely stay at the Myrtia Apartments. No complaints at all, we cannot fault the accomodation, area or staff. A nice big pool and lots of sunbeds (this is the first holiday I've had where I've not had to fight for a sunbed). The apartments were very spacious with a big bathroom and balcony with a picturesque view, probably the cleanest we've had in greece. Loads of books to choose from left by other holidaymakers if you want a good read. We ate at the Myrtia nearly every night as we found it had the best food!! Spiros the bar owner looked after us and best bar is La bussola, next to the supermarket.

Very peaceful surroundings in a Pine Forest (except for noisy crickets) and the main road with supermarkets, car hire, bars and restaurants is 5 mins walk. The lane to the main road only takes 5 minutes and is through the forest. It does get dark at night but we didn't bother with a torch, choosing to let the moon and many stars guide us home after a few sambucas.

The beach of Koukanaries (15 mins walk) is sandy with clear water and no pebbles and our favourite on the island (we went to 13 in total), although busy from daytrippers.

Only negative comments would be the wasps which bothered us all over Skiathos.

We would definately go back to the Myrtia!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tognir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Myrtia with my boyfriend. We only booked a week as we weren't sure what to expect..... All these people that moan about the small walk to the apartment blocks must be mad! Its a lovely walk and it is shaded in parts.

We knew that the Greeks were basic so the room was fine, it was cleaned every other day and were given fresh towels. We didn't pay for the A/C and we were fine.

The pool area was lovely and the pool temp was perfect. The Bar and restuarant was owned by Spiros (Probably the nicest man you will ever meet) he would do anything for you to make your stay perfect. The menu for the resturant in the evening was amazing.. everything you can think of with a new speical on the board. Obviously you can walk to other restuarants nearby or even get the local bus into the town but as the atmosphere and food was fantastic we ate at the Myrtia nearly every night.

The bus in to Skiahthos town is brilliant.. just 1.80 euro per person and it takes you right along the coast in to the town... sometimes it can getbusy and you do have to stand but its worth it.

Skiathos town has a beautiful harbour and lovely places to eat. the people are so nice and friendly.. (nothing like england)

I am currently looking to go back next year for 2 weeks!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank hawarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

It was some years since we'd been to Greece and a good while since we'd taken a standard package holiday. We felt we really struck lucky by choosing Skiathos and, in particular, Koukanaries & the Myrtia apartments.

The Myrtia provided a tranquil setting and a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. The staff were all superb, in particular in the bar and on-site restaurant, both run by the very professional Spyros.

During our stay, we felt more inclined to spend our evenings "at home" where the food was consistently good, extremely varied and excellent value compared to the other local restaurants - all delivered with a smile and good service.

The local beach at Koukanaries is so good that it is somewhat blighted by the hoards of day trippers coming in by boat. For this reason we found that a car was required to get to the north of the island where the smaller beaches were less easily accessible and therefore much quieter. Every beach we found offered a simple menu of well-cooked food from a small taverna.

We did venture into a very busy Skiathos Town but quickly retreated to the more peaceful and uncrowded area of Koukanaries.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crunchiewillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We have just returned from the Myrtia Apartments. We only booked the holiday one week before we travelled and basically it was all that was left for Skiathos for the dates we wanted. So we arrived with great trepidation. We were transported down the 300m dusty track through the pine forest in a rickety minibus.
Our fears were unfounded though, as when we arrived at the reception we found a well organised check in /reception. Vangelis that had driven the minibus also manned the reception area.
Our apartment was clean and spacious. It was a duplex apartment with two extra beds upstairs. The kitchen area was clean with a very efficient fridge and was well equipped for basic self catering. Bathroom – small and basic but looked as if it had recently had a face-lift (newly grouted or re tiled).
The only draw back was the air conditioning that was paid for locally @30euros for the week. Well it only worked intermittently. We were promised that a ‘technician’ would come and fix it. This turned out to be Vangelis with his tool box. The ‘repair’ was not successful. We spent two very hot and sweaty nights before Vangelis lent us two fans and another remote controller for the air con. It was all very hit and miss.
Safety deposit boxes also paid for locally 20 euros a week
One other minor problem was there were a few ants in the bathroom these were kept at bay with the use of a room insecticide spray every evening.
The grounds and gardens were kept immaculately and the pool area was spotless. Some of the sun beds were in need of renewal. For most of our stay the pool area was very quiet and therefore there was no shortage of sunbeds.
The pool bar served breakfast and basic food at lunchtime but in the evening the food was delicious.

The bus stop is at the top of the track and is number 23 and the bus runs into Skiathos town every 20 minutes and costs 1.80 euros. The bus can get very busy in the evenings and can be an uncomfortable ride as the bus conductors never leave anyone standing at the bus stops no matter how full the buses are.

Our journey home however took the shine of what was otherwise a good holiday. When we arrived at the airport and were left standing outside in the blazing midday sun for 40 mins. because the airport is so small and couldn’t accommodate the people who were flying home from the two flights going out.
We booked with Thomas Cook but flew on XL Airways. We were then informed that there were not enough meals for the flight home and we would have to purchase sandwiches in Kavala airport where the plane would stop for refuelling.
On arrival back in the UK were informed that most of the luggage had been left in Skiathos. And to date, 4 days later, is still not in the UK.

Advice:-
Check the air con before you pay for it.
Take an insecticide spray.
Take flat comfortable shoes.
Check that your luggage is on the plane if flying XL airways!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrandMrsSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.3 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 12 in Koukounaries
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
513 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
795 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#6 of 12 in Koukounaries
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtia Hotel

Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Myrtia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Myrtia Apartments Skiathos
Myrtia Apartments Hotel Skiathos
Myrtia Hotel Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing