We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the woods”
Review of Myrtia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2014

A walk up the track to Myrtia in the woods & wow. What a surprise! We wondered where we were going but as we rounded the corner we were met by a lovely complex in beautiful gardens. Our accommodation was basic but spotlessly clean & there was plenty of hot water. The pool, bar & restaurant was excellent. What can I say about the staff! V was the best manager we have ever had. Maria smiled from early morning until late at night. We even got Dino to smile when he came out of the kitchen. Antonio, the chef cooked excellent meals. All the staff found time to sit & chat with the guests. They made you feel special & part of the Myrtia family. Both the barbeque & cinema night were really good fun, with V getting everybody involved in the dancing & singing. This has to rate as one of the best holidays we have ever had, with a really good crowd - all of a certain age. There was a lot of laughter from both the guests & the staff. Well it was in the woods, off the beaten track, there was a lot of grannies & the Big Bad Wolf (restaurant) was close by but we never saw Red Riding Hood, we will just have to go back & try & find her. Good luck V.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank intrepids_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 443 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

Whilst accommodation is basic it is comfortable and clean. The pool, grounds and staff are what gives this place the wow factor. Prior to having children we visited at least once a year since 2002. Glad to say that we returned with our 4 year old and the place still had that marvellous charm that we loved and the pool excellent for kids. We will back again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelliMac_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

What a great holiday destination. V and his staff work really hard to create a relaxed and fun place to be, in the sun. The hotel is nestled in a pine wood less than 10 mins walk from possibly the best beach on Skiathos and next to a nature reserve.
The hotel and facilities are spotlessly clean. The pool is the centre piece surrounded by low level accommodation and set amongst trees and shrubbery.
Accommodation is simple but kept clean and with regular changes of towels and sheets throughout the week. The showers let the acc. down a little. Plenty of hot water but small and with shower curtains which cling, cold and clammy!!
There is a good restaurant on site, with a smiley and friendly chef, serving excellent food and drink at a reasonable price. There are also good Tavernas and 2 small well stocked supermarkets close by if you wish to cater for yourself. Try Elia's restaurant. Excellent food, very good value in low season though I suspect a little pricey in higher season. Charming and efficient staff there too. Also "The Big Bad Wolf" ? Taverna is worth a look.
We can highly recommend a trip organised through Thomas Cook, with "Dolphin Tours" The "Sea and Sand" tour took us on a boat trip around the island stopping off for swimming, walking and if required, lunch on the main land. Excellent value, especially as it includes a commentary from an expert on the history of the island and info.re all the other beaches etc.
All in all, a fantastic holiday destination made more fun by the enthusiasm of the hotel staff and the way that V and Maria smile constantly. This is infectious and creates a friendly attitude from all of the guests. We met some lovely people.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We went in early May. The first few nights were cold so I suggest ensuring you have something warm t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vouch2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Arrived back today after having 2 great weeks at the Myrtia Summer Village on arriving there the staff made you feel like it was home from home. My wife and I stayed there 10 years ago since then it has got new owners but the feel of it has not changed. Vlad who runs the bar and his staff Maria and Dino plus the kitchen staff are a joy to be around so cheerful, for those who went last year Vlad's wife is having a baby so she is not there this year. The film nights are a bit cheesy but Vlads enthusiasm for the dancing sets the tone for every to join in, also the Greek dancing bbq night with it's all you can eat buffet is great value at 15 euros. When you get there don't bother running to the shop for water as they put a bottle in the room for you and it is only 2 1/2 euros from the bar for 6 bottles.It goes without saying this is one of the friendliest hotel anywhere , if when you are there at this time of year (May) I would recommend you take something warm to wear at night as it got very cold when the sun set . The bus journey in to Skiathos town takes about 30 minutes and is 2 euros each way but they stop running at 10-30 at night but you can get a taxi for 18 euros . If you arrive back after dark I would advise a torch as it is like walking in the pine forest in the film E T . The best recommendation for the Myrtia is that people keep going back year on year as we will

Room Tip: In the heat of the summer most rooms are shaded so keeping cool should be o k
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank barry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

What can I say wow wow wow!!!
Best holiday we've had for a long time, never stopped laughing. As previous review must mention Sylvia the poll dancer what a fun lady. Accommodation excellent, clean well looked after. Only one comment about ours was it was very dark and cold but in July and August I guess it would be perfect. Our thanks to V, the chef,the lovely Maria for making our stay so enjoyable. The bar, taverna and pool and gardens fantastic. Can't wait to return.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Trsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just got back from the most amazing holiday ever wow is all I can say from the moment we arrived the staff made us feel so welcome vlad,dino and cheffy you are the best and most of the return guests and new one soon became our friends cant wait to go back the hotel is spotless if I had one complaint it would just be the shower in the room greek night is a must we had such fun and even had Sylvia the 77 year old pole dancing for us I was crying leaving there this morning and would go back in a heart beat the rest of koukounaries and skiathos is just as wonderful I have never ever felt so sad at having to leave such a beautiful place and come home. next year wont come quick enough for us to return thankyou vlad and Dino for making our stay so wonderful and chef for making us some lovely meals all the staff work so hard I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gill009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife and I have visited Myrtia Summer Village(new name for Myrtia Hotel) 4 times, the last being June/July 2013. Unfortunately we were unable to get in this year as they were fully booked.Set in Koukounaries , this is a self-catering hotel about 600 metres from the beach( which has the reputation of being one of the best in Europe - a reasonable assessment though you won't have to mind the rather loud music played from midday onwards). You reach the hotel from the main road via a 5-6 minute walk along a rough track which is unlit at night so a TORCH IS ESSENTIAL.. On arrival you will find a wonderful garden setting with a very good-sized pool and the apartments are comfortable and adequately equipped and quite large by Greek standards.Rooms are cleaned regularly and linen changed frequently and air-con and safety box are available for a price. once a week they hold a BBQ at the poolside bar which is OK but we prefer to take a bus ride along the Oliander-lined route into Skiathos Town where there is a whole host of good restaurants, our favourite by far being Asprolithos, a 5minute walk from Stop4. Plakes is another good'un while out of town we like Green Acres Restaurant set in beautiful grounds in Paraskevi( stop 16). As for beaches there are loads to choose from and we like Kolios beach(stop13) though beware there were no longer any eating/drinks facilities there, and Paraskevi beach(stop16). For those who wish to stay in Koukounaries there are quite a few restaurants/bars to choose from. We can't wait to return to our'second home' again and this year we are forced to try something new and have chosen Oasis Apartments in town.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from bar if quiet night preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter187058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koukounaries
0.3 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 12 in Koukounaries
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
513 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
795 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#6 of 12 in Koukounaries
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtia Hotel

Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Myrtia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Myrtia Apartments Skiathos
Myrtia Apartments Hotel Skiathos
Myrtia Hotel Skiathos/Koukounaries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing